We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waterpark was great, but some maintenance is needed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Great Wolf Lodge Kansas City
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Kansas City
Enterprise, Alabama
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Waterpark was great, but some maintenance is needed”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Check in was fast and easy and the front desk attendant was very nice. The kids were given wolf ear headbands, which my 3 year old loved. Directions were given to the room and it was easy to find. No directions were given to the waterpark, but signage was plentiful enough that we were easily able to find it. I didn't like having to wear a wrist band. When you enter the waterpark the kid's heights were measured and they were given an additional wristband to wear that denoted which slides they were tall enough for (it was a color coded system). Line for the slides weren't long at all and I didn't find the waterpark to be crowded at all. The outdoor section was nice though I wish there was more than a pool and splash area, some slides would have been nice. Some of the pools were showing wear and needed some new plaster/tile on them. One of the two elevators were down and that made for some long lines at the elevators. From other reviews it seems this has been a problem for a while and certainly shouldn't have taken more than a few days to fix. The room was larger than I expected and the balcony was a nice touch, though it only had a view of the parking lot. The grout in the bathroom floor was cracked and totally missing in some areas. A room in that condition should have never been occupied. Grout is a pretty quick and easy thing to fix. We paid $200 for one night, including taxes and the resort fee. Any more than that and I would have been disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TLWTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GWL_Management, Guest Relations Manager at Great Wolf Lodge Kansas City, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
We greatly appreciate you sharing the feedback from your recent trip to Great Wolf Lodge – Kansas City! I apologize for the inconveniences your family experienced when trying to use the elevator. Our Management and Maintenance teams are working with the elevator manufacturer to provide a speedy resolution.

I will share the concerns you mentioned with our Maintenance team as well so we can try to improve for future guests.

We look forward to seeing your family again soon!

Jason
Great Wolf Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    575
    636
    438
    303
    155
See reviews for
1,839
16
Solo
0
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salina, Kansas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

The great wolf lodge is amazing it's the best hotel I've ever stayed at I loved the water slides and the mini golf. It's a little expensive but worth it! If you stay here you have to go down the biggest waterslide with the 3 big tube things! So stay here with kids in Kansas City!

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stevo14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Overall this was fun, how can kids not have a great time in a water park. However there were a few negatives, the price for a very average room was super high, and it was very cold with the air conditioner stuck. There were no extra pillows or blankets for the fold out bed. One of our kids lost their wallet in the entertainment room, after two calls to the front desk we still had no response. If it’s gone just say so don’t keep telling us it may be in the safe and then never get back to us! The food was expensive so we did not eat in the hotel. And it did take us 40 minutes to check in. There was also a birds nest in the deck above ours so we had bird poop over the floor, table and chairs making time on the deck not very pleasant.
This is an older park, you could tell, everything was just a shade low quality. That said the water park attendants were very attentive, we felt safe. We were able to stay late the day we checked out which was a bonus. And it was clean in the showers and pool area.
Just a little attention to detail (especially at the high price) would make this a super vacation destination.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gajanshe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GWL_Management, Guest Relations Manager at Great Wolf Lodge Kansas City, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you for visiting Great Wolf Lodge – Kansas City and sharing your feedback with us! I sincerely apologize for the inconveniences your family experienced while staying with us and whenever anything like this comes up, we ask that you contact Guest Services right away. We want to provide the best possible environment for our guests and we can only offer resolution when we are aware of the situation while you are on site.

We look forward to hosting your family again soon!

Jason
Great Wolf Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

We had an awesome experience here. Kids loved it and slept well as did us parental types. The rooms were big enough for our family of 4. We took the top floor and had zero issues with noise. One of the elevators didn't work but that just forced us to walk off our dinner. We didn't try the food here as other reviews suggested against it.

The water park was awesome.

My only gripe is the coffee shop. Limited selection and the old lady wasn't willing to charge back to room. It didn't seem like she knew what she was doing. Also tasted nothing like Starbucks for Starbucks prices. I'll either bring my own or venture out for good coffee next time.

Other than that, this is an awesome spot!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halstead,
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Overall we had a good experience, the worst was one of the elevators was not working and we all know what a pain that is. I do have to say I was impressed with the life guards at the water park, I watched them several times and thought they did a very good job of staying alert and watching the water. Some of the other attendants could take some lessons from them about professionalism.

Room Tip: Ask if the elevator in the lobby is working if not ask for a room on one end or the other as there a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Halstead_Tiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed at GWL in KC for two nights over this Memorial Day weekend. The good: it is a nice family environment, the water park is well maintained and well staffed, and the restaurant has a good menu and the food was rather tasty. Also, the beds are very comfortable and the in-room coffee is good. The bad: the price is just outrageous for a crowded 12 hour waterpark and overnight hotel stay, and it was difficult to reach front desk staff when there was a problem, such as our tv remote did not work. The ugly: the bathroom in our suite was nasty....mold in tub/shower and foreign substance on toilet, and carpet looked like it had not been vacuumed in ages. A redeeming quality: the MagiQuest interactive game! A true genius must have designed this computer driven activity, which keeps childen (at least my 12 year old) engaged and moving from floor to floor, and hallway to hallway, for hours on end....actually getting exercise and having to reason out clues to solve riddles in order to move to the next quest/adventure. I do not know if we will ever return to the KC lodge again, but we may try one of the other lodge locations.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JEllenK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GWL_Management, Guest Relations Manager at Great Wolf Lodge Kansas City, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for staying at Great Wolf Lodge – Kansas City and sharing your feedback with us! I sincerely apologize for the issues you had with your suite and for the hard time you had attempting to reach our Guest Services team. Whenever there are concerns in your suite, please notify us as soon as possible so that our Housekeeping team can work to provide a speedy resolution.

We hope that you will stay with us again at Kansas City, but if you do choose to visit another Great Wolf Lodge location, be sure to take your wands with you! They will retain their play history and can be re-activated for the duration of your stay at any Great Wolf Lodge or MagiQuest location. I would recommend you visit the lodge in Grapevine, TX as that would be the next closest lodge location to where you are.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Jason
Great Wolf Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We've been to the GWL in Texas a dozen times and while this doesn't compare size wise the kids (and adults) had a blast. The hotel is conveniently located next to a very new outlet mall with plenty of shopping and dining (plus a movie theater). If avoid the food inside the hotel it's mediocre and over priced. I would however advise that you purchase at least one paw pass for $70 it covers a lot of extras you will use during your stay.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EllaCole116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Premier KC Speedway Inn & Suites
1.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Kansas City at Village West
0.5 mi away
Chateau Avalon Hotel & Spa
Chateau Avalon Hotel & Spa
#9 of 21 in Kansas City
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Residence Inn Kansas City at The Legends
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Village West
1.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Speedway - Kansas City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Wolf Lodge Kansas City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Wolf Lodge Kansas City

Property: Great Wolf Lodge Kansas City
Address: 10401 Cabela Dr, Kansas City, KS 66111-1954
Region: United States > Kansas > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Wolf Lodge Kansas City 3*
Number of rooms: 281
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Great Wolf Lodge Kansas City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Wolf Hotel Kansas City
Great Wolf Kansas City
Great Wolf Lodge Kansas City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing