We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice motel and room....except for the kids bedroom with an unlocked window!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Kansas City / Village West
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
Springville, IA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice motel and room....except for the kids bedroom with an unlocked window!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed here on our last night in Kansas City. We had the family suite on the 3rd floor and was very impressed with it...until our grandson yelled for me to come
look out the window in their bunk-bed room.......the window that he opened and could've fallen out of because there was no balcony or anything but open space...nothing......scared me to death.......so that pretty much shot our relaxing in that room....I could not believe it wasn't locked
up tight so no kids could even think of opening it....unreal.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrskks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pete F, Manager at Hampton Inn Kansas City / Village West, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for the feedback, I will pass it along to the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    97
    42
    27
    9
See reviews for
113
74
9
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
York, Nebraska
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Upon check in, I was told that I was not able to pay cash. So not what I have experienced in other hotels. When we got to our room, we noticed the shower was dirty and there was mold on the shower curtain. No big deal, people miss things all the time. When I checked my credit card, I noticed 2 different charges on my card. I went to the front desk to inquire about it and was told it was for incidentals and that it would drop off. OK no big deal. When I mentioned the mold on the shower curtain, the front desk attendant acted like it was no big deal. Very disappointed and will never stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jns7377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pete F, Manager at Hampton Inn Kansas City / Village West, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
please call the property to discuss your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Very pleasant stay with an amazing staff. Ryan checked us in and was great to us! The breakfast in the morning was very good along with great staff for that as well. This was my second time staying here and I most definitely will be back.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aspokorny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pete F, Manager at Hampton Inn Kansas City / Village West, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback and comments concerning Ryan which I will be sure to share with him. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

This is an up to date Hampton, with a nice breakfast bar, pool, and spacious rooms. It is 20 minutes from downtown, close to the track, shopping and lots of chain restaurants. The main drawback is inconsistent employee training. For instance, there was a used coffee filter in my coffee maker, and no cups in the bathroom (I eventually found them next to the ice bucket on the desk). I overheard housekeepers complaining about disorganized carts, so they weren't able to properly stock rooms. Meanwhile, I was woken up at 2:15 am by a noisy set of guests that I could hear come in the front door, talk down the corridor and inside their rooms. Shouldn't the desk clerk have asked them to keep it down when they came in? I'm not sure I would go back, given the distance from downtown KC and other Hamptons nearby.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brendastarlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pete F, Manager at Hampton Inn Kansas City / Village West, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback, I will be sharing your concerns with our staff so that we can work to improve our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasant Hill, Iowa
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

We stayed in the family suite (301) and my 7 & 10 year old loved it. Think of the Majestic Bear rooms at Great Wolf Lodge and this is the wilderness motif you get. The kids had their own sleeping area – bunk bed, TV, and desk areas with rocking chairs. This room has ample kitchen area with a full refrigerator too. Usual Hilton quality of a newer hotel. Very clean. The hallways were nice and cool for a July stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IABeachLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pete F, Manager at Hampton Inn Kansas City / Village West, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
I am so glad to hear you enjoyed the suite, we hope you come back to enjoy it again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South St. Paul, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

Located next to the motor speedway, and near the water park, and convenient to restaurants and shopping... overall a nice experience for my daughter and I. This was out second Hampton Inn stay during our trip - and both were nice. Ours was a Sunday night stay, so quiet was kind of a given, but very clean and well kept property.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pete F, Manager at Hampton Inn Kansas City / Village West, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
I am glad you and your daughter enjoyed your stay and liked the area, we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navarre, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Excellent hotel for staying near/around the KS Speedway! Pool is good sized. Fitness room is small, but provides for 1 or 2 persons. Breakfast daily is good. Extremely helfpul staff and numerous restaurants, movie theaters, and shopping close by. Good value for your money. Easy on/off to 435 and just far enough away to not be affected during Sporting (soccer) or T-Bones (Baseball) games, but walking distance to both.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Jackie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pete F, Manager at Hampton Inn Kansas City / Village West, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and the area, we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER KC Speedway Inn & Suites
0.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Kansas City at Village West
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn Kansas City at The Legends
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Speedway - Kansas City
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Village West
0.6 mi away
Chateau Avalon Hotel & Spa
Chateau Avalon Hotel & Spa
#9 of 21 in Kansas City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Kansas City / Village West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Kansas City / Village West

Property: Hampton Inn Kansas City / Village West
Address: 1400 Village West Pkwy, Kansas City, KS 66111-1876
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kansas > Kansas City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
#4 Business Hotel in Kansas City
#4 Family Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Kansas City / Village West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Kansas City / Village West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Kansas City / Village West Hotel Kansas City
Kansas City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing