We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“undiscovered treasure”

Grinter Place State Historic Site
Ranked #11 of 52 things to do in Kansas City
Attraction details
Waukesha, Wisconsin, United States
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“undiscovered treasure”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We lived down the street from this historic sight for 17 years. It has a fascinating history and would be right at home in the middle of the Shawnee Indian Mission complex, but instead it's in it's original location, overlooking the Kaw. The best time to visit -- hands down-- is at Apple Fest in September when there are historic interpreters, crafts, musicians and other activities going on. Then it really comes to life.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Michele M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    9
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Boring”
Reviewed 22 May 2013

I'm a history buff and thought this place was completely uninteresting and boring. There was nothing original to see. The neatest part was about the wagon trains stopping there for supplies.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bealll95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central PA
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lacks views”
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Interesting historical house but I didn't feel connected to the family that once lived there. Seems to me that there should be a lot more personal info on a white man marrying an Indian woman. Were they unique or were these marriages common? How did the couple meet? Maybe I should've asked more questions but I was afraid of not being politically correct/racist.
The trees at the bottom of the hill block the view of the river so you have to use your imagination about the ferry business plied there.
I was glad I visited but wish I had learned more.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank CheckOffBucketList
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Friendly, Informative Guides!”
Reviewed 1 September 2012

This is a very nicely done historic home, and the guides are really great! It wasnt crowded when we visited, and the location is so close to the sppeedway and Legends shopping area, so it was very convenient too.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank 816beachgirl251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lenexa, Kansas, United States
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice piece of history”
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Informative guides and period furnishings of the time. Easy to invision the river crossing from the property

Helpful?
Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Grinter Place State Historic Site also viewed

 

Been to Grinter Place State Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing