We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for the price and friendly service”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Lawrence
Livingston, Texas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great for the price and friendly service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Found this nice gem of a motel when passing through Lawrence. Family run, clean rooms, and good service. Nice hot items in the breakfast area and good selection of other stuff. Would stay with them again when coming through the area.

Room Tip: Ask for downstairs front and you can park right outside your door like in the old days.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank armoredtruckdriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Econo2525, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you for your fabulous review. I will share it with the rest of our staff. They will be delighted to hear they are doing a fantastic job; hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon some day.

Regards,
Sam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    46
    23
    14
    5
See reviews for
48
18
22
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Missouri
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

This hotel is clean & basic. We weren't spending a lot of time at the hotel so daily needs were met. It is older styled building, no elevators, vending was in a different area as we were on 2nd floor in the back. Breakfast offered several choices. Friendly staff w/a variety of travelers-family, business, special event guests, etc. Light sleepers: You can hear water running for bath/toilet through the walls & TV isn't flat screen so reception was sketchy at best & color was green tinted! Kids may not be impressed with that part. Pool was not open yet. For the price & convenience we will use this hotel again.

Room Tip: Next time we will ask for a 1st floor room or an "interior" door where the units join the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sratorres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Econo2525, Owner at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
We sincerely appreciate that you took the time to share your experience. I am happy to report that our hotel is currently in the process of installing new 39' LED HD TV in all rooms. We will also will be upgrading our satellite / cable, providing over 100's of channel most will be in HD.

We hope that you come back and experience the changes we are making.

Regards
Sam B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

I had already booked a room at the Econo Lodge in Lawrence on my way out to Nevada, mainly because I saw it got the best ratings on here. As it turns out, I ran into some car troubles coming into Lawrence and had to get my car towed off the highway. Showing up late and stressed at the Econo Lodge, I was greeted by warm, friendly service at the front desk. The couple that owned the hotel was very kind and helpful. The room was comfy, clean, and just a 2 mile walk from the downtown. I spent a day exploring the shops and restaurants on Massachusetts (check out Free State Brew co!) Overall a great stay, excellent service from genuinely kind people at a reasonable price. Only drawback - very slow wifi.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatieMac787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Econo2525, Owner at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. Nothing makes our day like knowing that we have pleased yet another guest and that they will return again. I will have our IT vendor address the Wi-Fi signal strength around the area of your room. Thank you for bring this important future to my attention.

Regards
Sam B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

This hotel is wonderful. I frequently travel to Lawrence to visit KU, and after staying at many other hotels in the area, this is by far the best choice. The price is always reasonable, the rooms are always clean and quiet, and the couple who run the hotel are fantastic. It is a short drive from campus and I have absolutely loved every stay there.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kadbp3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Econo2525, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and for sharing your positive experience regarding the value for your money and the cleanliness of the accommodation. Looking forward to your next visit.

Best Regards,
Sam B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

Great value! Rooms are nice and clean. New paint and carpet. Friendly staff. I will definitely stay here again! The mini fridge and microwave look new also. Rooms are pretty small. I think the poolside rooms don't hear the traffic as much.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

Yes, it's an older hotel, but very clean and with a professional staff. Great mattresses and big fluffy pillows. If it can be polished, it shines....no dust on the lamp shades....every surface was clean. Rooms have coffee pot, shampoo, micro, refrig, iron/ironing board, safe and hair dryer. Continental breakfast was suitable and gets your day started. Very clean eating area. Good parking. Carpet could use an update. Would stay there again and would recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelinggal1100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballwin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

My job has me traveling in Missouri and Kansas. On evenings I need to be in Lawrence, I always stay here.

Sam the owner is very friendly and helps when I need copies of sales forms or faxes and never charges me like most the others do. Sam will go out of his way to make your stay comfortable.

Very nice pool with excellent landscaping. Wifi very reliable. Rooms while not a Hilton are clean and everything is in working order. Lets put it this way, you do not need to be afraid to lay down on the bed.

Excellent value, very clean. I will not stay anywhere else in Lawrence. This is not your average Econolodge.

Room Tip: Ask for poolside
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lawrence hotels
0.1 mi away
Virginia Inn
Virginia Inn
#3 of 17 in Lawrence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#5 of 17 in Lawrence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Lawrence
Hampton Inn Lawrence
#1 of 17 in Lawrence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lawrence
BEST WESTERN Lawrence
#8 of 17 in Lawrence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#15 of 17 in Lawrence
3.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Lawrence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 2525 W. 6th St., Lawrence, KS 66049 (Formerly Rodeway Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kansas > Lawrence
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Lawrence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located on US highway 40 and Interstate 70, the Econo Lodge® hotel provides easy access to several local points of interest. Popular attractions like the University of Kansas, Haskell Indian Nations University, Heartland Park Topeka, KS and Kansas Speedway, Ledgens Shopping Center (KCK) are all just minutes away from this Lawrence, KS hotel. Downtown Lawrence is less than a mile away boasts one of the most beautiful downtown landscapes in the United States. Take a stroll down Massachusetts Street where you can enjoy blocks of antique shops, specialty boutiques, art galleries, entertainment venues, coffee shops and sidewalk cafes in a lively atmosphere. There are several lakes, parks, golf courses and outdoor recreation areas in the vicinity. A number of restaurants, cocktail lounges and shopping opportunities are close by; some are within walking distance to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing