We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for the price.”
Review of Virginia Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Virginia Inn
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Lawrence
Certificate of Excellence
calif
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good value for the price.”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We stayed one night, nice large room with computer desk and a big lazy-boy chair. The room was clean, good shower, fluffy towels. There was a fridge and microwave. Large flatscreen TV with lots of channels. Continental breakfast was adequate. Friendly desk people. I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank califtulip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    57
    17
    6
    5
See reviews for
57
53
27
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peoria, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

It outside looks and location are important to you, chances are you'll look elsewhere. However, it's hard to beat a room near Kansas University for $55/night that's clean, quiet and comfortable. A heavy coat of paint covered obvious cosmetic age-related items, but the bathroom was clean/functional and we got a good night's rest, It was a one-night stopover on our way back to Phoenix from Green Bay and a night of rest is all that's important to us. Yes, we had to get back in the car and head down Iowa St past the U to find some restaurants, but that doesn't bother us, we rarely eat at restaurants near our motel unless we're really beat.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed 2 October 2013

I was staying in Lawrence for one night with some friends and we needed an affordable room with a good location. Virginia Inn satisfied all of those requirements. The room I booked was actually cheaper to book directly through their website rather than one of the travel sites like Orbitz. The outside of the facility looks a little dated but don't let that throw you off. The rooms are updated and more than acceptable. The staff was so friendly. From check in to check out every time we encountered an employee they made sure to ask how everything was and if we needed anything. If I'm ever back in Lawrence, Virginia Inn will definitely be the first place I look for a room.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WBinMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Generally I travel for pleasure and look for well located upscale hotels for my comfort. Lately I am visiting Lawrence Kansas on a regular basis to visit my in-laws. Lawrence offers a handful or 2-3 Star hotels represented by the expected chains (HI, BW,and CI) and a couple of old grand dame hotels.
As these trips are technically not vacations, I looked into the lower price hotels, and am pleased to provide this report on the Virginia Inn. The hotel is well located (not downtown, but everything in Lawrence is fairly close by), much less expensive that most all other offering (I have paid 55.00 & 62.00 per night on different stays), is clean, comfortable and the owners very friendly and helpful. Yes the hotel is basic and dated, but rooms are larger with comfortable beds, lots of pillows, flat screen TV, micro and fridge, and free Wi-Fi. A nice continental breakfast is also included in the rook price. The soft furnishings are newer and like the rest of the hotel all is in good repair.
Can’t think why I would pay twice as much elsewhere, just to stay in a newer cookie cutter hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tryingfor100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

I was born in Lawrence and remember the Virginia Inn as a child. When I looked at the great reviews and the unbelievable budget price I just had to see how it was doing. The owner was at the desk and she was wonderful and it was obvious she was very interested in making me happy. I opened the door to the room and literally gasp at the spaciousness and design of the room. It was so clean, so attractive that I was excited by my choice. I was paying for two nights at a price that would only cover one night or less than a night at a corporate hotel and I liked the feel of this place better.

The micro and fridge were such a bonus plus when I saw the 42" tv and then saw that there were so many channels and at least 10 premium channels I was in heaven.

The shower was amazing too. It had a detachable hand held shower but also when the shower head fit into the wall there was an extra ring of water so the shower head was about 5" across with great pressure.

The ac worked great which is always an important piece for me and I get my hometown newspaper, the Lawrence Journal World, every day. I couldn't be more pleased to stay in this great place while visiting my wonderful home town.

This was one of my all time favorite places to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank casturtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishop, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We stayed here for about 4 days and stayed in a two bedroom and then a one bedroom and we were really impressed. The rooms are clean, large, and nice tv's inside of them. This is a great value, very clean, and the management & staff are very nice.

Room Tip: The 2nd floor was the quietest. When we stayed at the one bedroom rooms across from the office, we c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crs0410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, FL
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We came to Lawrence in June for a family reunion. We stayed at the Virginia Inn for 5 days. Our room was very large and very clean. We had a mini refrigerator and micro wave and plenty of room for all our needs. The beds were very comfortable and the bathroom was clean. The staff treated us very well and even gave us a copy of the newspaper with an article about our reunion on the front page. Breakfast was just ok, but there are other places nearby if you want a big breakfast. Can't beat the price for the accommodations you get. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lawrence hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Lawrence
Hampton Inn Lawrence
#1 of 17 in Lawrence
409 reviews
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#5 of 17 in Lawrence
256 reviews
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Lawrence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Best Western Lawrence
Best Western Lawrence
#9 of 17 in Lawrence
378 reviews
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lawrence
0.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Lawrence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Virginia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Virginia Inn

Property: Virginia Inn
Address: 2903 W 6th St, Hwy 40, Lawrence, KS 66049-4533
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kansas > Lawrence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lawrence
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lawrence
#2 Family Hotel in Lawrence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Virginia Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Virginia Inn Hotel Welcome's you! Virginia Inn and Suites is ideally located in the heart of Lawrence. Area attractions include the Allen Fieldhouse, Memorial Stadium, Lawrence Arts Center, Lied Center and Spencer Museum of Art. All rooms come with microwaves, refrigerators, hairdryers and 42inch HDTV with 180 DirectTV channels including, HBO Cinemax . Wi-Fi makes it easy to stay in touch with the folks back home. Next to Starbucks and several restaurants, this hotel is in a convenient spot. The University of Kansas campus with its sporting venues, Spencer Museum of Art and Lied Center is one miles south. Enjoy historic downtown, two miles to the east, or reunite with nature at Clinton State Park, eight miles west. The new RockChalk Park is just three miles west. The Kansas Nascar Speedway, Hollywood Casino, Legends shopping area, and Schlitterbahn water park is only 25 miles from this Lawrence hotel.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Virginia Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Virginia Hotel Lawrence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing