We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place. Camping spots to close to allow open fires.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lawrence
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kansas City West / Lawrence KOA
Certificate of Excellence
Chillicothe, Ohio
1 review
“Nice place. Camping spots to close to allow open fires.”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Park is clean with good service. Lots of things to keep kids busy. The lots are small and campers very close. I did not have room for my awning. The location is close to interstate and very easy to get in and out. The staff is very friendly every time that we stay.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank dvwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    53
    13
    10
    2
See reviews for
117
17
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 14 August 2014

great time very kids friendly kids and grand kids had lots or fun. Very clean. See you next year!! WE will be back next year. People there we're really nice. What I like is that the campground is that we could order Pizza and they came to you motorhome or camper to drop the pizza off also the pizza and chicken wings were great. We are from Minnesota and told all are friends to make sure you camp there. Thank you for a great time.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

This KOA campground actually has good campsites with shade. The biggest issue is that this campground also needs more love and care. There was trash in our fire pit when we arrived, the bathroom/showers were surface clean, but the grit on tiles screamed for deep cleaning. The floor felt and looked like a dirty mop had moved the dirt around. Also, not all sites have cable, sites with cable cost more. All sites are advertised with free wi-fi, which was down for the 2 days we were there. On the plus side, the laundry was clean and the KOA store was well-stocked. This is one of only a handful of campgrounds in the KC area - not much to choose from, but this could be so much better than it is!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JJN96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2014

My boys, 6 and 4, absolutely loved this place. Such an amazing place. Will make many memories here. Enjoyment and activities for the whole family... You will be booking a return trip before you leave, we did!!!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joeyk1pike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Great place, wish pool was bigger. Pricey too and check out is early at 11 am especially for prices but clean and nice staff. Dog run too. Hope they add more amenities and cabins. Lots of activities on a daily basis. Wish they sold Yogi Bear cartoons at the store.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ceeloukc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castle Rock, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2014

The camp was well maintained and the staff friendly and helpful. This camp is geared towards children and there are lots of them. This is the second time we've encountered 'buddy sites' which means campers face each other, There are 2 picnic tables and fire pits but you share the area and privacy is non-existent. Our first buddy site experience was great while the second one not so much. Constant cigarette smoking, drunken comments and all around super redneck behavior kept us inside. The cottonwood was 2" thick on the ground and the air full of it also preventing us from cooking/eating outside.

While this camp was not right on top of the highway as most are, the constant trains going by blowing the horn didn't allow for much, if any sleep. It poured during the night and in the morning we found a 2-3" pond all around our RV ~ pour drainage.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Phynnzmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Kansas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Great fun for the whole family! Highly recommended!! The activities go on & on! The kids LOVED it! The facilities are very clean & easily accessible. Staff was very friendly & helpful! We will be coming back for years to come!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank apierce801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lawrence hotels
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Lawrence
Hampton Inn Lawrence
#1 of 17 in Lawrence
422 reviews
2.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#6 of 17 in Lawrence
257 reviews
2.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Lawrence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Best Western Lawrence
Best Western Lawrence
#9 of 17 in Lawrence
384 reviews
1.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Lawrence
SpringHill Suites Lawrence
#10 of 17 in Lawrence
244 reviews
2.9 mi away
Virginia Inn
Virginia Inn
#5 of 17 in Lawrence
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kansas City West / Lawrence KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kansas City West / Lawrence KOA

Property: Kansas City West / Lawrence KOA
Address: 1473 Highway 40, Lawrence, KS 66044-9477
Region: United States > Kansas > Lawrence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Lawrence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Midwest charm with big city accessibility. Jump right off of I-70 and over to this KOA for a great overnight stay or to awaken the inner weekend warrior within. With one of the best locations off the interstate, this park has easy in and easy out spaces, plenty of pull thru full hook up site with cable, lodging options, and tent sites. Kansas University and Lawrence Historical Downtown are just 3 miles away. Even better, we are just 20 minutes west of Kansas City Legends shopping outlet, Schlitterbahn water park, and the Kansas Speedway. Enjoy our clean bathrooms and shower house, laundry room, pool, WiFi, dog park and two playgrounds. Summer and Fall themed activities include our new mini zip line, gem mining, outdoor movies, wagon rides, tie dye, slip and slide, water balloon launcher, game room, slack line plus many more fun events for the entire family. Satisfy your appetite without the work of cooking and cleaning at our café and grab anything you may have left behind at our convenience store. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing