We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food, fantastic service!”

Jade Garden Restaurant
Ranked #76 of 308 Restaurants in Lawrence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Seating, Takeout
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious food, fantastic service!”
Reviewed 28 March 2012

The food is always delicious, and the service is always the best! Jade Garden is the only place so far in KC area and Lawrence that has the karaoke service! We always have a small party in the room, with some of us singing and others chatting or playing games or drinking beers. It only has three or four rooms for karaoke, and mostly opened for Chinese people, but maybe you could be try to call them and make a reservation! It's lots of fun!

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bella_Zh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    11
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best Chinese delivery in town (with online ordering!)”
Reviewed 13 March 2012

I'm pretty sure I've tried all the Chinese delivery places in Lawrence (I live solo, and if I don't feel like cooking I'd rather order Chinese than pizza) and in my opinion this is the best. Not all of the dishes are created equal as far as the quality of the meat goes - I think their shrimp and white meat chicken dishes are the best (make sure you specify this, otherwise you'll get half white and half mystery/dark meat), but the beef seems to be pretty tough flank steak. The steamed rice is very good, fresh and with a good, clean taste and texture. I usually order the Empress Chicken (which you can request come with plain rather than deep-fried chicken) and the sauce is addictive - dark, sweet, and spicy. It comes as a generous helping of chicken with lots of broccoli, carrot, and onion to balance the meal. The wonton soup is essential - the broth is delicate and clear (I'm nearly positive that this is real homemade chicken broth, not canned), the wontons flavorful and perfectly formed, and the restaurant scatters a bit of fresh, crisp green onion and shreds of crisp lettuce on the top. I was skeptical about the lettuce until I took a bite. As it turns out, soup with salad in it is AWESOME. I wouldn't hesitate to order any of their soups based on how yummy the wonton is, and how clear and fresh and tasty the broth base was. I can't recommend any of the lo mein (greasy and the noodles aren't great). The crab rangoon is hit or miss, depending on when they last cleaned out the fryer oil. The spring rolls are great - fried or fresh - and if you have leaf lettuce and mint on hand to wrap them in, you'll be in heaven. You might need to make some more rice vinegar/lime/chili sauce though, it doesn't come with much. The yellow curry chicken (I ordered it once on a weird craving) is really good. That's a big favorite in Chinese restaurants in England and I really enjoyed it, though it was better the next day on reheating (not sure the sauce had really cooked previously) and I did dash a bit more soy on it. Delivery is super fast, usually 30-40 minutes, and the drivers are pleasant and courteous. This is a much better option than pizza - you can be as healthy/fresh or as fried/saucey as your mood dictates. For adventurous Western eaters, there are lots of trad dishes on the menu.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank arcanamundi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrence, Kansas
Level Contributor
103 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Best Asian in Lawrence”
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Great food. Great atmosphere. Reasonable prices. The egg rolls are wonderful!

Helpful?
Thank Alexandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Michigan
Level Contributor
78 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great Food....Annoying Door !!”
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Restaurant came very highly recommended from our relatives who live here. They do a huge take-out business and I understand why after eating inside this establishment recently one evening. Their front door is not adjusted properly and whenever someone comes in or out it slams which makes it hard to carry on a conversation. If they wern't so busy however as I mentioned they do a huge takeout business and the slamming is constant. So if your travels take you to Lawerence I would recommend Jade Garden BUT, take it back to your hotel if you want to relax and enjoy the food.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank redwingrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“We call it "cheap chinese"! The best food for the $$ anywhere!”
Reviewed 11 August 2011

You'll have to search a bit to find this out of the way "gem" of a restaurant! It's worth checking out. Menu includes chinese, vietnamese and other asian cuisines. Daily specials are $3-4 for a full meal w/appetizer! No meal is over $9, most are $5-6.
Food is great, cooked fresh, and the portions huge!. (Two people can easily spilt a meal and come away happy!) They offer on-line ordering, deivery and take out as well as a pleasant place to dine. Jade Garden is a clear winner in a town of many good restaurants! Lots of good food and you'll have $$ left over to experience the local entertainment!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jade Garden Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Jade Garden Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing