We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy side up! Breakfast variety and coffee bar”
Review of The Roost

The Roost
Ranked #7 of 311 Restaurants in Lawrence
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Jupiter, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Yummy side up! Breakfast variety and coffee bar”
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

What a great find and down-to-earth pricing! Breakfast, brunch, lunch. Very pleasant service staff. Farm fresh interior. Everything a breakfast lover could want on the menu. Delicious!!! Tasty coffee from the bar. Pastries to satisfy your sweet tooth. Not sure of there hours, but may offer dinner since there are liquor bottles behind the coffee bar. Mostly adults but it was graduation weekend.

Helpful?
Thank Teresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    23
    8
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wish we'd tried this sooner”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We are nearing the end of our time here in Lawrence so we decided we had to try the Roost. No complaints here. They were busy, which is almost always true for a breakfast joint in Lawrence on the weekends. Just FYI, the bar is first come first serve, so we did not have to wait.

The coffee was good, as was the Chai Latte that my fiance got. We always share meals, so we got a single french toast, a single biscuit with sausage gravy, and the chorizo and eggs. All of them were really good and it came out to a good price. Even with the latte and coffee the meal was right at $20. Nice atmosphere and friendly service. They also offer call ahead seating.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LiveLaughEatTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrence, Kansas
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Eggs benedict and a bloody mary”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

The Roost has very good food but my favorite there is breakfast. In addition to great choices--my favorite is eggs benedict and they have a couple of variables--they have several excellent bloody marys to accompany your late a.m./early p.m. breakfast. Try the NOLA--North Lawrence bloody--or the klamato, my personal favorite. This place gets crowded and noisy and there can be a wait, but you can often find a spot at the counter.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank traveldog007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“The BEST breakfast in Lawrence Kansas”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

The Roost has the best breakfast (with cocktails!?) in Lawrence. The coffee is fantastic. The juice of the day was unique and very tasty. We loved it so much, we came back every day. The French Toast is extraordinary (and huge!)! They put care into everything they prepare. Not the same old eggs and potatoes, these are really really good. They use local suppliers for the freshest, healthiest meals! As for the noise? Not an issue! They are always packed (and worth the wait, if you have to wait!). It's not any noisier than you would expect with this volume of diners. The staff is extremely attentive and helpful!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ML_ATL2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrence, Kansas
Level 6 Contributor
385 reviews
286 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Noisy breakfast with great coffee”
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

I visited The Roost for breakfast. The coffee was superb! My mushroom / goat cheese omelet was mediocre, not impressive at all. Noise level was bothersome. I thought I could have relaxed and enjoy a leisurely breakfast. It wasn't, and I did not enjoy. Not sure I would return given the sounds and the food quality.

Helpful?
Thank Pucela08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Roost also viewed

 

Been to The Roost? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing