We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Trains are a nightmare.....do not stay here!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Victorian Veranda Country Inn

Victorian Veranda Country Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lawrence
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Victorian Veranda Country Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Lawrence B&B and Inns
andale, ks
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Trains are a nightmare.....do not stay here!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

We stayed at this location for a family wedding. After entering the home, I was overcome by the odor of mothballs. The décor is Victorian on steroids....so if that is you thing you will love all the lace, flowers, and pastel colors.

There was no bottled water of any kind or any kind of welcoming atmosphere when we arrived. It was decent, but nothing special that most people are looking who frequent B and B.

By far, the most distinctive aspect of the B and B was the trains. The tracks are located about 1/8 of a mile for the house. Every 20 minutes (we timed them!) a train goes by...loudly blaring their horn. This includes the hours between 10pm and 6am! ALL.NIGHT.LONG. At 2:30am I knew I could not sleep. I was forced to go into Lawrence to stay at the Hampton Inn.

Unfortunately, the wedding party was staying at the location and some did not sleep AT ALL. How sad that the mother of the bride was completely exhausted the next day for the wedding. When asking the owner about the trains, he said it wasn't a big deal because most guests are staying because of a wedding and won't come back to repeat a stay. For the owner, this seems to be a pretty cold statement. We wish we would have been forewarned about the trains,....

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennifer m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    3
    2
    2
    4
See reviews for
10
2
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

The Inn is a beautiful location in need of some grounds maintenance. The facility is more than lovely for a wedding, The owners are far more concerned with liability and money than making their guests feel welcome and comfortable at their establishment. I fully appreciate being present to be helpful but sitting in the corners and watching a wedding party that is small, intimate and very well behaved was ridiculous. My family used to operate a bed and breakfast and a beautiful hot breakfast along with lively conversation and the comfort of our guests was our primary concern. Additionally, blinds that are broken and other safety items were be of far more concern to me as an owner rather than whether my mature wedding party (we were not teenagers at a prom) was potentially sneaking in a bottle of champagne.

Beautiful location but the atmosphere needs to be greatly improved. I would never chose to be chaperoned by strangers during such an intimate event and I expect a breakfast worthy of a bed andvbreakfast not something I could get at a local chain hotel.

Room Tip: All the rooms are really nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lawrence hotels

Lawrence, Kansas
Level Contributor
235 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

I recently attend a beautiful outdoor wedding at the Victorian Veranda Country Inn north of Lawrence, KS. The temperatures have been a steady 105-108 the past few weeks, but the wedding garden was nicely shaded with a wonderful breeze at 6:00 pm on July 3rd. The garden was decorated wonderfully by very well planted landscape. A bird cage with two white doves greeted the guests entering the garden. As the wedding began white doves flew over the garden and encircled it for the rest of the wedding. The reception was next door in a gorgeous renovated barn.

This was simply a wonderful venue for a wedding. It would be equally as nice for a family reunion or other parties.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBoysGrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Topeka, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2010

We had our wedding their and reception their. Their are animals roaming the property freely and a cat that is loose in the guest part of the bed and breakfast. It scratched and drew blood on my mother. The rehearsal dinner is way over priced and she invited people that were not eating to come and eat and encouraged people that were bat the dinner to throw away there dinner plates for clean dessert plates. We found out when came time to check out that she had counted the paper plates (charging per plate and not by person) and tried to over-charge us $500 extra for a not worth it to begin with meal. We paid $1800 for 32-35 people large amount were kids, for a meal that she had prepared at the local grocery store -a roast, some vegetables and fruit cocktail served out of tin serving dishes. Beverly was very rude to the guest that stayed in the house. They also did not replenish the water once it ran out. Very dishonest business-nice place but very dishonest!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mickeroma722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2010

My daughter's wedding was delighful. The combination wedding garden, 13-room B&B, and reception barn met our needs for a reasonable price point. Rob (the owner) only does weddings now, so we had plenty of time to really decorate the barn starting mid-week. All the bridesmaids and out-of-town immediate family stayed at the B&B. We used the barn's first floor for a staging area with bridal couple video after the ceremony while the wedding party took pictures. Our 200 guests were "snug" upstairs for the reception. We cleared out about 10 round tables in the center for a dance floor, which worked out fine as about 1/3'd of the guests started leaving after the toasts and traditional first dance, bride & father, and groom & mom's dance. We had to move the ceremony into the reception area due to rain (very rarely happens Rob said), so we made a center isle and started a little late, but it all worked out fine. After the ceremony, the rain cleared out to take outside pictures, so the upstares was re-set and the caterer's were all set. (We moved the guests back downstairs while we took pictures.). The garden area for the outdoor ceremony seats 200+ easily and the September flowers were in full bloom. There are three sitting rooms; the dining room seats 25 easily. A large carpeted basement room was perfect for the hair stylist and bride staging area. Hy-Vee (ask for Johanna) superbly catered our reception meal. Rob has 150 white chairs for the garden, so we rented 200 chairs and some more tables from Sunflower Rental for the reception. Call Ursula (at Sunflower) -- she was wonderful. Rob serves a traditional farm-style breakfast with fruit and such for the weight-watchers. Coffee's hot at 7:00, 8:30-9:30 breakfast; very informal (which we liked). Because we had most of the week to set-up (again, Rob does primarily week-end weddings), we were "so "set-up" by Saturday morning, for the evening wedding, we could focus time on our out-of-town family and friends. The B&B was designed and built as a B&B, so all the rooms have private tubs and showers, queen or king-size beds, lots of Victorian decor. The frequent coal trains are more noticable at night, so have light sleepers bed on the west side of the B&B. Oh, yeah, you're close enough to Lawrence to make a Wal-mart or Hy-Vee (big grocery store) fetch-something run in under 45 minutes round-trip.
If you're set on and outdoor wedding in eastern Kansas, note that the barn is not air-conditioned, so Kansas' unpredictable weather is a given. Our mid-September wedding worked out fine -- the well ventelated barn was warm for dinner at 8:00 (high 70's) and cooled as the evening proceded. The barn's upstairs reception space is not handicapped accessable (no elevator) -- it is a barn.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JLR-PSR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2010

We had our small outdoor wedding at the Victorian Veranda Inn. It's a beautiful country setting, lovely garden and ceremony space. And the inn was excellent--10 nicely decorated rooms/suites. Rob, the innkeeper, was very easy to work with, a great host, and he officiates a lovely ceremony. The wedding packages they have are a great value, regardless of the size of your wedding.
--Robert and Sarah

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ames, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2010

Rob and Beverly were amazing hosts and the Inn is quite beautiful. They are very welcoming to children. Sadie and Sam are the canine friends who will greet you and love you bunches. Our son had an amazing time wandering with their dogs and granddaughter. Very peaceful except the trains, which do not bother us because we come from a town with trains also. I woke up for a few horns but I am a seriously light sleeper and was missing my foam pillow also. Definitely not something I would let stop us from staying here again. A home cooked breakfast was served and tea and coffee were available at all times. At night it was very comfortable because Rob and Beverly disappeared so you do not feel like you are in someone else's home and have to go to bed early and be quiet...we felt very free to come and go as we please. Rob is amazingly well informed about Kansas and can pretty much tell ya anything you want to know and is so generous with his time even though we were pressed to get out and visit downtown. We wished we could have just hung around the inn and enjoyed it more. Overall it was amazing to stay in such a homey place and I wish we had more time to stay and relax. Definitely felt like home but better because you will be well cared for. There's something special about someone who makes you feel like your experience is really important to them and in this day and age they are certainly a rare find.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maria_ames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lawrence hotels
3.0 mi away
Eldridge Hotel
Eldridge Hotel
#2 of 17 in Lawrence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
2.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#4 of 17 in Lawrence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Oread
The Oread
#5 of 17 in Lawrence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Lawrence
3.3 mi away
TownePlace Suites Lawrence Downtown
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Lawrence
Hampton Inn Lawrence
#1 of 17 in Lawrence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victorian Veranda Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victorian Veranda Country Inn

Property: Victorian Veranda Country Inn
Address: 1431 N 1900 Rd, Lawrence, KS 66044-9322
Region: United States > Kansas > Lawrence
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Lawrence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Country Inn Lawrence
Lawrence Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing