We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Americas Best Value Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Lawrence)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Econo Lodge(Lawrence)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Virginia Inn(Lawrence)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Oread(Lawrence)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Eldridge Hotel(Lawrence)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (144)
Filter reviews
144 results
Traveller rating
14
33
38
34
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
14
33
38
34
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroom was cleanlow pricecontinental breakfastbiscuits and gravycerealrefrigeratortelevision
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 144 reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Super 8 on McDonald Drive in Lawrence on May 2, 2014. We checked in at about 9:45 pm and immediately went to view our non-smoking room. There were whiskers in the sink, dirt and ashes on the edge of the tub and on the cabinet over the top of the refrigerator and microwave. The room smelled of cigarette smoke. We went back to the front desk and requested a clean room. There were none available so the clerk sent an elderly gentleman to clean the room. We went out and returned at about 2 am. We found our room in the exact same condition. Again we went to the front desk (which was manned by a different employee) where we were told there was nothing he could do. There were no other rooms available and no one available to clean the room. We opted to stay in the room and clean it ourselves. Upon turning back the bed covers we found multiple hairs in the sheets and suspected that they were not clean either. We went to the front desk to request clean sheets and had to return three times to finally receive sheets that weren't dirty. We were advised that the morning staff would be able to help us. The morning staff was able to cancel our reservation on 5-3-14. I requested a discount on the previous night's stay since we had to clean our own room including making up the bed and was told they could do nothing to help us and our only recourse was to contact the manager.

Additionally, the room was booked with reward points through Capitol One, but at check in the room was charged to my credit card. This is, in essence, being charged twice for the same room. The refund for 5-3-14 did not return the reward points either.

I attempted to contact the manager of the hotel via phone and email with no response.

Room Tip: Don't stay here. Ever.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jj a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We had a nice stay for a couple of days with our dogs and toddler. The staff was friendly and rooms were clean. The hallways were a little dingy and this hotel wasn't as updated as some other super 8s we've stayed at. Overall, it suited our needs for a short stay but it's nothing special.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank TB_JHK91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

I used to stay at Super 8 all the time but these two last stays (Tucumcari, NM & Lawrence, KS) will be my last and I know it was my wife's last) Tucumcari: rooms dirty i.e. empty bottle under bed and toe nail clippings, air conditioner has a bearing going out. Lawrence: tub drain very slow took a shower in standing water and the metal plate for dead bolt was missing. Why can't breakfast to at 5 AM rather 6 or 6:30 AM for us early raisers wanting to get an early start.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank RICHARD V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
View more reviews