We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unexpected Gem”
Review of Eldridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Eldridge Hotel
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Lawrence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 March 2014

I was expecting a nice hotel, but the Eldridge went far above and beyond my expectations. The hotel is in a great location and within walking distance of shops and restaurants. Check-in was speedy as was check-out. The room was absolutely gorgeous. It was clear that a lot of thought have been given to the set-up of the room and making guests comfortable. I am very picky about cleanliness and my room was immaculate. Kudos to the Eldridge staff! We didn't get a chance to dine in the restaurant, but did have a few drinks and dessert in the bar. The bar menu had a great variety of wines available as well as a nice selection of beers and other cocktails and the dessert was fab! We will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (272)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 272 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2014

We stayed here for a weekend during our friends' wedding reception weekend. The staff was extremely accommodating and very attentive. Will definitely stay here again. Great location as well with many close restaurants and bars, including the great bar in the hotel and the amazing Sunday brunch!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bluc78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Our United flight was cancelled hours before departure, along with other flights. The hotel has a 48 hour cancellation policy. We notified the hotel as soon as we knew of the cancellation. Because 48 hours notice was IMPOSSIBLE, we asked them to waive the fee in the name of goodwill and hospitality. They refused, saying they "decided to be helpful by only charging $75.00". (It was $86.00 including tax for a hotel we never used). The Eldridge Management had an opportunity to reaffirm its goodwill and retain positive word of mouth from me. Disappointing and short-sighted.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank LKB2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We stayed here for a company meeting. Location is great, right on the street where you can find multiple options for food, drinks, shopping.
The staff was awesome, always making sure we had everything we needed, Ali, Stephanie, David - thank you for your help!
Hotel restaurant has great dishes, it varies for lunch or dinner, plus a bar where you can hang out.
I will totally recommend this hotel to everyone!

Room Tip: Rooms have sleeping aid boxes to avoid outside noise. Ask for a room with window in the bedroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sebastian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOread, Public Relations Manager at Eldridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Thank you for staying with us at The Eldridge and for taking your time to write a review. We appreciate your feedback and business, as it helps us learn and grow.

We are happy you had a wonderful time at The Eldridge while you were in town for your company's meeting, and that Ali, Stephanie and David were able to make your stay even more comfortable.

Have a wonderful day, and hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

I have stayed here several times previously- and enjoyed the historic ambiance, location, and comfort- and would stay again. On this trip, there were a couple issues that surprised me and should not occur in a well run hotel. I get up early to read in the lobby, and the first mooring there was a very large pool of urine in the men's bathroom off the lobby- it appeared an intoxicated patron had intentionally urinated on the floor. I mentioned this to the desk personal. Not a big deal- things like this happen- but the next morning, more than 24 hours later, it appeared this had not been cleaned up, and the puddle had been left to dry. The bathroom was absolutely rank- worse smelling then the most unkempt restroom in a down and out bus station in a developing county- really awful. And the third morning I was there it had still not been addressed. Not a huge deal- just unexpected in an otherwise lovely hotel. The rest of the hotel was clean and neat, as were the rooms. I was also a bit disappointed that the desk personal played loud music (radio) early in the morning- seems rude to the patrons trying to have a cup of coffee and read in the lobby. Not very guest centered.
We liked the room and the other amenities. The restaurant had excellent food that was very well priced and friendly service. Would stay again.....just very surprised about the issue above.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms abut a busy street- but there is a fan that provides very effective white noise- I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Keith A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

The Eldridge is lovely, historic, and in the perfect location on Mass St for dinner at Free State Brewery, shopping locally owned stores, and finding the perfect cup of coffee. Rates are very reasonable when KU is not playing and we always get a corner suite.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We came to Lawrence and the Eldridge Historic Hotel for a wedding and even though it was for only one night, we left well rested. We will most differently come back! The appointments and attention to details in the rooms would be hard to beat.
The Hamers

Room Tip: We were in room 508 and we very much liked that there was no window in the bedroom, thus no rude awa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lawrence hotels
0.7 mi away
The Oread
The Oread
#4 of 17 in Lawrence
260 reviews
0.3 mi away
TownePlace Suites Lawrence Downtown
1.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Lawrence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Lawrence
Hampton Inn Lawrence
#1 of 17 in Lawrence
452 reviews
0.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Lawrence
SpringHill Suites Lawrence
#10 of 17 in Lawrence
250 reviews
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lawrence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eldridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eldridge Hotel

Address: 701 Massachusetts St, Lawrence, KS 66044-2345
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kansas > Lawrence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lawrence
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lawrence
#6 Family Hotel in Lawrence
Price Range: £98 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Eldridge Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic downtown Lawrence, the hotel is surrounded by an abundance of unique shops, galleries and dining and entertainment venues. The hotel is a member of the prestigious Historic Hotels of America. The 48 room, all-suite property reopened in May of 2005 after undergoing a complete restoration. The hotel features a full service restaurant and lounge, exquisite banquet space, room service and valet parking. Occupying the "most historic corner in Kansas," The Eldridge is truly the place where history and hospitality converge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Eldridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eldridge Hotel Lawrence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing