We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay in Downtown Lawrence”
Review of Eldridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Eldridge Hotel
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Lawrence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The rooms are modern, quiet, comfortable and clean, yet the charm of this hotel's historic past remains, complete with the resident ghost of Colonel Eldridge, who is said to haunt Room 506. If you are planning to stay in Lawrence for the food, shopping and the general ambiance of this wonderfully eccentric small college town, the location of this hotel is perfect. Get a suite, then walk down Massachusetts Street for a bit of shopping and people-watching. At the end of the day, you can have a really good steak in the restaurant downstairs or eat in one of.several decent farm-to-table restaurants nearby. The service in the hotel, restaurant and bar are excellent, too.

If you would rather be nearer to the campus, it's sister hotel -- The Oread -- is also an excellent choice.

Room Tip: Get a suite if possible. You might want to avoid the 5th Floor, as the elevator does not always wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kpmetalsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (277)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 277 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2014

We used to live in Lawrence but on a recent visit we finally got to stay at the Eldridge. The place was always very appealing and it is the perfect location - right on Mass St! The staff was very friendly and very accomodating to our rental car needs and baggage storage. The room was clean, updated, smelled nice, and had large windows to let in a lot of light. The room overlooked Mass street with a nice view. We were a bit concerned that the noise of Mass street would be a problem but it wasn't at all! We didn't even hear the nightlife. The location can't get any better. Everything you need is right there with lots of nice restaurants and bars at your fingertips. Every time we go back to Lawrence we'll be staying at the Eldridge.

Room Tip: Get a top floor with a view of Mass Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I have always wanted to stay at this hotel. When a wedding brought us back to Lawrence, we picked the Eldridge. The check in and check out were both super quick. Our room overlooked Mass. Street, there were huge windows that let in a lot of sunshine. The rooms and bathroom were well cleaned. They even provide a sound machine and ear plugs to help with the bar crowd. I've stayed a historic hotel in the past that was incredibly loud, but those little touches with the machine and ear plugs made sleeping so much better. The hotel is beautiful and I highly recommend it to anyone who is staying in Lawrence.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liljopete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I have always wanted to stay at The Eldridge, and it definitely did not disappoint. We booked the honeymoon suite for the night of our wedding. I spoke with the hotel beforehand to see if we might be able to get in early to take some wedding photos. They were extremely accommodating and allowed us into the suite by about 2pm. I was able to do all of my "getting ready" pictures with my bridesmaids in the suite and to take a variety of wedding photos with my groom and our wedding party both in the elegant hotel lobby and the gorgeous Crystal Ballroom. The staff really went above and beyond for us, helping me bring my wedding attire and overnight bag in from the valet parking area, checking on available locations to do our wedding pictures, etc. I was extremely pleased with the service we received. Also, the room was fantastic - large, richly furnished, comfortable bed, and huge bathroom. It really was the perfect place for us to stay on our wedding night.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebekah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

I was expecting a nice hotel, but the Eldridge went far above and beyond my expectations. The hotel is in a great location and within walking distance of shops and restaurants. Check-in was speedy as was check-out. The room was absolutely gorgeous. It was clear that a lot of thought have been given to the set-up of the room and making guests comfortable. I am very picky about cleanliness and my room was immaculate. Kudos to the Eldridge staff! We didn't get a chance to dine in the restaurant, but did have a few drinks and dessert in the bar. The bar menu had a great variety of wines available as well as a nice selection of beers and other cocktails and the dessert was fab! We will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We stayed here for a weekend during our friends' wedding reception weekend. The staff was extremely accommodating and very attentive. Will definitely stay here again. Great location as well with many close restaurants and bars, including the great bar in the hotel and the amazing Sunday brunch!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bluc78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Our United flight was cancelled hours before departure, along with other flights. The hotel has a 48 hour cancellation policy. We notified the hotel as soon as we knew of the cancellation. Because 48 hours notice was IMPOSSIBLE, we asked them to waive the fee in the name of goodwill and hospitality. They refused, saying they "decided to be helpful by only charging $75.00". (It was $86.00 including tax for a hotel we never used). The Eldridge Management had an opportunity to reaffirm its goodwill and retain positive word of mouth from me. Disappointing and short-sighted.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank LKB2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lawrence hotels
0.7 mi away
The Oread
The Oread
#4 of 18 in Lawrence
270 reviews
0.3 mi away
TownePlace Suites Lawrence Downtown
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Lawrence
Hampton Inn Lawrence
#1 of 18 in Lawrence
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Lawrence
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lawrence
0.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Lawrence
SpringHill Suites Lawrence
#10 of 18 in Lawrence
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eldridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eldridge Hotel

Address: 701 Massachusetts St, Lawrence, KS 66044-2345
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kansas > Lawrence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lawrence
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lawrence
#5 Family Hotel in Lawrence
Price Range: £99 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Eldridge Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic downtown Lawrence, the hotel is surrounded by an abundance of unique shops, galleries and dining and entertainment venues. The hotel is a member of the prestigious Historic Hotels of America. The 48 room, all-suite property reopened in May of 2005 after undergoing a complete restoration. The hotel features a full service restaurant and lounge, exquisite banquet space, room service and valet parking. Occupying the "most historic corner in Kansas," The Eldridge is truly the place where history and hospitality converge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Eldridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eldridge Hotel Lawrence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing