We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good but with a few reservations”
Review of Eldridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Eldridge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Lawrence
Certificate of Excellence
Minnesota
Level Contributor
204 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Very good but with a few reservations”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I'll make this short and sweet. You stay at the Eldridge in order to be in a unique setting, have fun staying right downtown on Massachusetts street, and to enjoy hotel staff who really hope to please the customer. You don't stay at the Eldridge if you want precision reservations systems, modern AC/Heating, level floors, extreme quiet, or self parking. I would not recommend the room designated for handicapped accessibility. Beware, there was a foot wide "hump" in the floor moving from the bedroom to the bathroom. This is not, friends, handicapped accessible. With that said, we had a very nice time in our stay and should the occasion merit the Eldridge again, we would be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MBB66066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    69
    22
    18
    6
See reviews for
62
76
19
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

I really love this hotel and it's in a great location. The reason for 4 stars is we couldn't regulate the room temp. It had 2 choices hot and to cold. We stayed 2 nights and I was a bit disappointed they didn't clean the room better.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mrs K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Great hotel, affordable, spacious rooms, and right downtown and in the thick of it. Beds could be slightly more comfortable and having the AC right by the bed means a little more noise than I'd like. Staff were wonderful and $5 glasses of wine in the bar on Tuesdays makes it a must!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank YEG_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flossmoor, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The rooms are modern, quiet, comfortable and clean, yet the charm of this hotel's historic past remains, complete with the resident ghost of Colonel Eldridge, who is said to haunt Room 506. If you are planning to stay in Lawrence for the food, shopping and the general ambiance of this wonderfully eccentric small college town, the location of this hotel is perfect. Get a suite, then walk down Massachusetts Street for a bit of shopping and people-watching. At the end of the day, you can have a really good steak in the restaurant downstairs or eat in one of.several decent farm-to-table restaurants nearby. The service in the hotel, restaurant and bar are excellent, too.

If you would rather be nearer to the campus, it's sister hotel -- The Oread -- is also an excellent choice.

Room Tip: Get a suite if possible. You might want to avoid the 5th Floor, as the elevator does not always wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kpmetalsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We used to live in Lawrence but on a recent visit we finally got to stay at the Eldridge. The place was always very appealing and it is the perfect location - right on Mass St! The staff was very friendly and very accomodating to our rental car needs and baggage storage. The room was clean, updated, smelled nice, and had large windows to let in a lot of light. The room overlooked Mass street with a nice view. We were a bit concerned that the noise of Mass street would be a problem but it wasn't at all! We didn't even hear the nightlife. The location can't get any better. Everything you need is right there with lots of nice restaurants and bars at your fingertips. Every time we go back to Lawrence we'll be staying at the Eldridge.

Room Tip: Get a top floor with a view of Mass Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I have always wanted to stay at this hotel. When a wedding brought us back to Lawrence, we picked the Eldridge. The check in and check out were both super quick. Our room overlooked Mass. Street, there were huge windows that let in a lot of sunshine. The rooms and bathroom were well cleaned. They even provide a sound machine and ear plugs to help with the bar crowd. I've stayed a historic hotel in the past that was incredibly loud, but those little touches with the machine and ear plugs made sleeping so much better. The hotel is beautiful and I highly recommend it to anyone who is staying in Lawrence.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liljopete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I have always wanted to stay at The Eldridge, and it definitely did not disappoint. We booked the honeymoon suite for the night of our wedding. I spoke with the hotel beforehand to see if we might be able to get in early to take some wedding photos. They were extremely accommodating and allowed us into the suite by about 2pm. I was able to do all of my "getting ready" pictures with my bridesmaids in the suite and to take a variety of wedding photos with my groom and our wedding party both in the elegant hotel lobby and the gorgeous Crystal Ballroom. The staff really went above and beyond for us, helping me bring my wedding attire and overnight bag in from the valet parking area, checking on available locations to do our wedding pictures, etc. I was extremely pleased with the service we received. Also, the room was fantastic - large, richly furnished, comfortable bed, and huge bathroom. It really was the perfect place for us to stay on our wedding night.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebekah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lawrence hotels
0.7 mi away
The Oread
The Oread
#4 of 17 in Lawrence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
0.3 mi away
TownePlace Suites Lawrence Downtown
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Lawrence
Hampton Inn Lawrence
#1 of 17 in Lawrence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Lawrence
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#5 of 17 in Lawrence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
1.9 mi away
Virginia Inn
Virginia Inn
#3 of 17 in Lawrence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eldridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eldridge Hotel

Property: Eldridge Hotel
Address: 701 Massachusetts St, Lawrence, KS 66044-2345
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kansas > Lawrence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lawrence
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lawrence
#6 Family Hotel in Lawrence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Eldridge Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic downtown Lawrence, the hotel is surrounded by an abundance of unique shops, galleries and dining and entertainment venues. The hotel is a member of the prestigious Historic Hotels of America. The 48 room, all-suite property reopened in May of 2005 after undergoing a complete restoration. The hotel features a full service restaurant and lounge, exquisite banquet space, room service and valet parking. Occupying the "most historic corner in Kansas," The Eldridge is truly the place where history and hospitality converge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Eldridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eldridge Hotel Lawrence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing