We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice local joint...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nu-way Drive In

Nu-way Drive In
Ranked #34 of 79 Restaurants in Leavenworth
Cuisines: Fast food, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
55 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice local joint...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

Decided to check this out and have a quick lunch, based upon what I heard from others in the area. A local staple that has been around for a long time, it’s a little hard to find, but worth the effort. Menu is small, but that is to be expected for little place like this. I had the Nuway sandwich with pickles, which is just a loose ground beef sandwich. It’s kind of like a Sloppy Joe with no sauce. It also reminded of a slider. Anyway, it was basic, but tasty. I added some mayo and enjoyed it a lot. I also had the fried green beans, which were tasty despite being found everywhere now. Prices were ok. I had the NuWay with fried green beans and an ice tea for about $7. Service was good and the people there were happy to see me. I took my daughter some time later and the experience was the same. Overall, I’d call it pretty good.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JRKCOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    7
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bellevue, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
107 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Still going strong”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013 via mobile

The loose meat burgers are still great, fries still tasty, and the tiny dining room still cozy. Just the basics here and that's good enough.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GuyDonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Different, but good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013

Went here tonight on a recommendation from a co-worker. I thought the loose meat burger was very good. It was different, and probably something I would try at home. I guess I went at a good time, since nobody was there. Got service right away. Also picked up a piece of Banana Cake, which was delicious.

One other thing, they are cash only. If you forget, they have an ATM inside.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dkgunte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food-small place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2012 via mobile

Very good loose meat hamburgers. Good fries. Just the basics here. Two main complaints are a very small dining area and very limited parking. With 5 family members we had to set in two different booths. We had to park across the street to access the restaurant. Worthwhile but not very convenient. We might go again on a slow day.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jmb232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leavenworth, Kansas
Level Contributor
101 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A Leavenworth Staple”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

I finally tried Nu- Way after living in Leavenworth for 10 years. It is not bad. Menu is cheap. They are known for their Nu- Way burger which is a loose meat sandwich served with mustard, pickles and onion. It was great. Not greasy at all and the fries were thick cut too which I love. Service was fast and friendly. I went inside and did not drive through but that is a quick option as well.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dannielle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nu-way Drive In also viewed

 
Leavenworth, KS
Leavenworth, KS
 

Been to Nu-way Drive In? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing