We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great service”
Review of Room 39

Room 39
Reserve with OpenTable
Room 39 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #34 of 101 Restaurants in Leawood
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Room 39 opened in November 2004 to rave reviews and opened their second location in Leawood Kansas in the summer of 2007. Focusing on seasonal, fresh and locally grown ingredients, Room 39 is the premiere location in Kansas City for seasonal American food. We are proud to support local agriculture.
Harrisonville, Missouri
Level Contributor
124 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“great service”
Reviewed 25 February 2013

service was great. food was average. atmosphere was nice. we shared romaine salad which was good and lobster/short rib ravioli which was excellent. wife had pork belly which was good, and i had rabbit that was very bland. wine list was good.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank walt42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    31
    11
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
kansas city
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“up scale”
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Leawood location. Very good food with French twist. Very expensive but great service in small venue.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank urczar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“First time visit - Wow!”
Reviewed 11 February 2013

We took a visiting friend to dinner at Room 39 and were very pleased. The candlelit ambience was delightful, the server incredibly helpful (I needed gluten free options), and the food was imaginative. We each had the 4 course tasting menu, with flounder and duck as the entrees, grilled romaine salad, shrimp appetizer, and espresso creme brulee for dessert. An excellent meal....we will definitely return.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KCFreedie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
73 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
Reviewed 10 February 2013 via mobile

We had a party of four with a reservation. The location was nice and fairly easy to access. We were greeted warmly and seated right away.

Menu was decent and a variety. the only negative towards selection was that there was not chicken as an option. Our server Rita was friendly and attentive. Obviously knew the menu and was helpful.

We had the bass, duck, scallops and pasta. All were tasty, hot and fresh. Salads and desert complimented the meal.

Overall a great experience...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carpsonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori3288
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Horrible food, horrible service”
Reviewed 3 February 2013

They act like they are an upscale Leawood restaurant, but they are bland, unimaginative, white trash overpriced food. Just like most of Johnson County restaurants, except way worse.. No imagination and way overpriced. You will have beter luck at McDonalds, believe me.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lori3288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Room 39 also viewed

 

Been to Room 39? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing