We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Start with the goat cheese beignets!”
Review of Room 39

Room 39
Reserve with OpenTable
Room 39 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #32 of 101 Restaurants in Leawood
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Room 39 opened in November 2004 to rave reviews and opened their second location in Leawood Kansas in the summer of 2007. Focusing on seasonal, fresh and locally grown ingredients, Room 39 is the premiere location in Kansas City for seasonal American food. We are proud to support local agriculture.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Start with the goat cheese beignets!”
Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

Recently went for a birthday lunch and the goat cheese beignets were the hit of the day, a second bowl was ordered and I went back the next weekend. Room 39 is relaxed and serves delicious and quality food. A good place for a celebration and business lunch.

Helpful?
Thank Tricia4005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    31
    11
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Omaha Ne
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Another Option in The Neighborhood”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We went there for Sunday brunch. The lunch menu was also available but we ordered brunch. I had the sausage and biscuits with gravy. They came with potatoes that were too salty to eat. the rest of the food was good. My wife had a salmon and creamed cheese in scrambled eggs. She said it was really good but also found the breakfast potatoes too salty. The wait staff used a "tag team" approach that was not very effective. We will return and the dinner menu looked very unique with some interesting items.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amlcoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merriam, Kansas, United States
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“fantastic place”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Room 39 never disappoints, food is always good and the service is always good. The menu always changes, and the patio is a great place to people watch. Jarrod the bartender is spectacular and will always make you a drink to fit your mood... The tasting menu is the best value in town.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michele M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overland Park, Kansas
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great for foodies, not so great for midwestern appetite”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

If you want to support local farmers, this is the place to go. Their menu is quite diverse and eclectic. Unfortunately, many items on the menu were just not appealing to us...so, we got the main course we wanted but not necessarily the side dish we would preferred. The salmon comes with beets and pickled fennel. Although neither were disgusting - certainly not what you would suggest with salmon. The salmon was pretty good. The beef filet chimichurri sauce (which didn't seem to be quite 8 oz. as advertised) was cooked to perfection but the fingerling potatoes left much to be desired. Atmosphere was romantic; white linen table cloths. I've heard that their breakfast menu is excellent. We may want to go back just to try that next time.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CindyOrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leawood, KS
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“A Neighborhood Gem”
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Room 39 in Leawood is the second iteration of the same name and is a great place for lunch and a special event spot for dinner. Prices are midrange reasonable and the service is always top notch. They have several standard dishes that are almost always on the menu consisting of their delicious quiche of the day with salad, excellent soups that change every day or two and their house burger and pork loin sandwiches. They always feature several interesting entrees and you can always find something you like.

The only negative is it can get quite noisy since it is a concrete floor with little or no sound absorption making it difficult at times to carry on a conversation. On the plus side there is no irritating "elevator music" that is found at so many restaurants these days which must have been programmed by a local rap artist .... Not conducive to pleasant conversation. Room 39 is on my list of repeat restaurants in the area.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Suddrethks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Room 39 also viewed

 
Kansas City, MO
 

Been to Room 39? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing