We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“aloft - simply awesome and amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aloft Leawood - Overland Park
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Leawood
Tucson, AZ
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“aloft - simply awesome and amazing”
Reviewed 14 May 2011

There's nothing special about this hotel...other than the perfect location, service and accommodations! Leawood, KS. Really? But from here I can easily get to the Plaza, downtown KC and even jump on I-70 to roll down to Columbia and the University of Missouri! Service at this aloft is personal...and helpful without being intrusive. Plus the guest rooms work - wonderful beds, quick WiFi and Bliss products (thank you W hotels) in the bath. The grab 'n' go pantry items are a swell touch. Also, there's a sweet bar and ample eating/entertainment options nearby. Oh, did I voice my appreciation for the free covered parking? Simply stated, someone's paying attention at this hotel!

Room Tip: High floor, away from elevator, front-facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    167
    84
    34
    26
See reviews for
93
84
23
145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
D.C.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2011

Stayed on 3rd floor near elevator, which is directly above the lobby bar. Dumb on my part to accept that room......

Also, air con kicks on every 20 minutes or so and is very loud.

Good hotel for the young, or those trying to keep up with the young.

If you are a Starwood hotel fan, don't even bother, just book the Sheraton or Westin if there is one close (not sure of that).

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimmyray_19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Leawood hotels

Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2011

This property is relatively new and located in the center of Overland Park’s main shopping complex. With that said, expect to pay premium prices for all of the “bait and hook” amenities.
The hotel has nice rooms and comfortable beds. My two complaints about this property are:
1. Poor water pressure in guest room showers as they have water-saving showerheads installed.
2. Higher than normal prices for everything (E.g. $9 for a glass of house wine) – Of course, all venues in this one block radius charge high for everything as their property rent is high to be located in this area. If you are on a budget, a quick 5 minute drive out of this area will yield venues that charge almost ½ the price of the A Loft complex area

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shagadelic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Coral, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2011

I have a love-hate relationship with the Aloft. That said, I continue to go back. Let me start by saying I don't think I'm the target demographic for the chain. I'm not even that big a fan of the W Hotels, Aloft's big brother. I'm older and prefer the amenities of a Westin more.

The positives: Great location - lots of restaurants within walking distance, the cinema, and shopping. Friendly Staff - very cheerful and helpful at check-in. Love the shower - a big walk-in glass wall shower stall with liquid soap and shampoo dispensers and an oversized shower head. Comfortable beds. Large, flat-screen TV.
Bottled water in the room. Ra Sushi downstairs (although I don't know why they won't open the doors from the hotel lobby into the restaurant, instead making you walk outside). Free USA Today (although you have to go to the lobby to get it).

The negatives: Feels like it was designed by Ikea and tries to be hip with the techno music in the lobby and elevators (if you're in your 20's, that may be a positive). Small rooms. Noise can sometimes travel up from outside (was awakened one morning by blaring music from a 5k race that was starting and finishing outside). No dresser drawers (there's a shelf) - This is fine for an overnight stay but I wouldn't want to spend a week without more space. No breakfast for SPG members.

As I said, it's not my ideal hotel but I'll continue to stay there for a night at a time because I like the area.

Also, a suggestion to management - print laminated cards with the TV stations on them so you don't have to scroll up and down the dial to find a channel.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JRMChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2011

Stayed here for one night for an event in the area and from check-in to check-out found great service and amenities. Loved their location in Park Place with fabulous retail shops and restaurants right next to me. I travel solo frequently and am always looking for great restaurants- loved Ingredient for breakfast and Trezo Vino for dinner. I needed some new shoes for my event and found a beautiful shoe boutique that had the perfect pair, plus a new outfit at one of the cute retailers. Thanks ALoft and Park Place; I will definitely recommend to all.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Saphira67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2011

We were in Kansas City with friends for a football game at Arrowhead Stadium, and chose this hotel based on its proximity to their house. It is located directly across the street from a large shopping center with several restaurant and entertainment options. The hotel itself is very clean and still seems brand new. It's modern design is on par with all other Aloft hotels. If you're looking for a hotel in the southern Kansas City metro, this is it!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler1923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2011

The hotel is located in a great spot and it will be even better when more shops and restaurants are within walking distance. The service was not even standard as the welcome was cold and the bar service in the Wxyz was abysmal. The bartender was put out that I showed up for a cocktail...I think it was because I disturbed his Facebook session on his computer he had on the bar surface.
The overall experience was nothing to be inspired by. I should have stayed at the Marriott down the road, as I would have had a much better experience. This is a disappointment for a W Hotels property.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guilley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AloftLeawoodGM, General Manager at Aloft Leawood - Overland Park, responded to this review, 30 March 2011
Good Afternoon Guilley,
I am so embarrassed that this happened. You are correct; this was not up to standard. We have addressed this situation with our talent member and you can be assured that next time you will have the true Wxyz experience. I hope that you haven't completely written us off, we do have a lot to offer.

Sincerely,
Jennifer Wilt, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leawood
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Overland Park Hotel at the Convention Center
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Overland Park/Convention Center
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Kansas City/Overland Park/Metcalf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Overland Park
Hilton Garden Inn Overland Park
#5 of 37 in Overland Park
526 reviews
1.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Kansas City-Overland Park
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Overland Park-Conv Ctr
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft Leawood - Overland Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Leawood - Overland Park

Property: Aloft Leawood - Overland Park
Address: 11620 Ash St, Leawood, KS 66211-7800
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kansas > Leawood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Leawood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Leawood - Overland Park 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the chic Park Place lifestyle development, Aloft Leawood-Overland Park is close to upscale shopping, the Overland Park Convention Center, Menorah Medical Center, and Sprint world headquarters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Aloft Leawood - Overland Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Leawood Hotel Leawood
Aloft Leawood - Overland Park Kansas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing