We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“birthday party” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gordon Biersch Brewery Restaurant

Gordon Biersch Brewery Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Gordon Biersch Brewery Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #25 of 101 Restaurants in Leawood
Price range: US$7 - US$28
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“birthday party”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

They have a great side room for groups of about 20-30. Wait staff is attentive and the banquet coordinator Kelly is great to work with.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Janet N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    41
    22
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leawood, Kansas
Level Contributor
420 reviews
362 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“high end, but pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

When we arrived the place was packed. Since we had reservations we were seated right away. Our server was at our table promptly to take our drink order.
We had a few questions about some of the dishes & our server was able to answer all of our questions with proper details.
The appetizers & entrees were very tasty. The desserts were just ok.
There were 2 problems during our visit. First, the drink my wife ordered was not correct. When she questioned it we found out that the order was not entered correctly so that was why it wasn't correct. My wife then ordered another drink which was the same as what she ordered the first time, making sure the server knew to enter the order correctly. The 2nd drink was correct. I expected one of the drinks to be comped but it was not.
The second problem was my wife's salmon was not cooked completely. The server took it away & had an entirely new dish cooked for us. This entree she did comp (without me asking), so all in all that worked out to my satisfaction.
I would not be rushing back but will try going agian to give them another chance. We all enjoyed the outstanding service in spite of the problems.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ALAN W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
203 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Decent place to dine.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

New Year's Eve reservations with five other friends. Each person was satisfied with their appetizer, meal and drinks. Desserts were shared. We brought our own champagne. Because of the numbers of people, food and service wasn't as good as it has been in the past. We will be back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
144 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Ok visit for holiday party.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

We were at Gordon on a Friday night for a work holiday party. I do not know how many people the employer told them would be in attendance, but the semi-private room was not adequate. We probably had 40 people and the space would do better with 20 or less in my opinion. There were 3 bar tables for us to use to set plates and drinks on. We had a variety of appetizers served throughout the 1 1/2 hours we were there. I found the Kobe sliders very dry and disappointing, but the bruchetta was very good. The shrimp skewers were tasty as well as a few other treats. It took them almost an hour to figure out 1 person was not enough to cover all of us. I only had water, so cannot speak to the drinks. I would definitely visit there again, but would not book very many for the semi-private room.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank parentsof5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leawood, Kansas, Usa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“one of our favorite places to go for dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

Beer choices are great... The menu has something for every taste...garlic fries are the best! Stuff is very friendly. We were never disappointed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Iris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gordon Biersch Brewery Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Gordon Biersch Brewery Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing