We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a Crowne Plaza?!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City - Overland Park
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Lenexa
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“This is a Crowne Plaza?!”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Very disappointed unfortunately. I've stayed at Crowne Plazas elsewhere such as Hong Kong and New York and they were both exponentially nicer, frankly not even in the same class as this KC location. This one reminded me of a Quality Inn / Four Points, etc. Service was okay, room was old and dingy and desperately in need of a makeover, and the breakfast was quite pathetic. I stayed here on a business trip and unfortunately, there were not many options to choose from in the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RNG1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jkalbert, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City - Overland Park, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Dear RNG1008,

I want to apologize the hotel did not meet your expectations during your stay. The lobby, restuarant, meeting space and 75% of our rooms have been totally renovated. We do have 25% of our rooms that need some updating. If you are ever in the Overland Park area we hope you decide to give us another try.

Sincerely,
Brian Meader
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    86
    68
    30
    19
See reviews for
95
43
12
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Celina, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Great place to stay if you don't mind a place bustling with activity. Great for families, but not if you are looking for a quiet stay. It does quiet down after 10pm when the pool closes. There were families drinking brought in canned beer and pizza, eating in the courtyard which can be a little distracting for a better hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paisley999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jkalbert, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City - Overland Park, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Dear Paisley999,

We are glad you enjoyed your stay at the Crowne Plaza. It does get busy with families but we always close the Atrium at 10pm so everyone can have a peacefull night. Hope to see again soon!

Sincerely,
Brian Meader
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights. The staff went above and beyond to ensure I had everything I needed. Cons: The rooms are outdated, the carpet was torn, old school 27 in tube TV, and a tiny bathroom.

Pro: Rooms were clean, good beds, and comfortable pillows.

I would have no problem staying there again, but I would have to get the room for a lot less. It was race weekend in Kansas City, so we had to pay a pretty penny for the room.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bubba50111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jkalbert, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City - Overland Park, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your comments on your recent stay during the races at the Crowne Plaza Hotel. I want to apologize the hotel did not meet your expectations during your stay. Nearly 90% of the hotel guest rooms have been renovated and 100% of the public areas have been renovated. We know there are many hotels to choose from but we hope you decide to give us another try if you are ever in the Overland Park area.

Sincerely,
Brian Meader
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Marcus Marcus Marcus. at the front desk was awesome he made me feel right at home and took care of all my needs. My only complaint was the breakfast. Not much to choose and expensive. And the hot tub was out of service.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mortshelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jkalbert, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City - Overland Park, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your comments on your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Hotel. It is always nice to hear when a guest has had a great experience and the staff went above and beyond. Hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Brian Meader
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Stayed 2 nights for a soccer tournament. This hotel is, I'm fairly certain, an amalgam of 2 exterior door roadside motels that some crazy architect decided to join by a covered lobby. The pool (which is tiny) is literally still in its original location which means that it is now in the lobby. Bizarre. Our room was in the back section that must have been a Motel 6 before its reincarnation. Frayed carpeting, semi-remodeled tiny bathroom, and the most horrendously uncomfortable bed and pillows. Some reviews mention sleep number beds ... our room did not have those! There are many hotels in this area ... I would not choose this one again. The front desk staff, however, was friendly and prompt.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STLmom2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jkalbert, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City - Overland Park, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share with us your comments on your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Hotel while attending the soccer tournament. I want to apologize the hotel did not meet your expectations during your stay. The hotel was orginally built as a Holiday Inn back in the early Mid 70's and added on in the early 80's . Nearly 90 percent of our hotel has been renovated in the last few years. We hope you decide to give us another try if you are ever in the Overland Park area

Sincerely,
Brian Meader
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Charles, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

The Hotel staff was very friendly. Renovations complete. Room service was VERY pricey. Food came warm and quickly but the restaurant has a all you can eat buffet for $10. per person and a bowl of cereal,bacon and half pot of coffee was $20. delivered to room. THe beds even though they are controlled sleep number beds were very uncomfortable, but the rooms very clean and the bathrooms small but clean.

Room Tip: Be away from inside pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MiamiGrammie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jkalbert, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City - Overland Park, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share with us your comments on your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Hotel. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you in the future.

Regards,
Brian Meader
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripon, California
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Crown Plaza while in town for a wedding. The location is great, but there are some serious flaws. First of all, our room was in the back section of the hotel, with no apparent access to the lobby and no elevator. We were on the second floor. This was less than fun with luggage. Also, we reserved a king bed and recieved two full sized beds. The bathroom was a very tight squeeze... I had to wedge myself in to get the door close. And no, I'm not obese. The most serious issue was the towel hanging in front had a stray dark hair. . If you get my drift. When we got back from the wedding I called the front desk for fresh towels. Admittedly this was the quickest any hotel has delivered fresh towels for us.

I don't reccomend this hotel, and would not stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TXDG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jkalbert, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City - Overland Park, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share with us your comments on your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Hotel. I want to apologize the hotel did not meet your expectations during your stay. We hope you decide to give us another try if you are ever in the Overland Park area.

Regards,
Brian Meader
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lenexa
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park West
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn Kansas City Lenexa
2.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Kansas City/Lenexa City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Lenexa Kansas City
2.0 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Overland Park
0.3 mi away
Crossland Economy Studios - Kansas City - Lenexa - 95th St.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City - Overland Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City - Overland Park

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City - Overland Park
Address: 12601 W 95th St, Lenexa, KS 66215-3810
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kansas > Lenexa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Lenexa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City - Overland Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 257
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City - Overland Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Lenexa
Crowne Plaza Hotel Lenexa
Radisson Lenexa
Lenexa Radisson
Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City - Overland Park Lenexa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing