We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Parkwood Inn & Suites
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Manhattan
Iowa City
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great hotel!”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The Parkwood Inn & Suites is a little bit off the main drag but still easy to get to and not far from KSU. The staff were incredibly helpful. The room was very nice, the beds were very comfortable. They have DVD players with $1 movie rental in the lobby; there was also a good Vietnamese & Thai restaurant next door that was open until 10 p.m. on weeknights, for which we were grateful since we arrived rather late. Breakfast was adequate--the usual hotel breakfast fare.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twinkleblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacki-Parkwood, General Manager at Parkwood Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Thank you for your review and kind comments. We are happy that you took advantage of just a few of the amenities that we offer. Let me extend an invitation to return to us anytime you find you need a hotel in Manhattan. Please let us know if there is anything that we can ever do to make your stay with us more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    29
    5
    6
    10
See reviews for
35
20
9
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

The people who work there or disrespectful and rude. They don't know how to deal with customers properly. They don't care to pass information off to the manger and on top of that the manger doesn't care to respond back after calling and leaving your information. I will never stay their again. They completely messed up my stuff and instead of apologizing they just blame it on other people just like you can see the manger blaming booking online and giving someone's room away is the website fault not theirs. They shouldn't be in business with they way they handle things or customers. Very very rude and DO NOT CAR ABOUT THE GUESTS!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank izzybt3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacki-Parkwood, General Manager at Parkwood Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Thank you for your review. Unfortunately when you posted this review and the week preceeding this review I was on vacation. I don't know of the incident that you are referring to. If you booked through on online company there are things that we can do with that reservation and things that we can not do. But because I don't know of the incident that you are referring to I do not have an explanation for what might have incurred. My staff is not trained to be rude and they are trained to solve problems if it is to their ability. I apologize for any troubles that you might have had with them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swamp of Sadness
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

Although I had a reservation and conformation AND I made it clear when I booked the room that I would be checking - in very late, the staff gave away my room to another customer apparently thinking I would be a no-show. The staff was unable to find me any alternate accommodations except a Super 8 room with broken AC. Fortunately, I made my reservation through Expedia, and they put me up in the Four Points Sheridan at no extra charge. While I was waiting for this mess to get worked out there was some loud shirtless old guy in the lobby drinking vodka from a bottle. If I am ever in the area again, I won't be coming back here.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank atreyu-plainswalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacki-Parkwood, General Manager at Parkwood Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Sir,

I am very sorry for your experience with Expedia. You booked your room through them and we were sold out and never received a reservation from them for your stay. We did not give your room away to another guest. We never had a reservation to begin with. I am sorry to say that this sometimes happens with online reservation companies. It is always best even when booking with an online company that you call the hotel directly to confirm your reservation. About the Super 8 if my staff got a room for you their I am sure that they did not know that the AC unit was not working or they would have continued looking else where for a room for you. This is not a party hotel and if their was a bad acting guest in the lobby I am sure that it was taken care of as quickly as possible. If you ever have a chance to come back to Manhattan I hope that you will give us another chance and call us directly for your reservation confirmation.

Jacki Murrell
General Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, CO
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I originally booked someplace else for inexpensive prices, but switched to the Parkwood Inn after reading the reviews and was very happy I did. The staff couldn't be nicer, the room was spacious, the bed comfortable, the towels copious, and the free hot breakfast (also had cold cereal and fresh fruit) was excellent. In addition they have a large library of recent DVD's that can be rented for $1 each. It is a 20-minute walk to the KSU campus midpoint, and if you have a car, downtown, Aggieville, and the campus are all easily accessible.

Room Tip: All are nice. We were on the side of the parking lot but it was not noisy with the air conditioning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judyberk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacki-Parkwood, General Manager at Parkwood Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you for your kind words. We will be sure to share with all the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midwest
1 review
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We came to stay for a reunion night, friday night of the week. We experienced a clean room, ample towels and plenty of room. Bonus: they had a free shuttle that was awesome, drove us to and from bar. And breakfast was great.

Room Tip: 2nd floor was quite even by ice machine
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gbswimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacki-Parkwood, General Manager at Parkwood Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
We like to think that we take good care of our guests and shuttle service is just part of the experience. Thank you for your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Convenient location, nice amenities, friendly and efficient staff. Rooms are standard but for the price they provide a good value. My bed was a little hard, but that is a personal preference. Good water pressure in the shower and nice towels and linens. Breakfast includes many options, hot and cold, and was good each day. A video library, shuttle service, and workable fitness room are added bonuses. This is a good option and a very reasonably priced hotel in Manhattan. The cleaning staff was a little noisy, yelling up and down the halls on a weekend morning, but overall a I had a good experience during my stay.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter in my experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CDog007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacki-Parkwood, General Manager at Parkwood Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
We do apologize if the housekeeping staff was a little loud. I have spoken with them about your comment. Thank you for letting us know. Also thank you for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cali, Colombia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

this hotel is your typical formula that you see so often in the United States now. They have a breakfast buffet that is all-you-can-eat. A machine makes the coffee, cappuccino with different flavors. the whole breakfast experience was very processed. the room was good with a decent bed. The standard cable channels. They provide shampoo and conditioner and good so in the bathroom. Transportation between the airport and the hotel was good. When I arrived to Manhattan Kansas and stepped out of the small provincial airport, the driver was right there waiting for me. Going back to the airport was a little bit more uncertain because the driver – who apparently lives in the hotel – overslept and I was worried that I was going to be late. But in the end no problem.

Room Tip: my room was at the very end of the building, which is probably good because it is far from the lobby...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacki-Parkwood, General Manager at Parkwood Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Thank you for review and comments. We are very glad that you had a pleasant stay at the hotel. If you ever return to Manhattan we hope that you will choose our hotel again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manhattan hotels
0.9 mi away
Bluemont Hotel
Bluemont Hotel
#2 of 16 in Manhattan
296 reviews
0.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Manhattan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Manhattan
Hampton Inn Manhattan
#3 of 16 in Manhattan
327 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Manhattan
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Manhattan at The Campus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkwood Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkwood Inn & Suites

Property: Parkwood Inn & Suites
Address: 505 S 17th St, Manhattan, KS 66502-4213
Region: United States > Kansas > Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Manhattan
#4 Family Hotel in Manhattan
#6 Business Hotel in Manhattan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Parkwood Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parkwood Inn & Suites, located centrally in Manhattan, Kansas is only 10 blocks from Kansas State University and one of the closest hotels to the Manhattan (MHK) airport. We offer 75 guest rooms. Our standard rooms feature double queen or king beds. All guest rooms have a refrigerator, microwave, and Keurig coffee maker w/complimentary K-Cups, 32 inch flat screen TVs with built in DVD players, iron, ironing board, alarms clocks, desks w/ergonomic chairs. Some guest rooms also have additional chairs and ottomans. Our king suites additionally have 42 inch flat screen TVs w/DVD & Blu-ray players, a wet bar, separate living/sitting room area, upgraded toiletries, walk in showers, larger desk w/ergonomic chair, and closet. The suite offers a California king bed along with a queen pull out sofa bed. All guest rooms feature Serta Memory Foam mattresses and have been stated “so comfortable, I missed my alarm” this morning from several guests. Parkwood offers a complimentary hot breakfast buffet each morning that additionally features continental selections. Our breakfast area features complimentary coffee, iced tea and water throughout the day. Our fitness and business center is open 24 hours a day for guest use and located in the 1st floor lobby area. All 4 guest floors offer ice machines. Additionally the 1st floor offers vending machines and our 4th floor offers a soda machine within the guest laundry room facility. Our laundry facility is available to guests 24/7 for a fee along with a laundry vending machine. In 2015 Parkwood added the new Longview Conference Room suitable for up to 60 person events. It is for rent via our sales department. We offer preferred caters that the client/guest contracts with that offers a discounted rental rate on the meeting space. However; your group can choose additional caterers or bring in their own food and drink. The rental rate of the conference rooms comes with complimentary coffee and iced tea for your group if preferred. The conference room has new state of the art audio equipment including drop down projector, electronic suspension screen, and cable ready accessibility. A built in closet covered white board, cork board pin rails are located on the east end wall opposite our granite counter top wet bar featured on the west wall. Our sales department can provide a flip chart if needed. Contact our sales department for rental rates of the Longview Conference Room. Parkwood Inn & Suites additional features include complimentary DVDs/Blu-ray movies located in our 300+ movie library in the lobby, a patio with gas grill accessible to all guests, complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the entire hotel and complimentary shuttle service to any location in the Manhattan vicinity including the airport. Guests often use this feature for a “night on the town” as our shuttle is available day and night. We have been known to make sure our extended stay guests get a shuttle trip to Wamego to visit the famous Oz Museum. We welcome your “furry children” as we a pet friendly hotel and have treats waiting for them upon arrival. However; your “furry children” cannot stay at the hotel without their people. We are happy to provide you with “doggie daycare” service information and locations that possibly attend to other animals as well. All our rates are based on double occupancy unless contracted separately via our sales department. Children under 18 stay free with parents. Our friendly staff will assist you with all your guest needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Cancelon so you can book your Parkwood Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkwood Inn And Suites
Parkwood Hotel Manhattan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing