We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Caring staff, comfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Drury Inn Kansas City Shawnee Mission
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Merriam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Visiting family nearby, so convenient location for holiday weekend. Staff members were friendly and caring - room had not been serviced one day when we got back and manager was genuinely upset - credited us for half the room charge. Overall comfortable, clean rooms. First time stay at a drury inn and would definitely stay again.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
Thank FiandBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 248 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2013

The exterior of the hotel is a little run down however the staff is top notch, the hotel is VERY pet friendly, and the rooms are large and comfortable. I was most impressed with the engineer that I ran into on my way out of the hotel. He was so attentive and helpful and it had nothing to do with "engineering". I think those are the employees that deserve the most praise - the ones that go above their titles. My family lives in Mission and we come into town at least 4 times a year. This Drury Inn is our new hotel of choice

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HotelGirl811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Was here for my daughters wedding. Her sister, who is in a wheelchair and has never traveled outside Califonia since her accident 24 yrs ago, flew in and the staff went WAY above and beyond to insure that her stay was a good one. Will stay again.

Room Tip: Ron 312 ( I think that's the one I stayed in) had no neighbors on either side. Just across the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ropo927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

My teen and I traveled to a family anniversary and stayed at the Drury Inn. Our room was very neat and clean. We each had a queen-sized bed with four pillows. My teen brought the laptop and the connection was immediate; I brought along my iPod and had a great connection, too.

We weren't too far from the elevators and at first I was concerned about the noise but we didn't have any problems at all (we stayed two nights). We didn't take advantage of the evening snacks but we enjoyed breakfast on Sunday. When I went through the line, they were almost out of eggs and the employee assured me that they would be out within a few seconds and sure enough, they were. Everything was delicious.

The only thing that I wish is that there was better lighting in the shower area. It seemed a bit dark to me. Plus, the room had no ventilation system to get rid of the steam from the shower, so when I got out, everything was "damp" and uncomfortable.

Check-in was easy and check-out was, too. They had slipped the notice beneath our door so that we woke up with the bill on Sunday.

We will definitely recommend this hotel to friends and family members. We hope to have a family reunion in the summer of 2014 and if so, we hope to be able to stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

Very nice!! Love that we get something to eat at 5:30! And the 3 free drinks per person are awesome!! The younger kid loved the free pop! Breakfast was good also it was so busy that we had to take ours to our room which the motel didn't care. Most places will not let you! I wish these motels where everywhere I go! I will stay there again when I'm up that way!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kansascathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We just returned from 2 nights of staying at this wonderful hotel. I have never stayed at a Drury Inn before, and to be honest, we have always stayed in 4/5 star hotels or vacation homes everywhere we go, so we weren't expecting much. Let me say that we were blown away!

First, I called to see if we could check in early since we were going to be arriving in town around 11am. They had no problem with that, plus as the other reviews said, I asked for a room at the end of a hallway, preferable on the 3rd or 4th floor. No problem they said - they were so accommodating! We didn't hear a THING in our hotel room.

The lady's at the front desk were so knowledgeable. They could tell you the weather, where to eat, things to do, and always with smiles on their faces. For dinner, we came back to the hotel slightly after they closed everything, and she offered to drag everything out and send us with food and drinks! Breakfast and dinner have a good variety, plus there is popcorn and soda from 3-9.

The beds were pretty comfy. They will not make your beds if you have anything on or around your bed. Housekeeping left a nice note on the bed to let me know they cannot touch our stuff and said they were sorry. We had a problem with our toilet almost overflowing and they were upstairs with a plunger in no time.

As far as how far away things are, we went to crown center and it took at 15 minutes to get there. Worlds of fun is about 25 minutes away. The area itself is really nice, upscale in fact, especially a few miles down Shawnee Mission. There are restaurants, fast food, Walmart, and other places close by. We had to stop by Russell Stovers since we don't have one where we live which is maybe 1 mile from the hotel. You really are close to everything, yet away from the KC traffic.

I highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: I would ask for a room at the end of the hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kthmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We stayed 2 nights and It was our first time staying at a Drury Hotel....we loved it. I loved the rainfall shower head & the separate shower area. Our kids enjoyed the free soft drinks & popcorn. The breakfast was excellent. All of the staff was very friendly & helpful. Beds were too soft for us though & the toilet seemed to have a small leak and would run frequently. We will definitely stay at a Drury Hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MsC176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Merriam
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Merriam
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park West
5.2 mi away
Courtyard Kansas City Shawnee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Kansas City Mission
5.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Kansas City/Lenexa City Center
5.9 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Kansas City Overland Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Inn Kansas City Shawnee Mission? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn Kansas City Shawnee Mission

Address: 9009 Shawnee Mission Pkwy, Merriam, KS 66202-2865
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kansas > Merriam
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Merriam
Price Range: £87 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Inn Kansas City Shawnee Mission 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Drury Inn Kansas City Shawnee Mission is walking distance from IKEA and is a short drive to major Kansas City shopping destinations like Country Club Plaza. Ten miles south of downtown, our hotel is off I-35 near Overland Park. Start your day with a free hot breakfast and end it with a free 5:30 Kickback(R) evening menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Ebookers so you can book your Drury Inn Kansas City Shawnee Mission reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Inn Shawnee Mission Merriam Hotel Merriam
Drury Inn Merriam
Drury Merriam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing