We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place! I'm sold on Drury Inns”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Drury Inn Kansas City Shawnee Mission
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Merriam
Certificate of Excellence
Williamsburg, Ohio
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great place! I'm sold on Drury Inns”
Reviewed 29 June 2009

I was switched from a different location (due to a goof on my part) to this site and didn't have time to check reviews, so was a little worried. No worry! This place is great. Our room had a microwave and fridge, so leftovers from Jack Stack's were easily reheated for lunch. My sister-in-law easily accessed the wifi (she usually has problems). I on the other hand had to call support. The tech was extremely helpful and offered to have me call when I got home to reset some of the settings if I had trouble. The evening beverage and snack service was the best I've seen - almost a full service bar! The QuikStart breakfast was also one of the best I've seen. Very friendly, helpful staff whether it was finding a restaurant or a cell phone store. Pop, popcorn, and coffee are available FREE from morning until 10PM.

Even though it's located in Kansas, we were only 12 minutes from KC, Missouri,. with easy access to the interstate. I've always tried to find rooms at another hotel chain, but this experience sold me on Drury's. I'll always look for one of these when I travel!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PGayleB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    55
    18
    4
    3
See reviews for
94
46
11
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2009

Stayed for 2 nights for a wedding, clean room, good service and the best Hot Breakfast. Sausage, scrambled eggs, french toast, waffles included in the room price. Only drawback was the pool was outside and no whirlpool. We booked a queen room at $65 per night. Very good value!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wittmann, az
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 May 2009

We loved staying here it was great! Clean, clean, clean they keep this establishment looking beautiful all the time. Happy hour was great; the morning breakfast was the best. Stay here if you can it is worth every penny!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prestonsarapage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, NE
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2009

We just returned from a week-end stay at the Drury Inn in Merriam, KS. We were very impressed with this little jewel in all respects. The room was exceptionally clean and comfortable. Wireless Internet with a nice desk and comfy chair. Huge TV (though we didn't watch much TV - we're readers). Big comfortable kingsized bed with extra pillows. The staff was very friendly and inviting. The place is very peaceful and quiet and we felt very safe in the location. There was shopping and lots of places closed by to have meals. All in all a wonderful stay for $69.00 per night. This will be our place to stay when we travel to KC for our occasional getaways.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trishinomaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2008

Stayed for two evenings in late November '08. Booked using a AAA rate (~$90/night).

The Good:
- Standard Drury amenities: free drinks from 5:30 - 7, decent warm & cold breakfast buffet, free long distance calling each evening
- Convenient location close to I-35 and near a number of chain & independent stores and restaurants
- Fast, free wired & wireless Internet access

The Bad:
- exercise room was pathetic - two treadmills and one bike. A few free weights or one additional piece of cardio equipment would have been appreciated
- bathroom was a bit old/dated as was the room's decor

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kironb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missouri
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2008

Our softball teams (14U and 16U) stayed here for five nights in July 2008. The management was extremely accomodating in all aspects. Sometimes travel teams like ours can wear on a hotel's staff but not at this hotel - they were always very courteous and came through on all special requests (ie. allowing us to use the kitchen dining area for lunch, etc).

The rooms were clean and comfortable although not large. Beds were comfortable. House keeping did a great job of keeping up with clean towels and bedding.

Location was great for our purposes. There is a Winsteads Diner and an I-Hop next door as well as a large convenience store across the street. Very convenient to I-35.

Only negative I could come up with is the hotel could use a little updating.

Other then that, we were very pleased and will be returning for future softball tournaments.

  • Liked — Friendly, Accomodating Management
  • Disliked — Needs some updating.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank gss2fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central OH
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2008

This stay was our first in a Drury Inn, and we were very pleased. Our room was good sized and incredibly clean. The free breakfast was superior to what we've experienced at a Hampton Inn, and the happy hour refreshments were an added bonus. We would recommend it to anyone without hesitation. The only thing we would change is to have the pool open for the early morning and/or late evening hours (it was open 10 AM - 10 PM, so no chance for that pre-breakfast swim).

  • Liked — An incredibly clean room
  • Disliked — Limited pool hours
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Traveling_Smiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Merriam
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Merriam
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park West
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Merriam
Quality Inn Merriam
#4 of 5 in Merriam
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Merriam Shawnee
5.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza
5.9 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Kansas City Overland Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Inn Kansas City Shawnee Mission? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn Kansas City Shawnee Mission

Property: Drury Inn Kansas City Shawnee Mission
Address: 9009 Shawnee Mission Pkwy, Merriam, KS 66202-2865
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kansas > Merriam
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Merriam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Inn Kansas City Shawnee Mission 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Drury Inn Kansas City Shawnee Mission is walking distance from IKEA and is a short drive to major Kansas City shopping destinations like Country Club Plaza. Ten miles south of downtown, our hotel is off I-35 near Overland Park. Start your day with a free hot breakfast and end it with a free 5:30 Kickback(R) evening menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Drury Inn Kansas City Shawnee Mission reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Inn Shawnee Mission Merriam Hotel Merriam
Drury Inn Merriam
Drury Merriam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing