We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT eat at the.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Newton
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Newton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Ok, the Holiday Inn in Newton is very adequate. The rooms were very clean, the front desk workers were friendly, the pool was great.
But, whatever you do- don't eat at the truck stop down the road-Charlie's Restaurant. When we made reservations from the road, we knew we would be arriving in Newton after 8:00 pm and asked the front desk about a place to eat. They recommended Charlie's and even have a brochure/flyer promoting this business in the lobby.
We could overlook the flies and the dismal salad bar, the hair in the pie display case. But when I discovered my steak (smelled like burnt hair) was accompanied by a rotten baked (desiccated) potato and my son's catfish was uncooked in the middle (shiny-gelatinous fish goo) we decided to leave. Oh' yeah and the vegetable of the day was half a bowl of dried out corn. We tracked down our waitress and paid the bill which they prorated to half price. Yuck.
I am not exaggerating when I tell you all of this. It is absolutely true. In my opinion this is not just a cook having an off night. This is a systemic problem with the whole place.
Luckily the HIE breakfast the next morning was surprisingly good because we were all pretty hungry after sharing a box of Cracker Jacks and a half a bag of M&M's for dinner.
In all fairness the HIE deserves at least 4 stars. But gee whiz. If you are going to promote and recommend a restaurant to your patrons, you should at least eat there from time to time. I dare you- I double dog dare you.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Ishouldbeintexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Newton, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Ishouldbeintexas,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. Our goal is to ensure that all our clients leave satisfied and we try our best to fulfill all our guest requests. I apologize for the shortfalls you have encountered. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Again, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to give feedback.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2014

I stay at this hotel regularly for work. It is fairly new and very well kept. Rooms are very clean and have nice furnishings. The beds are very comfortable and have nice linen. It is in a very safe area.
The service at this hotel is excellent. The front desk is always willing to help and are very flexible. There is a grill out back with an area for eating. This location has an indoor pool and a nice (but small) gym. This is BY FAR the best hotel in the area. Breakfast and parking are free. There is an Applebee's within walking distance. If you are in town Wednesday - Saturday, eat at Reba's Restaurant in downtown Newton.

Room Tip: Most rooms are the same. I like to choose a room on the ends, near the stairs so I don't have t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luckyncharms222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Nicely appointed HIE - stayed here for two nights while traveling for a wedding. First night was a rewards night in a king suite and second was in a normal 2 queen room. We could have stayed both nights in the same room - there was some confusion on our reservation as I had requested 2 queens to begin with - but the sleeper sofa mattress was horrid so we went ahead and switched.

Pros -- Great, helpful, friendly staff. Very personable and accommodating. Quiet, the road to get to it is a bit odd but once you figure it out it's easy, rooms were clean, basic HIE breakfast.

Cons - exit can be confusing, while the hotel and rooms seem clean it does have an interesting smell which a little OdoBan could clear up, the sheets in the first room smelled highly of bleach, the breakfast/business/lounge area is all together and in an open spot so it echos and there were not enough seats for breakfast - we went outside which was very nice but if the weather isn't than it's an issue. Minor things although the smell was odd to me and off-putting for a newer hotel. Also please consider changing the sleeper sofa mattresses or offering foam toppers to go with - ours was also stained.

I did find it rude that housekeeping asked us on the day of checkout what time we would be checking out - umm if we're on your list of checkouts and your checkout time is 11:00 then it will be sometime before that unless we're slated for a late checkout! I've NEVER had that happen before, and we've stayed in many hotels of all different "stars" - I get it you have a job to do and only so much time to do it in but REALLY?! That's why you have a checkout and check in time right?.

Overall a nice place - not the best HIE express we've ever stayed in but certainly not the worst. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ArmyWifey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Newton, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear ArmyWIfey,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the conditions of the sleeper sofa prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We were glad to see the Service you received was a highlight of this stay. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed here when all hotels in Hutchinson (our actual destination) were full b/c of a golf tournament. It was an easy 30 minute drive back to Hutchinson to visit the sites there. This was a great hotel with nice staff and a GREAT breakfast. It's a newer hotel so everything was very nice. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Nice first floor room access for those that prefer the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Naples12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed there on May 2nd. The room was clean and safe. The bed was comfortable and the room was quiet and dark. The hotel staff were friendly and the breakfast was good as usual. Newton was a nice town to stop at for night.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bobbijeanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

This hotel is exactly what you'd expect in a Holiday Inn Express: Attractive appointments, clean rooms, comfortable beds, friendly staff, and a good hot breakfast next morning. The breakfast was even ready early and served with a smile. We would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jred922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stayed here for a graduation at Hesston College, which is just 10 miles up the road. It is a very nice, fresh and clean hotel. Landscaping is very inviting, too. We had a really nice suite which gave us lots of room to move around. The breakfast bar was very good. All the usual stuff, plus a bowl of fresh fruit, all well prepared. Plenty of nice restaurants within a mile.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Newton
0.6 mi away
Days Inn - Newton
Days Inn - Newton
#5 of 6 in Newton
224 reviews
0.7 mi away
Red Coach Inn
Red Coach Inn
#3 of 6 in Newton
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#1 of 2 in Hesston
122 reviews
0.5 mi away
Newton Inn
Newton Inn
#6 of 6 in Newton
12 reviews
0.6 mi away
Newell Travel Center
Newell Travel Center
#2 of 6 in Newton
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Newton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Newton

Address: 1430 E Broadway Ct, Newton, KS 67114-2519
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kansas > Newton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Newton
Price Range: £68 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Newton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Newton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing