We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the German food!!”
Review of Bread Basket

Bread Basket
Ranked #3 of 60 Restaurants in Newton
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Wichita, Kansas
1 review
“Love the German food!!”
Reviewed 25 March 2013

I've been to the Breadbasket several times and I love the food! All of it!! I tried everything including every dessert! They have the best food, best flavors, best cinnamon rolls, cookies and more. I hate to admit it but I ate so much I could barely walk out of there...it was so worth it and I would do it again!.
It's a very simple place, not fancy or snooty and the quality of food is amazing!! All homemade and so very mouth watering.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roxie710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    29
    10
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great food and homemade everything=)”
Reviewed 12 December 2012

Wow.. Very friendly staff and great food. I had the afternoon soup and bread buffet. Amazing.. Everything is fresh and homemade. Have the pie, take the time to enjoy... Well for a business traveler is it quick and easy.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mlickne1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rdwarrior53
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful baked goods”
Reviewed 11 December 2012

Stopped in while we were in town and bought some Christmas cookies. They have some awesome decorated Christmas cookies for a great price.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank rdwarrior53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Reliable good food. Love this place!”
Reviewed 18 October 2012

We have been regular customers of the Breadbasket and absolutely love it there!! Our kids beg for the breakfast buffet. We have learned the art of ordering a "mini" plate and piling it on. You can get plenty of food for less than $4. Cinnamon rolls are a much coveted "prize" in our family. Scrambled eggs, country eggs, bacon, sausage, biscuits n gravy, french toast, pancakes, breakfast burritos, fruit bar..to name a few. Lunch is soup or salad bar or your choice of sandwich. Our favorite is a good bierock and some chicken borscht. Pies and bread are amazing. We would always recommend the breadbasket!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jaykarma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton, Kansas
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quality declining”
Reviewed 17 June 2012

The food quality has declined considerably over the past few years and the maintenance and cleanliness is becoming worse. Rug is terribly worn and dirty, long rug along buffet is an accident waiting to happen as it is constantly tripped on, and recently at our table there was a dirty musty smell. So sad because this used to be a favorite place to go. Not worth the price any longer.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank KMC459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bread Basket also viewed

 

Been to Bread Basket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing