We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique family fun. Something for every age. Treasure on the prairie.”

Hedrick's Exotic Animal Farm Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nickerson
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hedrick's Exotic Animal Farm Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Nickerson B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 September 2012

I'd heard about this little-known jewel from an acquaintance, and it didn't disappoint. If you're heading to Hutch for the Cosmosphere, Salt Museum, or anything else, you won't want to miss Hedricks. Where else could you feed giraffes and kangaroos and watch camels, zebras, a zedonk, alpacas, ostriches, a really cool hybrid peacock and tons of other exotic creatures, while staying at a comfortable, friendly place? We almost missed the evening tour. Don't. Aside from the animals, the facilities were very clean and comfortable, the warm cookies in the evening were a nice touch. I think they took Tripadvisor suggestions, because we had eggs and sausage along with the continental fare. Not gourmet, but more than adequate. The kids also loved all the activities at night - meeting new friends over a game of pingpong, air hockey or foosball, watching videos, or just hanging out. We'll be back, with more generations of our family looking to finish a stay with a camel ride.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fr0mtheheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (27)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 27 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2012

We had a wonderful stay at the Hedrick B&B! Needless to say the animals were the icing on the cake and are what truly made the stay WONDERFUL for us! Personally, we would describe our room as "unique." You are not staying in a 5 star, luxury hotel. This is a working farm with sand, mud etc. However, that being said there was absolutely NO animal smell in our room. We stayed in the Zebra Suite and the decor was cute! The floor in the shower was extremely slippery and our 3 year old slipped and fell quite hard getting into the shower. (Left a note recommending that they add more non-slip strips in the shower. As currently, there are only 3.) While it would have been nice to have a bathtub, we made it work!

We were less than impressed with the B&B "Breakfast." It basically was nothing more than a continental breakfast offered to you at a hotel (cereal, waffle maker that you use yourself, toast, bagels). If you have stayed at other B&B's and are expecting a homemade, large breakfast you will be disappointed. Luckily for us, we were there for the animals and the overall experience....not just the food. Although a broader selection for breakfast would have been appreciated.

We agree with other reviewers in that, DO NOT MISS THE TOURS. The tours are where you will feed the animals (carrots and apples) and hear information about the animals. The giraffes were adorable, Benjamin is extremely friendly and will let you pet him. The Mini Donkeys were precious and had quite the personalities. There were a large number of babies (camels, zebras, kangaroos, cows) this weekend when we were there. Most were able to be viewed even if they were only a few days old. Nearly all of the animals are hands-on which was wonderful and so unique! The staff was PHENOMINAL. Our evening tour guide was new, but knowledgeable. Our morning tour guide, Cristy has worked at the farm for a number of years and is full of information. Her interaction with the animals really made our tour special. The older lady working in the barn was an absolute doll and just as great as our tour guide! She works with the animals daily and knows everything about them such as their likes, dislikes and really has made them into "pets" so that they aren't afraid of visitors at all! The camel and pony rides were great and we had a wonderful time!

Room Tip: The Zebra Room did not have a bathtub. However, it did have a great view of the giraffes!
See more room tips
Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
2  Thank LindsayandAaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2011

This was an excellent experience. There were NO negatives. I had read the other reviews prior to staying and none of the negative applied. Rooms are beautiful and you are staying very close to adorable animals. There was NO smell. Facilities are so very very clean. They burned some nice candles, during our stay there was no animal smell at all in the hotel sleeping quarters. Cleanliness is obviously their top priority! The home made breakfast buffet is out of this world. There is a game room with ping pong, fuze ball, a pop a shot, and pool table. The animals are all wanting the next person to love on them. All animals are so well behaved . MOLLY is a phenomenal tour guide. She has been doing this for years every day, yet made us feel like we were the first group and the most important family she had ever taken through this place. She really made my boys feel special. She gave them extra attention after the tour. She is very educated and full of knowledge and wants it to be a learning experience. DO NOT MISS THE TOURS they are fabulous. It is in the tours that you get the one on one time with the animals. Again rooms are clean and beautiful, ours had a hot tub and it was maintained at highest standards. You become friend with the families staying there and the atmosphere is full of kindness. Very professionally ran place. We wlll return!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ultimateartchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2010

Just spent a night at the most interesting B&B ever. Got to feed kangaroos, giraffes and camels. The kids had a great time. The only complaint we had was with another group that couldn't control their kids. They were so noisy and out of control that the rest of us couldn't enjoy it as much as I'm sure we'd have been able to.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelinfamily4Kc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2010

Stayed the night with my daughter and two grandchildren. This is the best for anyone who is an animal lover. Molly was our hostess and she was great. She was very knowledgeable about the animals and had a wonderful sense of humor. We had so much fun. Anyplace I can touch and pet the animals, I'm there. Follow their advise, though, about taking shoes that can get muddy (or poopie). The breakfast was very good, and offered something for every taste. Loved it!!!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2009

Had driven by Hedricks several times when visiting family in the area and always talked about checking it out. When we got ready for our spring break visit we checked out the website for more information and saw that we could do a tour. After getting everyone together we called and got our tour reservation that afternoon - and yes we did see on the website that tours are by reservation. All the staff was very friendly and you could tell they all enjoyed working there. We'll definitely be back and are planning our next spring break for a stay at the B&B.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelingmom4568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2009

We decided to do a quick little road trip with our boys. We thought this would be a great place. We looked online to see what the hours/costs were. It looked great, so we loaded up. When we arrived a less than pleasant woman told us we could not take a tour as we had NOT made a reservation. She told my husband it was on their website in THREE different places that you MUST make a reservation. When we arrived back home we looked again only to see the heading say Call to make your reservation, or to get more information: [-]. It is not clearly stated you MUST make a reservation. I guess we should not have assumed the reservation was for booking a suite (as we had thought). It looked like a wonderful place but you can bet your last dollar we will NEVER go back just on customer service and basic principal. (We also enjoyed telling our toddlers we couldn't stay) Hope you have better luck!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SMALLFRIES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Hedrick's Exotic Animal Farm Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hedrick's Exotic Animal Farm Bed and Breakfast

Address: 7910 N Roy L Smith Rd, Nickerson, KS 67561-9049
Region: United States > Kansas > Nickerson
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Nickerson
Price Range: £44 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Hedrick`s Exotic Animal Farm b&b
Hedrick`s Exotic Animal Farm Hotel Nickerson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing