We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family tour”

Hedrick's Exotic Animal Farm Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nickerson
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hedrick's Exotic Animal Farm Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Nickerson B&B and Inns
Colorado
1 review
“Great family tour”
Reviewed 24 April 2009

Had driven by Hedricks several times when visiting family in the area and always talked about checking it out. When we got ready for our spring break visit we checked out the website for more information and saw that we could do a tour. After getting everyone together we called and got our tour reservation that afternoon - and yes we did see on the website that tours are by reservation. All the staff was very friendly and you could tell they all enjoyed working there. We'll definitely be back and are planning our next spring break for a stay at the B&B.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingmom4568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    7
    1
    0
    3
See reviews for
20
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
KANSAS
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2009

We decided to do a quick little road trip with our boys. We thought this would be a great place. We looked online to see what the hours/costs were. It looked great, so we loaded up. When we arrived a less than pleasant woman told us we could not take a tour as we had NOT made a reservation. She told my husband it was on their website in THREE different places that you MUST make a reservation. When we arrived back home we looked again only to see the heading say Call to make your reservation, or to get more information: [-]. It is not clearly stated you MUST make a reservation. I guess we should not have assumed the reservation was for booking a suite (as we had thought). It looked like a wonderful place but you can bet your last dollar we will NEVER go back just on customer service and basic principal. (We also enjoyed telling our toddlers we couldn't stay) Hope you have better luck!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SMALLFRIES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2009

We took our Brownie troop to Hedricks. What a great time they had. Very accomidating to our large group. Plenty for the girls to do. Great game room and playground. The girls got to see a newborn baby zebra and a newly hatched emu. Bottle fed baby deer and cows. Hospitality was great. The food was excellent. Going back with the family for spring break and so are the other two leaders.

  • Stayed March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drmomtp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 13 October 2008

Very nice place. Would be a fun place to stay with a family with children that would enjoy the animals. Place was very clean. We stayed in the suite and there seemed to be some smell in the hall way and then when we went into our room, smelled like they tried to hide the smell with Glade Plug-Ins. But was not bad...just different. I could not smell animal anywhere else in the house and again seemed to be very clean. No soap (beside liquid handsoap) was provided for shower, no shampoo and conditioner either. Which would have been okay if they would have let us know to bring our own. Spent 2 nights, nobody made beds, changed towels, etc, which again would have been okay if they would have told us. Ask when you make reservations about soap, shampoo, etc, just to be sure. Breakfast was VERY GOOD, homemade items, juice, milk, etc. We were visiting Sterling College and from what we hear this place is the best and closet place to stay to the college. From what I am told DO NOT stay at the Sterling Inn.

  • Liked — Animals
  • Disliked — No soap in shower!!
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColoradoTallyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2006

We stayed here 2 nights in August and my children are still talking about it. They got to tour the exotic animal farm, feed kangaroos from their hands and ride a pony and a camel. We stayed in the zebra room, which was spacious. There is no tv reception, but they have movies that you can borrow. The rec room/ dining hall is large and decorated in a great cowboy/farm motif and has games to play, a ping pong table and a porch on the second floor you can walk around. Breakfast was included and served buffett style, althought he only thing my kids wanted was the dry cereal and packaged oatmeal. The staff was friendly and helpful and it felt warm and welcoming. The only downside was the price which seemed a little high (twice what we paid for a nice hotel 10 miles away in Hutchinson), otherwise we would have stayed longer! I would definitely recommend staying here one night if you are going to be nearby, it is a unique and memorable experience.

  • Liked — all the animals
  • Stayed August 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank sunnysanjose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Hedrick's Exotic Animal Farm Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hedrick's Exotic Animal Farm Bed and Breakfast

Property: Hedrick's Exotic Animal Farm Bed and Breakfast
Address: 7910 N. Roy L Smith Rd, Nickerson, KS 67561-9049
Region: United States > Kansas > Nickerson
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Nickerson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Hedrick`s Exotic Animal Farm b&b
Hedrick`s Exotic Animal Farm Hotel Nickerson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing