We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't judge this book by its cover”
Review of Kansas Country Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kansas Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Oakley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Like other people had mentioned, the exterior needs some updating and if you were just driving past, you might not pick this place for your stay. However, after reading some recent reviews, we took a chance anyway and we are happy that we did. First, all of the staff was very friendly and helpful. We stayed in one of the newly remodeled rooms with 2 queen beds. The room was nice and clean, A/C worked great, Bed was firm but not too bad, Shower was good, and Wifi worked well. Breakfast was good with the usual waffles and biscuits and gravy, however the biscuits were homemade which added a little to the breakfast. If I was ever coming through this area of the country again, I'd come back and stay here again

Room Tip: Call and book directly and ask for one of their newly remodeled room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank AQMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

We were traveling and were to tired to make it our usual motel. A little research on Trip Advisor and we found this great independent motel. Oakley is a ranching community so the ambiance of the aroma greater you, however once in the room the Inn Keeper had the room smelling wonderful! This was our. 4th night in a hotel room for this trip and I slept the best here. We stayed in a newly remodeled room which was very clean and nicely decorated. Let me say the towels were as soft as at a 4 star hotel!!!
This hotel is a little older but it is obvious that they are in the middle of a renovation. My advise would be to spend a little now on some fresh paint to spruce up the outside. Just a little paint will really brighten it up. Good luck and thanks for a great rest.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank talihinagal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

I've stayed in several hotels lately and this one had the softest bed so far. Though it's nothing fancy outside, don't be fooled, they have done work where it is important first! The interior has been upgraded with beautiful granite counter tops, soft bedding (a must for tired travelers), new tile in the bathrooms.
When we first arrived the smell of the town surprised me, however the room was clean and smelt pleasing. Staff was pleasant and helpful. Breakfast hit the spot, I got the energy needed to get me on the road. If passing thru again I would stop here.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Heather P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Don't let the exterior fool you. We were so tired from our road trip, and were so pleasantly surprised when we opened the door to our room. It was beautiful! Fresh new everything! New carpet, beautiful crisp white duvet's on the beds and granite counter tops. It was fresh and clean. The best bargain out there...

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Karl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We arrived at 3am after calling at 1am to see if there were any vacancies as our hotel in Hays, KS over booked. Thank you for answering the phone and having a room available. Very spacious, clean room and nice breakfast. Thanks again.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dutchovenrubies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

The sign said "No Vacancy" we asked anyway and we were glad we did.
They were full due to migrating work forces but both the staff and patrons were fun, amiable and personable.
We spent a great day at the pool. the room held up well to the terrible storm. There was terrible wind and rain. The lights went off for a while but the windows were solid and the bathroom was also rated as a storm shelter.
Our room was newly refurbished it had soft beds and clean sheets, no smoke smell.

Room Tip: The sign said "No Vacancies" but we asked anyway. I am glad we did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

My name is Victoria and we are pilot cars. We stay in Oakley, Is a lot. Denna and staff work so well with us. They understand in our "wind energy" world, things change quickly. They are remodeling rooms that are cozy and clean. I called Saturday for a room and asked they turn on my A.C due to my auto ac not working. I walked into our favorite room, cooled. Thanks staff! They also now have breakfast!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank Victoria A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakley
0.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Oakley
20.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#2 of 10 in Colby
275 reviews
22.5 mi away
Budget Inn & Suites Colby
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Colby
Hampton Inn Colby
#1 of 10 in Colby
559 reviews
20.6 mi away
Days Inn Colby
Days Inn Colby
#5 of 10 in Colby
317 reviews
20.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 10 in Colby
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kansas Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kansas Country Inn

Address: 3538 Us 40, Oakley, KS 67748-6001
Region: United States > Kansas > Oakley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Oakley
Price Range: £61 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kansas Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is a lot to see and do in our area and the Kansas Country Inn provides our guests with the best value in Oakley whether staying for business, pleasure or just passing through. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Kansas Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kansas Kountry Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing