We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great clerk , outstanding service , nice room !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
SureStay Hotel Ottawa
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Ottawa
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Travis was at front desk to greet us as we walked in , after along day on the road . We. Are BW members stay at them often . He not only was a great host he took good care of us . Upgraded our room to suite . Room was nice clean and comfy bed . Thank you Travis for your kindness , keep up the good work . We will be back !!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Usall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2013

The hotel was lovely, clean and comfortable. The manager was friendly and helpful. The breakfast was a little less than delicious, but the hotel was just fine and close to my business in town. Very nice.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KellyMilnerH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

1. Cons Furniture was worn. The room was dark, even with the curtains open. Low profile height commodes. Needed more receptacles (120 Volt outlets) for computer, 4G Wi Fi modem, phone charger, and desk lamp. Only two receptacles were at the desk. My room door and outside door took 3 to 20 attempts to open doors. I had to have my key recoded 2 times to get the doors to work. 2. Pros The breakfast was good with a great selection, the bed was comfortable, there was good storage space, the air conditioner worked well, and the carpet seemed clean.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bestwesternottawainn, Webmaster at SureStay Hotel Ottawa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thanks for your stay with us and your review.

We appreciate your observations and mentioning the pros and cons of your experience specifically.

In fact, we have plans to improve the overall amenities.

Glad to note that you liked the room features like bed and air conditioning and of course the breakfast.

We take the reviews quite seriously and would like to see you again!

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

The indoor pool temperature was so cold we didn't even want to get in it.

Got back to the room to bathe our young children after not being able to swim, and discovered two spiders in the bathtub. Killed the first, the second looked suspiciously like a brown recluse, took a picture of it, zoomed in, compared to pictures online, and confirmed it was a brown recluse. A poisonous spider that prefers dark, secluded, undisturbed places and preys upon insects and other spiders. So this hotel's rooms apparently are not cleaned thoroughly/frequently enough and have adequate numbers of spiders and insects to feed the brown recluse spider and make it want to stay.

Went down to tell the front desk, and the employee couldn't have cared less. She didn't apologize, didn't ask if we wanted help removing/killing the spider, didn't say that it was something she'd never seen before in the hotel (which to me the lack of surprise means it was no surprise to her...they know they have a spider problem), or anything sympathetic...acted like it was just a pain in her rear to hear about it and deal with me. The same response came with a male employee that she told about. She called a manager? on the phone asking them to come down to the lobby to talk to the customer, and the manager? refused to do it, just told her how to cancel out our reservation on the computer so we wouldn't get charged (which I demanded). I found it even more ironic the Best Western motto is "Stay with people who care". That's exact opposite of our experience.

As far as the building, it is an old motel that's been added on to and remodeled over and over. Exterior entrances to the rooms. The lighting was really poor in the room, light bulbs burned out, and really the rooms seemed more to belong in a $50 a night/ one star category rather than the $80ish it is. Even without the spider encounters, we probably wouldn't have stayed there again because they were overpriced for the quality.

Room Tip: Maybe there wouldn't be spiders in the part of the motel that's not as old and has interior...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ictkscitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bestwesternottawainn, Webmaster at SureStay Hotel Ottawa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Esteemed Guest,

Thank you for staying at the Best Western during your recent visit to our area.

We also appreciate your review and observations and apologize for the inconvenience.

We have investigated the happening and taken the appropriate steps to improve everything which you have mentioned in it.

We have taken all the steps to ensure that our guests get the best services and hospitality during their stay.

We invite you once again to choose our hotel again and feel the new experience of hospitality.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

It was a haven after a long day of sightseeing. Comfortable, working showers, absolute peace - it was a great place to unwind. Friendly staff, great breakfast spread and wonderful coffee to start the next day !!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liza P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

At the end of April 2012, my wife and I spent 3 or 4 nights at the hotel since we were in town for a family member's wedding. We stayed in an executive suite in a newer part of the hotel. It cost us a little more but you get what you pay for. Considering the options in Ottawa we were very happy with our room. It was clean, comfortable and quiet. It was also adjacent to the indoor pool. The breakfast was very nice. What impressed me most of all, what how generous the hotel manager and staff were in allowing some of our family who lived locally to spend some time with us in the hotel during the day and the manager even allowed us to host a small birthday party there for a family member of the wedding party. We are going back soon and will be staying at the same hotel because of the room and their manager's kindness.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Paul201234467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Earlier reviews refer to 606 East 23rd St., Ottawa KS 66067. We stayed at Best Western Ottawa Inn at 212 East 23rd Street.

Easy access from I-35. Friendly conversational desk clerk. We got a parking spot directly in front of the door to our room.

Our room was small but clean and nicely furnished with chair, ottoman, end tables, chest, desk, desk chair, small refrig, and microwave. Alcove between room and bathroom has hanger rack, sink, counter, coffee maker, and big mirror. The paint, drapes, carpet, and tiles seemed fresh and clean. The bed and pillows were comfortable.

The bathroom with a shower tub and toilet was very small. It was hard for me to avoid the path of the door while closing it. The high shower head had a wide spray and enough hot water.

A continental breakfast was available 6:00 AM to 9:30 AM.

Room Tip: This hotel still has smoking rooms availble. There are discounts for AARP, senior citizen, current g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DennisBonnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bestwesternottawainn, Webmaster at SureStay Hotel Ottawa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing the Best Western Ottawa Inn.

We feel proud to know that you liked the hotel and the stay.

We are continuously checking and improving the amenities.

We shall offer a still better stay experience next time.

Once for thanks for the review and we are eagerly awaiting your next visit.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ottawa
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Ottawa
Super 8 Ottawa
#3 of 6 in Ottawa
204 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Ottawa
Comfort Inn Ottawa
#1 of 6 in Ottawa
108 reviews
0.0 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#5 of 6 in Ottawa
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Ottawa
Days Inn Ottawa
#6 of 6 in Ottawa
140 reviews
23.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lawrence
22.1 mi away
Paola Inn and Suites
Paola Inn and Suites
#1 of 1 in Paola
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SureStay Hotel Ottawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SureStay Hotel Ottawa

Address: 212 E 23rd St, Ottawa, KS 66067-9537 (Formerly Best Western Ottawa Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kansas > Ottawa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Ottawa
Price Range: £69 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — SureStay Hotel Ottawa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Special annual events like the Ol’Marais River Run Antique Car Show have visitors heading to our Ottawa hotel year-round.The Ransom Memorial Hospital is just minutes away, and we’re right next to the interstate for easy traveling throughout the region. The BEST WESTERN brand and reputation is why many guests return to our Ottawa hotel. The down and out rooms make it easy to quickly unpack so that there’s more time for rest and relaxation. Our indoor pool and hot tub is a favorite lounging spot for guests who want to unwind from their travels.Close to the historic downtown area, the National Guard Armory is a favorite local attraction. Ottawa University is a short drive away, so travelers in town to visit the university can quickly take care of business. Our proximity to the Interstate makes getting to meetings or simply sightseeing quick and easy.A few of the regular business travelers who stay at our Ottawa hotel are employees of the Wal-Mart Distribution Center, American Eagle Distribution Center, and Wolf Creek Nuclear Power Plant. Whether you’re in Ottawa for business or pleasure, take advantage of our spacious rooms and full, free breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your SureStay Hotel Ottawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ottawa Hotel Ottawa
Ottawa Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing