We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marriott Kansas City Overland Park
Ranked #7 of 37 Hotels in Overland Park
Certificate of Excellence
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

As a Lifetime Platinum member, and one who spends 120-140 nights a year at Marriott properties, I was disappointed to be on the 9th floor in a small room which I could not get cool. In addition, the ice maker was not working and I had to go to another floor to get ice. I did have access to the concierge lounge, to find a relatively good selection of snacks in the evening. Breakfast was the usual, with scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, fruit, breads, and other offerings. All in all, the lounge was good. The front desk employees were not especially friendly on check in, or check out.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie_Pearman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toni C, General Manager at Marriott Kansas City Overland Park, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Sir, thank you for providing detailed feedback regarding your experience at our hotel. Please accept my sincere apology for not meeting basic expectations around everything in working order and friendly service. I will personally share your concerns with the front office leadership and follow up to ensure the ice maker is back in service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    158
    59
    8
    13
See reviews for
88
54
18
189
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

While the location is ideal and the hotel is clean, the set up of the property is horrible. This hotel is not up to par with the usual Marriott standard. The "free parking" deal is laughable since the parking lot provides no easy access to the building and is not secure. Additionally, there is no one to help with anything (bags, directions, recommendations, etc). So if you have more bags than you are able to carry, you will just have to make several trips and hope the weather cooperates. - because no one is around and wheeling a luggage rack to the "free parking lot" or pulling up your car aren't the best options. I've stayed for business twice and each time have gotten soaking wet walking to my car because it was pouring rain and the "free parking" (which is the only parking) was a mile from any door. I prefer not to show up to business meetings looking like a drown rat.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaisleyandLola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toni C, General Manager at Marriott Kansas City Overland Park, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback. Please accept my apology for the configuration of our parking lot in combination with the inclement weather making a poor impression on you about our hotel. Please know that our front office team stands ready to assist you with luggage handling, questions etc. should you return to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clinton, Iowa
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Property was very nice. Over run by sports teams when we arrived. They managed to find us a quiet room anyway. Breakfast buffet was wonderful. Friendly staff. Breakfast special was great value. You do have to pay for wifi.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thinktwice_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toni C, General Manager at Marriott Kansas City Overland Park, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thanks for being our guest and recognizing our staff and the quality of our breakfast buffet...it is very good with a great variety. Next time you visit please know that wi-fi is complimentary in the lobby!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

The hotel was great but I would like to focus this review on the staff.

We were on a road trip across country... Milwaukee to L.A. The Marriott Overland Park Kansas was our first over night stop.

The next afternoon, just outside of Amarillo, I received a phone call from Marriott. Some how while packing my bag I left my iPad on the desk in our room. I was speechless and absolutely floored by the honesty of the housekeeping staff who turned it in. The front desk called me, obviously I was too far away to drive back to get it so they sent it to my home. It arrived in perfect condition via FedEx.

Even if this hotel was mediocre ( which it is NOT ), I would return. This week long drive could have started on the wrong foot. The honesty and customer service from this hotel helped to make it a great trip.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JCKEW54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toni C, General Manager at Marriott Kansas City Overland Park, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for staying with us on your cross-country trip and recognizing our housekeeping host. We have a wonderful team and it our pleasure to be of service to you. Your trip sounds awesome...I hope you had a great time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
193 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

A while ago the lobby and bar have been redone and since then this is my favorite hotel in the Kansas overland park area. Good atmosphere in the bar area, nice craft beer selection and one of the best BBQ ribs around. Ans as usual in a marriott hotel great bed and pillows. Friendly service. The inhouse starbucks ia an added perk.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Marjo1187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toni C, General Manager at Marriott Kansas City Overland Park, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Thank you for your post. We recently replaced all of our mattresses so I am happy to learn you had a restful stay! Thanks for recognizing our ribs...they really are great!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

I haven't stayed in a Marriott for a while since I mostly stay in SPG or Hhonors affiliated hotels but I had a free awards night and used it in conjunction with a trip to Overland Park for my child's sporting event. I was very impressed with the Marriott in Overland Park. The hotel customer services people were great and got us checked in quickly.

Our room was on a high floor and was very comfortable double bed with a desk. I'm not a fan of down pillows but the beds were the best I've slept in away from home. The lobby and "great room" was very lively and the Starbucks just off the lobby was a welcome sight.

+1 to this Marriott

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sojoerner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toni C, General Manager at Marriott Kansas City Overland Park, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Thank you for recognizing our service team, they truly make this hotel special! I'm so glad to hear you enjoyed the M I Greatroom, our menu features many housemade and local items...and yes the ribs are great!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, MO
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed Friday and Saturday for my 11 year old son's soccer tournament. Check in was a breeze and the girl at the front desk was so professional and friendly. The were cookies out to welcome us. The room was just the right size for a family of four. It was clean and the decor very pleasing. There is a charge for wi fi inside the room. This non complimentary service was greatly missed. Shotty wi fi was available free in the lobby. The breakfast only consisted of runny scrambled eggs with toppings, fruit, oatmeal, biscuits, and small muffins. There should be protein offered as most of the hotel consisted of boys participating in a soccer tournament. My 11 year old chose to only eat a few oranges and we had to supplement with outside food. My 15 year old daughter loved having a Starbucks in the lobby. This was a close location to the tournament. We also drove to the large mall between games.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank bobodawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toni C, General Manager at Marriott Kansas City Overland Park, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Thank you for staying with us during your soccer tournament in Overland Park. Many guest love our Full service Starbucks, it helps get the morning started right! Please accept my apology that the tournament arranged complimentary breakfast did not meet your expectations. We look forward to hosting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Overland Park hotels
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Overland Park Hotel at the Convention Center
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Overland Park/Convention Center
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Kansas City Overland Park
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Overland Park
Hilton Garden Inn Overland Park
#5 of 37 in Overland Park
520 reviews
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Kansas City-Overland Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Kansas City Overland Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Kansas City Overland Park

Property: Marriott Kansas City Overland Park
Address: 10800 Metcalf Ave, Overland Park, KS 66210-2320
Region: United States > Kansas > Overland Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Overland Park
#4 Business Hotel in Overland Park
#10 Family Hotel in Overland Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott Kansas City Overland Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 390
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Marriott Kansas City Overland Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Overland Park Marriott Hotel Overland Park
Marriott Overland Park
Marriott Kansas City Overland Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing