We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing Special.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Overland Park-Conv Ctr
Ranked #13 of 37 Hotels in Overland Park
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
77 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Nothing Special.....”
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Stayed here on a recent business trip as the meeting I was attending was at this property. When I saw the overall good reviews I was encouraged, and accordingly was looking forward to my stay.

Let me state up front that I agree with other reviewers that the people / staff were more than friendly.

That said, I should have paid more attention to the hotel ranking relative to the other properties in the area. I would say the 22 of 39 ranking the property has at the time I am writing this review is dead on.

Contrary to appearances, this is NOT a brand new property. It is not old, but it is showing signs of wear and tear (my guess is that it is relatively new, so the owners don't yet want to invest the dollars required for a bit of a refresh). I saw all sort of signs of wear - elevator call button light was out on the first floor, there were a couple missing tiles missing behind the toilet in my bathroom, things of that nature. The sort of things that are of the most innocuous nature, and don't really affect the quality of your stay, except...

I obviously cannot speak for what others will pay at other times, but for my stay my room was over USD $150/night with tax for a regular two queen room with no special amenities. For that kind of money..especially considering this hotel is not located in downtown Chicago or someplace similar....I am expecting a four star property, and if you are going to be lacking in amenities (that would be the nothing special part), then what you do provide had better be perfect....and it was not.

Probably the most relevant detail would be the bed(s). The quality of the mattress was average at best - not at ALL what I would expect at this price point. Let me fully disclose that I am a big guy..former football player, north of 250 lbs (though south of 300...lol). Still, at this price point I expect a quality mattress and a good night's sleep...something I did not receive. Between the mattress and the bright outdoor property illumination light shining through my window (because the property cut corners on the size of the "black out drapes" so there was no way to fully block the window off) I got relatively little rest. Sometimes this is the nature of the beast when traveling for business....when you are paying $50 - $75/night for a room. NOT when paying $150+.

All in all quite the disappointment. No, the there nothing "wrong" with the property...everything worked fine, and I will again say that the staff was friendly. But at this price point I expect better than "adequate"...

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoGoBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Overland Park-Conv Ctr, responded to this review, 8 June 2013
Dear GoGoBear,

Thank you for your detailed review regarding your recent stay with us. We are very pleased to note that you found our staff to be friendly.

However, let me take this opportunity to apologize if you were not satisfied with the amenities as well as with the overall aesthetics of our hotel. I am sorry to hear that we didn't quite live up to your expectations considering the room rate that you have paid. Our goal is to ensure that we provide a comfortable and rewarding stay and I am truly sorry for we have failed to deliver this to you.

Your feedback is very important as this is our primary source in improving guest services. Rest assured that your comments will be looked into. We hope that you give us another chance to show you what we have done.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    48
    16
    6
    6
See reviews for
41
17
10
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Level Contributor
213 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

I have stayed here when on business for the past six years.NEVER had a negative experience. Staff is SUPER! Staff is always very friendly and courteous. Breakfast buffet is always good and reasonably priced. In the Winter the underground garage means I don't have to walk in snow or scrape ice off windshield. John the bartender is great guy.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cy2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

We stayed here with our soccer team for a tournament. Hotel was clean and a great location to everything around Overland Park. The bar was nice for a drink or two before bed. Pool was open after a renovation but very small for the hotel size. Rooms were clean and had nice amenities. However, customer service was terrible as they struggled to handle the weekend crowd. As we arrived Friday, we signed a waiver saying we would keep the kids from running the halls and observe quiet time after 9pm. I get it, no problem as we had early games the following two days. As we got back Friday night around 10pm, there was "happy hour" on our floor with the room across from us having an open room free for all. I contacted the front desk and they said they would have someone handle the noise complaint. Two hours later and four phone calls back (the last two being hung up on), the issue finally got resolved by the hotel. Calls back to ask what was going on lead to the phone ringing 20 or 30X as they tried to ignore our complaint. Once I got thru, I informed the front desk to either tell them to go in their room or leave the hotel as the Police would be called. This approach by them finally worked but poorly trained staff lead to this poor situation as no one on the floor could sleep thru the party in the hallway. We are asked to control the kids but they cant even handle the adults who are creating a noise issue for everyone. The breakfast was only continental so limited options. They assured us they could open Breakfast at 6am Sunday. No one was there at 6:10am so we inquired at the front desk and the agent said "What do you want me to do about it"? Enough said, do what you say you are going to do. Will never come back here again as it looks like Overland Park offers many other options that care about it guests.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blues03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Overland Park-Conv Ctr, responded to this review, 11 May 2013
Dear bhandy03,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate that you find our location to be convenient.

However, We’re sorry you received poor customer service and the noise during your stay. We will address these points. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Stayed there this past weekend with my 12-year old daughter for a soccer tournament. The hotel was nice and clean, the staff was friendly, and the rooms were relatively quiet as hotel rooms go. The beds were comfortable, and the TV was an LG high def with a variety of channels. I did not like the parking situation. The parking in front was fine, but if it filled up (which it will on a weekend), you had to park in back. The parking spaces in back were vary narrow, with little room to maneuver because they were so close to the building. Several people took two spots to park one car, further limiting the number of parking spots. No other parking was available. It's unfortunate, but I lowered my rating to 3 stars because of this.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank STLFamily_Guy52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hisuites, Manager at Holiday Inn Overland Park-Conv Ctr, responded to this review, 19 April 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel! We appreciate all the feedback as we are always looking for ways to improve your experience and improve our property! We sincerly apologize for the inconvenience experienced because of the parking situation. In addition to the parking available in the front and rear of the hotel we also do have an underground parking garage available that is complimentary for guests. We will definitely have a training session with the front desk to make sure we are letting all guests know at check in about all of the available parking options. Again thank you so much for your review and we hope to see you again! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Nice comfy beds, stayed there during the week and they give you two free drink tickets for the bar- Score Very convent location- right off interstate. Staff was friendly and it was quiet. Would recommend it for a nice comfy reasonably priced stay

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cammy t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
43 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

Definitely your typical Hoilday Inn, but my room was clean and did had some updates. Best thing was that the room was equipped with a microwave and mini-fridge. One thing I would improve on our the linens. They are generally comfortable, but the I find the pillows to be uncomfortable a little too big for my preference. Otherwise, a good, comfortable stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vlagroupie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Park, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 January 2013

I can understand a hotel having rules and policies that may sometimes seem appropriate when in fact, they are an unnecessary burden on the customer. But if you such policiies, you should be able to explain them or at the least, provide additional options for your guests. After a very difficult day I went back to my room and changed into my workout clothes i had just purchased. (I had forgot to pack them) I really was looking forward to going to the gym to decompress. This is a daily habit and i cannot sleep well unless i have been able to clear my mind by doing a little exercise. When i got to the workout facility, my card would not work and then i noticed a sign that said the gym closed at 11:00 pm. I thought this was strange as most or the 130 different hotels i stay in each year do not close their gym. I went to the counter to inquire why the gym was closed and Kelly told me rudely, it was "policy"..... Really?? Policy? that is the best you can offer me? Hotels that understand how to treat a guest would never tell them no and even when they had to say no, they would never just them it was Policy. So i walked up and down the hall for an hour to get my exercise while Kelly and Joey sat there doing nothing but talking. The more i walked the madder i got, so i called the Sheraton next door and asked about their gym. I was told it was open 24 hours. I went to the counter to tell them i would be checking out two days early and would be going to the Sheraton because of the poor experience i had with Joey and Kelly. There was no effort by either of them to keep me as their guest for two more nights. Obviously, my business wasn't very important to them. Sad.... If you are a frequent traveler that likes good customer service. This is not your hotel... They dont look at you as a guest to be made to feel at home. They are just a room to rent and nothing more...

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keithhudgins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Overland Park-Conv Ctr, responded to this review, 15 January 2013
Dear keithhudgins,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Overland Park hotels
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn+ Suites - Overland Park
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Overland Park
Hilton Garden Inn Overland Park
#4 of 37 in Overland Park
519 reviews
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Overland Park/Convention Center
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Overland Park Hotel at the Convention Center
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Kansas City/Overland Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Overland Park-Conv Ctr? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Overland Park-Conv Ctr

Property: Holiday Inn Overland Park-Conv Ctr
Address: 10920 Nall Ave, I-435 at Nall exit, Overland Park, KS 66211-1207
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kansas > Overland Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Overland Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Overland Park-Conv Ctr 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park, KS Convention Center is within walking distance of the Overland Park, KS Convention Center. The Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park is conveniently located near Sprint World Headquarters, Embarq Headquarters, State Line and Ward Parkway, Corporate Woods, South Creek Office Park, KC Chiefs & Royals, Mid-America Rehabilitation, Black & Veatch, Verizon, YRCW, KCP & L District, The Sprint Center & KS Speedway. The Holiday Inn Overland Park Kansas Hotel features complimentary high-speed and wireless Internet access available in all guest rooms and meeting rooms. Large shopping center and numerous dining options at Town Center Plaza...less than one mile away! The Holiday Inn Hotel, Overland Park Kansas features a new restaurant, The Cafe, that serves casual American fare for breakfast and dinner. Join us at our new lobby bar, The Avenue. Guest appreciation nights, Monday through Thursday, includes a complimentary cocktail and appetizer specials. For a quick snack stop by our Suite Shop. All rooms feature king or two queen beds, over-sized desk, and comfortable chair. All suites feature a mini-refrigerator and microwave, cordless phone and full-sized sofa sleeper. Jacuzzi suites also available. Complimentary underground parking garage access. Complete meeting and banquet/catering service available for any event. Please contact the property directly for details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Overland Park-Conv Ctr reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Overland Park-Conv Ctr Hotel Overland Park
Overland Park Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Overland Park-Conv Ctr Kansas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing