We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Kansas City Overland Park/Convention Center
Ranked #21 of 37 Hotels in Overland Park
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
148 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

A very nice Courtyard hotel. What you would expect from the brand.
Does have a lot of families with kids due to proximity to the children's hospital.
Would stay there again!
As normal it does not have a free breakfast but they do have a place you can buy meals.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank onthego2much
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcia D, General Manager at Courtyard Kansas City Overland Park/Convention Center, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear Onthego2much,

Thank you for your comment about the Courtyard Overland Park Convention Center. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Sincerely,

Marcia Drake
General Mananger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    47
    18
    7
    7
See reviews for
34
15
7
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kirbyville, Missouri
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

Nicey at the front desk is awesome!
Breakfast service was great!
Good service overall!
If your not uppity, a great value place to stay.
This property is just off of I-435 which makes it easy to get to most venues in and around Kansas City. If you don't want to go too far this property is close to lots of shopping and restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WGKirby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcia D, General Manager at Courtyard Kansas City Overland Park/Convention Center, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Dear WGKirby,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice comment about Niecey and your recent stay at our hotel. We will share your feedback with the entire staff. We hope that when you come back to Kansas City you will stay with us again.

Sincerely,

Marcia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
128 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

This hotel is very clean and accomodating. Niecy at the front desk was very helpful, warm and welcoming. The pool and jacuzzi are very nice and clean. The breakfast is not free, but is very good. I highly recommend this property. I got a special weekend rate on the Marriott site using code MEB for $55 per night on the weekend.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcia D, General Manager at Courtyard Kansas City Overland Park/Convention Center, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear YMINKC,

Thank you for your kind words about Niecey and the hotel. We take great pride in our excellent service to our guests and providing a clean and accomodating hotel. We look forward to seeing you again when you are in town.

Sincerely,

Marcia D
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena, Mt
Level Contributor
149 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

Friendly & welcoming staff; however, they didn't do anything to recognize my Marriott Gold status. Very clean and well maintained. Pool and fitness center, but didn't use them due to it being a sports weekend, with lots of children. The hotel common areas and room were very clean and well-maintained. Hotel very easy to find off the freeway and in a very, very safe area next to the Children's hospital; we were able to walk around the area well after dark without any fear; the parking lot was similarly safe. A positive about this location on this trip, which made it safe and quiet, was that there wasn't any food, gas or other shopping at the freeway exit. We stayed on a Friday night and got a very reasonable AAA rate.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClarkCreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcia D, General Manager at Courtyard Kansas City Overland Park/Convention Center, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear ClarkCreek,

Thank you for taking time to write a review of our hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. I apologize that your Reward status was not recognized. I will follow up with the front desk staff to ensure they are recognizing and thanking our Marriott Rewards members. We understand how valuable our Elite members are and appreciate your loyalty to Marriott. Thank you for staying with us and hope that when you are in Kansas City again you will come back to see us.

Sincerely,

Marcia Drake
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

My husband, daughter, grandaughter and myself stayed at this hotel in June for 5 nights.
I'll start by saying that the second we walked in, we were greeted by a very nice, friendly woman at the front desk. She was SO personable! Throughout our stay, everyone at the desk was friendly and happy.The lobby area is very nice, it's clean and welcoming.
The hotel is very close to a lot of shopping and good restaurants. Easy access to the freeway.
We were in K.C. for a dance competition right across the street at the Convention Center, so very convenient.
We got to our room and it was very nice, it was clean and it had a couch and seating area, along with a desk. So this was nice because there was plenty of room for the 4 of us.
The bathroom is nice because the vanity and sink are outside of the toilet/shower area which again, is nice because more than one person can get ready at a time.
The garden area was nice, a gazebo and nice for evening seating.
When we made reservations, we had asked for a refrigerator, so there was one in our room.
The linens were clean and the pillows are great.
The drawbacks--
The beds are not very comfortable, they seem old and you can feel the springs through the pad.
Even though there were 4 of us, we only received 3 towels and washcloths everyday, this even after we asked for more the first day. So EVERY morning we had to ask the housekeeper for more towels and washcloths. (we actually left a note every morning on the vanity, but it didn't help.This was also after we mentioned it to the front desk staff).
Because there was a national dance competition, there were small children everywhere and so that means that there was a lot of screaming, running kids in the hallways, even past midnight. There was a lot of jumping in the room above us, not soundproof.
There is no continental breakfast,which I would expect for the price of the room. The breakfast offered in the restaurant is $9.95 per person which is steep for 4 every morning.We went to the store and because we had a refrigerator, we bought milk and cereal and fruit.
The pool had so many chemicals in it that you couldn't use it. We tried the first night, but it was so bad we all ended up with red, burning, itchy eyes and ears. The front desk said it would be changed, but it wasn't fixed the whole week. We weren't the only ones having issues with it.
I am giving this a "very good" instead of "average" simply for the friendly staff.

Room Tip: Ask for the highest floor possible because of noise above. Ask for a room with a sofa and refrigera...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bourkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcia D, General Manager at Courtyard Kansas City Overland Park/Convention Center, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Dear Bourkes,

I wanted to thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor. We pride ourselves in our warm staff service as well as providing our guests with a clean comfortable room. I apologize about the bed in your room. I am happy to let you know however that we replaced all the beds in the hotel the first part of July so I hope you will come back and try them. I would like to hear more about the pool issue you had while you were here. Can you either send me an e-mail at cy.mcicv.gm@marriott.com or call me at 913-317-8500? We hope to see you again soon!

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

This hotel has clean rooms, a friendly staff, easy access to 435, and a nice lounge area. The breakfast was a little pricey at $9.95/ person, but it was nice to have an omlet station.For the price I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcia D, General Manager at Courtyard Kansas City Overland Park/Convention Center, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Dear ReppinJC,

Thank you for your nice comments about our hotel and staff! We look forward to seeing you again!

Sincerely,

Marcia Drake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Papillion, Nebraska
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

Our family stayed here while visiting the KC area. It was clean and nice, no complaints, great staff. we would definitely stay again! Close and convenient to all attractions we were there to see. They were nice enough to upgrade us to a larger room with a sofa instead of making our son sleep on a roll away.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie200027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcia D, General Manager at Courtyard Kansas City Overland Park/Convention Center, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Dear Jamie200027,

I want to thank you for your review of our hotel. It is very important to us that you are taken care of when you are here and from your review it looks like we succeeded. We are glad you enjoyed your experience here and hope that you will come back soon!

Sincerely,

Marcia Drake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Overland Park hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Overland Park-Conv Ctr
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Kansas City Overland Park/Metcalf, South of College Boulevard
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Overland Park
Hilton Garden Inn Overland Park
#4 of 37 in Overland Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Marriott Kansas City Overland Park
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Overland Park Hotel at the Convention Center
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Overland Park/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Kansas City Overland Park/Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Kansas City Overland Park/Convention Center

Property: Courtyard Kansas City Overland Park/Convention Center
Address: 11001 Woodson Ave, Overland Park, KS 66211-1656
Region: United States > Kansas > Overland Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Overland Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Kansas City Overland Park/Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Kansas City Overland Park/Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Overland Park
Overland Park Marriott
Overland Park Courtyard
Courtyard Kansas City Overland Park/Convention Center

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing