We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, friendly staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park West
Ranked #1 of 37 Hotels in Overland Park
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, friendly staff!”
Reviewed 16 August 2011

We stayed at this hotel because a convention was being held there. The staff was friendly, and the wake up call we requested was delivered on time. However, only one out of the two key cards worked, and we kept having to swap out the key card that didn't work. The room was clean. They didn't have any toothbrushes, toothpaste, or deodorant (since our luggage was delayed and didn't arrive until the next day), even though a placard in the bathroom said they did. Some travel sites also show an iHome dock and a flat-screen TV in each room, as well as a hotel store, but they had a regular clock radio, older TV, and no hotel store. We ate dinner one night at the in-hotel restaurant and service was slow at 9:00 at night, and there was only 1 person working the restaurant. We did, however, get free in-room Wi-Fi, which was great, and the bed was comfortable. I would recommend this hotel, but make sure your luggage doesn't get lost or delayed. Overall, we had a pretty good stay.

Room Tip: Get a room with a sofa
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ustraveler12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    235
    140
    51
    23
    19
See reviews for
117
43
21
227
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnetoon
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Property is very clean and staff exceptionally friendly. Furniture is showing some wear but overall very comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Nikki F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

The first thing you experience is the excellent staff, Always professional and accomodating. The property is always clean, fresh and well maintained. The rooms provide all the comfort you need, from the decor to the wonderful beds with plenty of pillows. This property has a lounge and bar area for socializing, very relaxing. If you are a breakfast person, you will enjoy the breakfast buffet. One of my favorite places to stay when I am in this area, I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: If you are a member of the Priority Club (recommended) you will get room upgrades if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adjuster148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manalapan, New Jersey
Level Contributor
94 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

I stayed for 2 night while in town on business and I can't say it was a bad stay but this hotel is in dire need of a remodel. The front desk staff was very polite and the location was convenient but the rooms are just not very nice. The rooms and some common areas are certainly below the standard of what I've come to expect from a Holiday Inn.

My room was just shabby. Everything is stained and marked up from use and age. The wallpaper seems are all showing and the ceiling has stains. The radio in the room didn't work, the chair at the desk wouldn't adjust, the toilet didn't flush properly, and the wifi was out one of the two nights I was there. I also was not really pleased with the cleanliness of the bathroom, there were several hairs on the floor and fixtures when I arrived.

As for the pluses, the bed was very comfortable and the room was quiet.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jerseyguy405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-36, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park West, responded to this review, 2 August 2011
It was great of you to point out the positives you experienced with our great location and the comfortable bedding.

Please accept my apologies for the housekeeping issues that you experienced during your stay as we strive for much higher standards.

If you find a need for lodging in this area again, I would like the opportunity to earn back your business. Please contact me directly for a future reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2011

We could get no help with our luggage. They wouldn't help us find a cart to use. No ice bucket in the room. The door to our room would not lock! Carpets are dirty. People at front desk were of little or no help with anything. People got on the elevator dripping from the pool and we were up to our ankles in water. No firg in rooms. Two cups of plain coffee were over $4.00. Rip off city. Never again.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happytourist47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
107 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2011

This is a very old Holiday Inn property. We'll leave the road construction out of this review. Property is old and doesn't appear to draw much of a business crowd. Hotel is really near nothing. Hallways are old and there is a distinctive smell of bug spray throughout property. Pool was closed for renovation which is fine with me but not noted on their web site. Attached Green Mill restaurant was a disappointment. Green Mills are popular places in WI and MN and attached to several other H.I properties. This place was almost empty. Again, the persistant smell of bug spray. Rooms are old and dated with tube TV's and very old funtiture. Room service dishes stacked by the ice machine. Nice touch ! This is not up to standards of newer or renovated H.I properties. Wouldn't be suprised to see this a Quality Inn very soon. Oh yeah... and all for a price of about $110 a night. Keep driving ....

Room Tip: Find a Hampton
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kubzfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2011

We had a death in the family, and with it being right after Christmas we were very tight on funds. I booked this hotel via hotwire.com and got a GREAT deal on this hotel for 3 nights. I had stayed in this hotel about 2-3 years ago, and all I can say they did some MAJOR improvements/renovations and it overall was a great value for the price we paid. Much better than the Hotel 8 that would have been the same price. They have a very nice Green Mill attached to the hotel, and the food and service there is great! They also have an indoor/outdoor pool that my nieces said was very cold because it was indoor/outdoor. We were able to get a King room 2 out of the three nights. The bed wasn't THAT comfortable, but it could have been a lot worse. We stayed in a double the first night, and that was not ideal, but willing to deal with it since we got such a great rate. I would highly recommend this hotel, and I would really suggest looking for this hotel on Hotwire. It is the only hotel that shows up as a 3 star Lenexa hotel. We paid only $48 a night!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tootie84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Overland Park hotels
4.1 mi away
Sheraton Overland Park Hotel at the Convention Center
4.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Overland Park
Hilton Garden Inn Overland Park
#6 of 37 in Overland Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
3.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Kansas City/Overland Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Kansas City/Overland Park
4.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Overland Park/Convention Center
3.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Kansas City-Overland Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park West

Property: Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park West
Address: 8787 Reeder St, Overland Park, KS 66214-1921
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kansas > Overland Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Overland Park
#11 Business Hotel in Overland Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park West 3*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Overland Park, Kansas, you are always welcome at the Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Overland Park West. Excellent location for an Overland Park, Kansas hotel at 87th and Interstate 35. Close to Pine Ridge Business Park and Oak Park MallThe Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Overland Park West is centrally located to all major visitor attractions and sports venues. The Overland Park, Kansas hotel is one of the closest lodging facilities to the Bass Pro Shop, Kansas Speedway and Legends Shopping at Village West. Country Club Plaza, Crown Center Plaza, Sandstone/Verizon Amphitheatre, Worlds of Fun and the Renaissance Festival of Kansas City are all within a 30 minute drive. The Overland Park Kansas hotel has 191 well appointed guestrooms including 50 elegant suites with microwaves, refrigerators and wet bars. Free wireless high-speed Internet in all guest rooms and meeting rooms. Inside the Overland Park Kansas hotel is the Green Mill Restaurant & Bar. Serving great American food and beverage, featuring award-winning pizza and wings. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Relax, it's Holiday Inn and as always, Kids Stay and Eat Free! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, IHG, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Overland Park West
Holiday Inn Overland Park
Overland Park Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park West Kansas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing