We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the cost”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park West
Ranked #2 of 37 Hotels in Overland Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Surprise with this hotel. Rooms remine me of a old Ramada Inn. No explanation why I did not get a upgrade being a Platinum level.Rooms clean but old looking. Not enough outlets in room for todays electronic world. The cost of the first night wasn't bad but they tried to raise the room cost from 121.00 to 139.00 just because they were full. I got them down to 125.00 per night. Bottom line would not stay here on my next visit to this area. Would rather drive further and find a much better Holiday Inn. The room cost more than any other Holiday Inn I have stayed in and for the money it was not very good.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else or make sure the price you are given is for the entire trip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dotman60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-36, Rooms Division Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park West, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us here at the Holiday Inn & Suites Overland Park West. Please contact me directly should you return to the area as I would like the opportunity to regain your confidence. Sincerest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (483)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

434 - 440 of 484 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2012

I have stayed here routinely on all of my visits to KC for several years now. The quality just gets better. The staff has stayed fairly consistent and they are so welcoming and friendly. They visit with you as you come and go and never make you feel rushed. I am not a fan of the restaurant. The food is not as good as the prices would have you believe, so we usually go across the street to Perkins to eat. The beds are comfortable. There is a mirrored area outside of the bathroom, so when you are travling in pairs, 2 can get ready at the same time. I would recomend this to anyone coming to KC. It is clean, centrally located to highways and shopping, comfortable and has great service.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-36, Rooms Division Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park West, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your complimentary review of the hotel and staff.
Your business and patronage are very much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Please keep in mind the one thing this review wont actually capture is the smell.

Upon check in I asked if I could get a room with a microwave, the manager said it costs $10 extra. I've stayed in this chain before, & since I have a toddler in tow I though being able to use the fridge, & microwave would be excellent. BUT, my room had no microwave, and what's worse when I asked about it they sent a microwave to my room.

I am almost certain a previous guest, or disgruntled employee had urinated in the air conditioner, as the smell of ammonia when I turned it on made my eyes water.


The springs in the chair are broken so you literally sink to a very uncomfortable low level. A few fixtures are falling off the wal....

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WT-Traveler-TM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-36, Rooms Division Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park West, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2012

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn & Suites Overland Park West.
I want to apologize for your less than positive experience which was the opposite of what we strive to achieve. Please contact me directly should you return to the area as I would like the opportunity to regain your confidence.
Sincerest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Very nice hotel! We stayed for a last minute appointment! Highly Recomended!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeffrey1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-36, Rooms Division Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park West, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2012

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your positive feedback about your recent visit. I am very pleased to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed your recent stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Check-in was quick. Room was neat and clean. Quiet. Fridge and microwave in room. Just stayed 1 night and didn't get to use the pool. Breakfast was good, service quick; rather expensive, but on-site and nothing terribly close by. Overall good experience.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IowaCatlady4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-36, Rooms Division Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park West, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2012

Thanks for the glowing comments regarding your recent stay.
We appreciate you choosing the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park Kansas and invite you to stay with us again the next time you are in town!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

The hotel was adequate. I would have been mad if I paid the regular price. I booked through Priceline. I've stayed in nicer 2 star hotels. Room was clean enough but beds and pillows seemed uncomfortable. The bathroom had a slight sewer smell. It was very quiet after 9pm which was really nice. No microwaves or fridges in regular rooms. My biggest gripe was I overheard the nighttime manager rent a room to a teenager. First he told him he couldn't rent a room since he was under 21. The he asked the kid if he had his girl there with him and told him he didn't want any trouble from him and went ahead and gave him a room. So, I guess it's a popular place for teens to get a room even if underage!

Room Tip: I would ask next time for a higher level on the outside of the hotel. The inner rooms overlook the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-36, Rooms Division Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park West, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2012

Please accept my apologies for the issues you experienced during your recent stay as we strive for much higher standards. If you find a need for lodging in this area again, I would like the opportunity to earn back your business. Please contact me directly for a future reservation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Nice location great staff and good value ..rooms were spacious and clean restaurant had decent food the pizza is good..Had guest laundry that was very nice and clean well maintained machines ...lots of hot water for a shower the swimming pool area was very nice there was always people in the pool the few nights I was there lots of places to eat and shop close by. Very close to interstate easy on and off. I would defiantly stay here again...

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LEAVENONAJETPLANE65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-36, Rooms Division Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park West, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2012

Thank you for your wonderful remarks, which I have shared with our staff. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Overland Park hotels
4.1 mi away
Sheraton Overland Park Hotel at the Convention Center
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Kansas City/Overland Park
4.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Overland Park/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Kansas City/Overland Park
3.3 mi away
Comfort Inn+ Suites - Overland Park
3.5 mi away
Marriott Kansas City Overland Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park West

Address: 8787 Reeder St, Overland Park, KS 66214-1921
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kansas > Overland Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Overland Park
#11 Business Hotel in Overland Park
Price Range: £102 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park West 3*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Overland Park, Kansas, you are always welcome at the Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Overland Park West. Excellent location for an Overland Park, Kansas hotel at 87th and Interstate 35. Close to Pine Ridge Business Park and Oak Park MallThe Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Overland Park West is centrally located to all major visitor attractions and sports venues. The Overland Park, Kansas hotel is one of the closest lodging facilities to the Bass Pro Shop, Kansas Speedway and Legends Shopping at Village West. Country Club Plaza, Crown Center Plaza, Sandstone/Verizon Amphitheatre, Worlds of Fun and the Renaissance Festival of Kansas City are all within a 30 minute drive. The Overland Park Kansas hotel has 191 well appointed guestrooms including 50 elegant suites with microwaves, refrigerators and wet bars. Free wireless high-speed Internet in all guest rooms and meeting rooms. Inside the Overland Park Kansas hotel is the Green Mill Restaurant & Bar. Serving great American food and beverage, featuring award-winning pizza and wings. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Relax, it's Holiday Inn and as always, Kids Stay and Eat Free! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Overland Park West
Holiday Inn Overland Park
Overland Park Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park West Kansas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing