We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, fresh room, outstanding hospitality.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park West
Ranked #1 of 37 Hotels in Overland Park
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Clean, fresh room, outstanding hospitality.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012 via mobile

We were greeted warmly by the evening desk clerk but soon found there was a problem (not on the hotel's part) with our reservation. The manager was promptly called and he graciously resolved the matter in moments. So refreshing to experience such a high level of service in a budget-friendly hotel! While the carpet in the 2nd floor hallway was dated and worn, the guest room was clean and fresh with modern linens and window treatments. There were plenty of quality pillows and a newer flat-screen television. The showerhead was amazing and we had no problems with the water temperature or pressure. Sure, the building is older and you can see that in small ways such as the paint and door hardware, but I don't think that's really an issue in this price range. I was pleased to see the cleaning staff thoroughly sanitizing the vending and ice machine area even on a Sunday night. The hotel restaurant had excellent food and we had terrific, genuinely pleasant service by Jo. Wonderful overall experience!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OnionEyes73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-36, Rooms Division Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park West, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
Thank you for the honest and kind review. The impression we made with you is what we strive for with all our guests. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    139
    51
    23
    19
See reviews for
116
42
20
224
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

When we checked in we were given a room on the third floor. It was your typical hotel room. It had an a/c unit and everything you would expect. The one thing that was unexpected was the wet carpet.

We called the front desk. They apologized and quickly gave us a different, upgraded room due to our problem. This room was on the first floor and felt like it was in a different hotel. There was central air and a parlor with a second tv. If you have the extra money to spend or need the extra space, it was wonderful!

The hotel was fairly quiet and in a great location. I went into Kansas City, MO to sightsee on a couple of days and was there within 20 minutes or less.

This budget-friendly hotel comes highly recommended on my part.

A friend checked in a few days after us and was given a room on the seventh floor. He is a big guy and told us that the ceilings were very low. So, keep that in mind if you are tall, I guess.

Room Tip: Seventh floor has low ceilings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tejanaporvida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-36, Rooms Division Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park West, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
It was great of you to point out the positives you experienced during your stay with us. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
43 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

I do a lot of business travel and use Priceline a lot, so this hotel was a reasonable bid. Otherwise I would never book this outright, so often Holiday Inns are very hit or miss, and this is more of a miss.
I asked for a lower room because I hate waiting for the elevator, so i insisted on a room on the lowest floor. The man at the front desk acted a little irritated about that request, he did have a long line of people waiting to check in. But he said I shouldn't have a problem getting the elevator, well guess what, one of the elevators was broken.

They could use a few modern updates on the furnishings and new carpet in room and hallways. The air conditioner unit was extremely loud and the bathtub was not too clean.

Wouldn't be my first choice the next time I'm in KC area, but will suffice in a pinch.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vlagroupie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-36, Rooms Division Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park West, responded to this review, 15 August 2012
Thank you for the review regarding your recent stay.
Please accept our apologies regarding the elevator issue which occurred the weekend of your stay. Although this was an isolated event it did create a waiting period for the remaining operational elevator.
If you return to the area, please contact me directly so that I may upgrade your reservation to one of our suites located on the first floor of the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
259 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

This was probably my 4th or 5th time staying there and they have always been as comfortable and predictable as the 1st. Check-in are always warm, welcoming and problem free. The building is dated but quaint, extremely well maintained & up-scale. There is a very nice restaurant and bar. I enjoy taking advantage of these while I'm there. The swimming pool and computer room always help make the stay restful and less complicated. Great staff, lots of perks, minutes from the high way, I like this place!

Room Tip: The rooms on the front upper levels provide a sunny morning over view of the city, nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geotreo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-36, Rooms Division Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park West, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review of the property. It's always important to hear how we may improve however comments such as yours are inspiring and as equally welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Topeka, Kansas
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

I have stayed at this hotel 4 times this year. The staff is professional and courteous, the rooms are clean and fresh, and I love the pecan craisen salad in the Green Mill. Ray the bartender went out of his way to make us a special pina colada. A great experience. Thank you.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-36, Rooms Division Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park West, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
Thank you for your complimentary review of the hotel and staff. I have forwarded your comments directly to Ray our bartender. He has just completed his 10th year with the hotel!

Your business and patronage are very much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magnolia, Arkansas
Level Contributor
264 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012 via mobile

This seems to be a converted Holiday Inn. Often with those you get inconsistent rooms because the furnishings aren't what you may be used to with a Holiday Inn original hotel. That's what this one felt like. It was not bad by any means but could really use an upgrade in the rooms.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lfferg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-36, Guest Service Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park West, responded to this review, 28 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay.

In 2002, this completely remodeled property reopened it's doors at the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park West. Through the years we have taken great pride in assuring that the hotel is up to date, clean and that our guests receive a memorable experience from their stay.

Although several updates have been completed this year, there is much more planned in the near future.

Your business is appreciated and we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

We stayed here for one night on July 21, 2012 after booking it through Hotwire.com. It is an average hotel at best. I would disagree with Hotwire's rating of 3 stars. A rating of 2-1/2 stars would be more appropriate.

The beds are small for two people. The air conditioning did not work well.

Do NOT eat at the adjoining Green Mill restaurant. The food there is disgusting.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-36, Guest Service Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park West, responded to this review, 28 July 2012
Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay.

It's unfortunate that we were unable to meet your expectations in regards to the size of our beds. The dimensions are standard although I can sympathize if you were sleeping two per double.

Should you choose to return, I would be happy to offer you a complimentary upgrade to one of our King or Double suites.

Our Green Mill restaurant has a wonderful variety of pastas, salads, steaks, and fresh made to order pizza. If you could contact me with some details in regards to your experience there I would be grateful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Overland Park hotels
4.1 mi away
Sheraton Overland Park Hotel at the Convention Center
4.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Overland Park
Hilton Garden Inn Overland Park
#4 of 37 in Overland Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
3.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Kansas City/Overland Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Kansas City/Overland Park
4.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Overland Park/Convention Center
3.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Kansas City-Overland Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park West

Property: Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park West
Address: 8787 Reeder St, Overland Park, KS 66214-1921
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kansas > Overland Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Overland Park
#11 Business Hotel in Overland Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park West 3*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Overland Park, Kansas, you are always welcome at the Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Overland Park West. Excellent location for an Overland Park, Kansas hotel at 87th and Interstate 35. Close to Pine Ridge Business Park and Oak Park MallThe Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Overland Park West is centrally located to all major visitor attractions and sports venues. The Overland Park, Kansas hotel is one of the closest lodging facilities to the Bass Pro Shop, Kansas Speedway and Legends Shopping at Village West. Country Club Plaza, Crown Center Plaza, Sandstone/Verizon Amphitheatre, Worlds of Fun and the Renaissance Festival of Kansas City are all within a 30 minute drive. The Overland Park Kansas hotel has 191 well appointed guestrooms including 50 elegant suites with microwaves, refrigerators and wet bars. Free wireless high-speed Internet in all guest rooms and meeting rooms. Inside the Overland Park Kansas hotel is the Green Mill Restaurant & Bar. Serving great American food and beverage, featuring award-winning pizza and wings. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Relax, it's Holiday Inn and as always, Kids Stay and Eat Free! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, IHG, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Overland Park West
Holiday Inn Overland Park
Overland Park Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park West Kansas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing