We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park West
Ranked #1 of 37 Hotels in Overland Park
Atlanta
Level Contributor
243 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“So-So”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

OK if the price is right and this area suites your needs. Otherwise go elsewhere!
It is old and it shows, heater in room was the worst, old style turn it on till you woke up hot and sweaty then turn it off till you woke up cold. The privacy curtain didn't close all the way (left about an inch open allowing light in. Patches in the carpet. Definite smell of cigarette in the hall way.
The on site restaurant was decent.
Walls are paper thin, the idiot in the next rm. felt it necessary to blast his radio alarm at full volume at 6:30am, 3 out of 4 days that i was there.
All of the staff that i encountered were pleasant, but Allan (was great) at the front desk was extremely helpful and friendly he is perhaps their best asset!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveling_frank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-36, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park West, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Dear traveling_frank ,

Thank you for taking the time to express your concerns as well as the kind comments regarding the service you received. First and foremost, please accept our apologies for the issues you experienced. There are no excuses to be made although I can assure you they are not common.

The hotel has just completed half of a complete renovation and the remainder will be finished in April or May. Although we missed this opportunity to impress you, I would like to invite you back should you return to the area. Given the opportunity to earn your business again I am positive we can change your opinion.

Please email me the room number from your stay so that we can look into the issues stated. Unfortunately, Tripadvisor does not publish or provide a hotel with any details in this matter.

Sincerely,
A Jenner
ajenner@kinseth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    139
    51
    23
    19
See reviews for
116
42
20
224
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

After checking in my party of four walk through the lobby. We are called over to the front desk where we are offered an upgrade for our two-night booking. When we reveal the occasion is for a birthday we were upgraded to a suite - which worked great for all of the stuff four girls bring. A big thanks to Stacy who checked us in. When I checked out the lady at the front desk (didn't get her name) even mentioned the birthday. It wasn't super high class but appreciated the free upgrade for the occasion. I would be willing to stay at this hotel again if the reason to arose.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BizTeachWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-36, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park West, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Dear BizTeachWilson,

Thank you for the positive feedback regarding your recent stay. It's great to learn that the staff recognized your special day as well as extending the upgrade.

We look forward to the next opportunity to impress you and earn your business once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

This hotel has a great location right off I 35 in Overland Park, KS. About 15 minutes from downtown, close to Oak Park Mall and bars and restaurants. Indoor/outdoor pool area is very nice. The room had somewhat dated furniture and amenities but the bed was very comfortable. One thing I found lacking which is nice for business and pleasure traveller's alike is a free breakfast which seems common in most hotels these days they did not offer at this location. But there was a bar and grill attached to the hotel.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank itd86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-36, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park West, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Thank you for your complimentary review. Your business and patronage are very much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

Alan at the front desk was an extremely nice an helpful guy! He was able to upgrade me to a newly renovated suite and he could not have been a happier and more amiable person! The suite was very nice and I had no complaints at all. Great hotel!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-36, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park West, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Dear John D,
Thank you for your flattering review of the hotel and staff! We are always pleased to hear that we hit the mark for excellent customer service as well as a clean & comfortable stay.
Your business and patronage are very much appreciated we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bentonville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

We named our own price and received a great deal. The lobby was nicely redone. The front desk staff upon arrival was friendly. We did ask for a newly renovated room as we had read some poor reviews about outdated rooms. While the room was remodeled, cuts were made and the room quailty suffered...Our room smelled musty, the window unit HVAC system was noisy, the tile grout in the bathroom was was terrible, the tub did not drain, and the mattress was not comfortable. The location was not conducive to shopping and eating in Overland Park. We purchased the two nights; however, left after one. Upon checking out, I told the clerk we were cutting our visit short. Despite Holiday Inn's posted pledge to make it right or refund, the front desk clerk was quick to say since it was a Priceline reservation, there was nothing she could do. This is not a place I will ever stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Razorbackgirl75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-36, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park West, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear Razorbackgirl75,
Our hotel does offer discounted rates at times through several of the 3rd party reservation websites. Priceline does offer significant savings to guests for reserving and paying them for their stay in advance. Refund policies vary with all businesses, although many prepaid reservations are non-refundable.
Your experience with us was unfortunate and I apologize that we were unable to send you away happy. If possible, I would like more information (room number, name, confirmation). . It would give us the opportunity to look into the items you discussed and address them if needed.
Please email or call me if you would like to discuss your stay further.

Sincerely,

Alan Jenner
Guest Service Manager
913-895-2791
ajenner@kinseth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
190 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

Lobby was done as well as some of the rooms, but others including ours was still the dated model. The staff was friendly and helpful. We appreciated the teabag to allow us to brew our morning cup. The room smelled a bit stale - not too serious and we didn't complain. Room and bedding were clean. Bath was small and dated, but I guess it will soon be upgraded. Furniture was fine, even though scheduled for updating. Our discounted rate gave us great value.

Room Tip: There are fewer suites in the front "tower," but those suites are larger than the suite wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TB_Rays_fan_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-36, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park West, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear TB_Rays_fan_NJ,

Thank you pointing out all the positives of your stay especially those relating to service and value.

The 1st phase of our renovation completed over half of the guest rooms, the fitness and business center, and all the public and meeting space. The remaining rooms will be completed in the coming year.

We look forward to another opportunity of earning your business and making your next stay with us even more pleasant.

Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City
Level Contributor
99 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

My graduating class from high school celebrated our 65th birthday party at this hotel. We had so much fun that it has taken me almost 6 weeks to write about my experience. We planned a "plated" dinner and it was deliciously prepared (no plastic chicken or mystery meat here). My thanks to the chef, the Chicken Supreme was elegant. The servers were available to fill water and tea glasses, remove dishes and ensure that everything was to our satisfaction. After dinner, we hosted a party for our invited guests, where we served hors d'oeuvres and birthday cake. The hors d'oeuvres were excellent and our guests loved them. We also reserved a suite of rooms for class members who didn't want to drive home after the party or were from out of town. Everyone was satisfied with their rooms. The hotel is undergoing renovations and looks great. Special thanks to the hotel management and Darryl, the banquet manager for making our special evening wonderful.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank easterbunnykc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-36, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park West, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear guest,
Your group was also Fabulous! Thank you for taking the time to complete the review and of course your business. The entire staff will be happy to hear that they had a part in making everyone's night so special. We hope to see you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Overland Park hotels
4.1 mi away
Sheraton Overland Park Hotel at the Convention Center
4.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Overland Park
Hilton Garden Inn Overland Park
#4 of 37 in Overland Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
3.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Kansas City/Overland Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Kansas City/Overland Park
4.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Overland Park/Convention Center
3.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Kansas City-Overland Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park West

Property: Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park West
Address: 8787 Reeder St, Overland Park, KS 66214-1921
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kansas > Overland Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Overland Park
#11 Business Hotel in Overland Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park West 3*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Overland Park, Kansas, you are always welcome at the Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Overland Park West. Excellent location for an Overland Park, Kansas hotel at 87th and Interstate 35. Close to Pine Ridge Business Park and Oak Park MallThe Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Overland Park West is centrally located to all major visitor attractions and sports venues. The Overland Park, Kansas hotel is one of the closest lodging facilities to the Bass Pro Shop, Kansas Speedway and Legends Shopping at Village West. Country Club Plaza, Crown Center Plaza, Sandstone/Verizon Amphitheatre, Worlds of Fun and the Renaissance Festival of Kansas City are all within a 30 minute drive. The Overland Park Kansas hotel has 191 well appointed guestrooms including 50 elegant suites with microwaves, refrigerators and wet bars. Free wireless high-speed Internet in all guest rooms and meeting rooms. Inside the Overland Park Kansas hotel is the Green Mill Restaurant & Bar. Serving great American food and beverage, featuring award-winning pizza and wings. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Relax, it's Holiday Inn and as always, Kids Stay and Eat Free! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, IHG, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Overland Park West
Holiday Inn Overland Park
Overland Park Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park West Kansas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing