We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nightmare experiene” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Econo Lodge Inn & Suites I-35 at Shawnee Mission

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites I-35 at Shawnee Mission
Ranked #31 of 37 Hotels in Overland Park
Euless, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“nightmare experiene”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

First room was smelly, furnishings old and rif raf hanging out nearby; I went back to the office for another room and encountered the same thing but now no fridge or microwave. With only 2 vehicles in the parking lot raised a red flag but I lost interest after the second room. Went back and asked for a refund, two ladies at the front desk were rude and said I would have to contact expedia because they did not get paid. I asked for. Receipt since I did not have access to a computer or printer, they said they didn't have one for me to get it from my email. Needless to say after a couple calls to hotel.com and speaking with a manager who said she could only tell me her name was Re..and her calling the hotel she finally agreed to give my money back. Do NOT stay at this place, its stinks and the rooms look like a prostitutes hangout!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lauranpritchard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    19
    19
    11
    20
See reviews for
26
19
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

Turned out to be a decent hotel. I had bad experience at another hotel and booked room through Expedia the same day with no reservation. Staff was friendly and it was a pleasant stay. Hotel is older, but clean and no issues during our stay. Close to restaurants, gas station, and shopping. Right off of interstate so easy to find and get around the city.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Regina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

The room I was given was small. The pictures show a queen bed and chair with an ottoman. There would have been no room if there was a chair/ottoman. The is the first hotel/motel where electricity was a surcharge item--one would think utilities would come standard with the room but not at this place. The cleaning staff does not speak English which was really inconvenient. They come in the morning and take the towels but don't return to clean the room until about 3pm. The owner stands at the breakfast area and just stares--really, really creepy. The first 2 days of my stay the pastries were old and stale looking. The third day they looked like they were fresh but they still tasted dry. The juice is watered down-more like orange flavored water. They charge for a safe in the room and you have to take the time to go to the office, speak to someone with marginal English and lip rings and get it removed. When I was checking out the clerk was flirty with the guy in front of me and gave him "special" room rate which for a king larger room and it $5+ less that I paid for a small queen. I find it rude to give special deals to some people. Go to the website to book and everyone should pay the same. If you want to give discounted rates it should be clearly spelled out on the website.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank OKCupcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowling Green, Missouri
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

I was very apprehensive about staying here with my daughter's softball team due to past reviews, so I was pleased and relieved with the fact the room was clean and us girls felt safe in the area. Several of us who traveled together (included me) had trouble with the door locks and had to have the keys re-swiped to work. Even then, our door required you to give it a good push with your shoulder in order to open. The breakfast left a lot of be desired. Stale cereal and an OJ machine that didn't work. Oddly enough there was a sign at the desk requesting guests to review the motel on trip advisor. Of course, for the price, I wasn't expecting resort-like conditions, but a little maintenance work on the doors and a little effort with the breakfast fare would score you better reviews.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZouGal37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

Good price, the facility was clean, the staff efficient and friendly.
On our recent trip across the country we had stayed in more expensive places than this hotel, but some of those expensive places were not as nice and clean as this Econo Lodge location.

The surrounding area was nice, quiet and easy to access.
The continental breakfast was basic, but sufficient.

We were thoroughly pleased with our stay here.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eldon, Missouri, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013

Clean rooms and friendly staff. Small breakfast area with limited selection. Large King rooms. Newly painted rooms with comfortable beds. Nothing else to write to fill up the 200 character minimum review.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 65026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eureka, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

Had to walk through snow that was pushed up to the sidewalks to get to the room even though all parking lots were clear. Bedding was crusty with sex stains. Bathtub floor was warped leaving no flat place to stand and no shower mat to stand on. Informed attendant that orange juice was out and she said no it isn't without even trying it out. They were out of most breakfast items and we had to go elsewhere to get food. When I informed the manager of the lack of cleanliness and safety issues, he told me if I did not like it to call the Better Business Bureau.

We ended up spending the rest of our stay at the Comfort Inn down the street on Frontage Rd. They were clean, polite, and provided a pleasant stay. Do not judge all Choice Hotels by this poor excuse of a business.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wer4jc2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Overland Park
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn Merriam
Quality Inn Merriam
#3 of 5 in Merriam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
1.0 mi away
Super 8 Merriam Shawnee
1.8 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Kansas City Mission
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Drury Inn Kansas City Shawnee Mission
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Merriam
2.8 mi away
Extended Stay America - Kansas City - Lenexa - 87th St.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Inn & Suites I-35 at Shawnee Mission? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Inn & Suites I-35 at Shawnee Mission

Property: Econo Lodge Inn & Suites I-35 at Shawnee Mission
Address: 7508 Shawnee Mission Pkwy, I-35 East / Shawnee Mission, Overland Park, KS 66202-3058
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kansas > Overland Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 37 Hotels in Overland Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Inn & Suites I-35 at Shawnee Mission 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Choice Hotels and Booking.com so you can book your Econo Lodge Inn & Suites I-35 at Shawnee Mission reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Overland Park
Overland Park Howard Johnson
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites I-35 At Shawnee Mission Overland Park, Kansas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing