We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't plan on sleeping”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites I-35 at Shawnee Mission
Ranked #30 of 37 Hotels in Overland Park
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Horrible experience! Thinnest walls of any motel we have ever stayed at. I could hear my neighbors breathing. I kid you not. The doors slam every time someone enters or leaves and they stick as someone said. The toilets flush like a cruise ship. So incredibly loud. I could hear anyone on my side of the motel flushing. You can hear everything from anyone within 200 ft of your door.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kristen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

We spent two nights, just over $200 and a door that gives you a bruised shoulder to open (new paint) in a hotel room the size of a bedroom and that includes the bathroom. I reserved this room after reading several reviews months ago, but I must have read reviews on a website that operates only in opposites (in other words, I can't remember). Yelp.com gives the truth. I would have never paid for something like this. Our light above the sick is a fluorescent and is flickering on and off and they never came and made the bed or replaced our towels. There were there pillows on the bed and when we went to ask for three more, they have us two. No flat screen tv either. I'm sorry, 21st century and we paid $200 to stay here...not worth it. Surrounding area has many amenities and a 24 hour Steak 'n Shake is 100 feet away. You can only get to your room by outside too.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ktek515619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

The reviews and the pictures I saw seem to have lied. It's not horrible, but it's tinier than it looked online and only outside access to your rooms. The door wouldn't even unlock because new paint was applied. The traffic around the area is busy and makes it hard to get in and out of the place. Not very happy.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Ktek515619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Spent the night in Kansas City - the motel was clean, the room quite spacious, and the bed excellent. Lots of restaurants in the area, so finding supper was no problem. The front desk was efficient, and check-out was smooth. Breakfast was a bit skimpy, but adequate.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wittj155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

First room was smelly, furnishings old and rif raf hanging out nearby; I went back to the office for another room and encountered the same thing but now no fridge or microwave. With only 2 vehicles in the parking lot raised a red flag but I lost interest after the second room. Went back and asked for a refund, two ladies at the front desk were rude and said I would have to contact expedia because they did not get paid. I asked for. Receipt since I did not have access to a computer or printer, they said they didn't have one for me to get it from my email. Needless to say after a couple calls to hotel.com and speaking with a manager who said she could only tell me her name was Re..and her calling the hotel she finally agreed to give my money back. Do NOT stay at this place, its stinks and the rooms look like a prostitutes hangout!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lauranpritchard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Turned out to be a decent hotel. I had bad experience at another hotel and booked room through Expedia the same day with no reservation. Staff was friendly and it was a pleasant stay. Hotel is older, but clean and no issues during our stay. Close to restaurants, gas station, and shopping. Right off of interstate so easy to find and get around the city.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Regina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

The room I was given was small. The pictures show a queen bed and chair with an ottoman. There would have been no room if there was a chair/ottoman. The is the first hotel/motel where electricity was a surcharge item--one would think utilities would come standard with the room but not at this place. The cleaning staff does not speak English which was really inconvenient. They come in the morning and take the towels but don't return to clean the room until about 3pm. The owner stands at the breakfast area and just stares--really, really creepy. The first 2 days of my stay the pastries were old and stale looking. The third day they looked like they were fresh but they still tasted dry. The juice is watered down-more like orange flavored water. They charge for a safe in the room and you have to take the time to go to the office, speak to someone with marginal English and lip rings and get it removed. When I was checking out the clerk was flirty with the guy in front of me and gave him "special" room rate which for a king larger room and it $5+ less that I paid for a small queen. I find it rude to give special deals to some people. Go to the website to book and everyone should pay the same. If you want to give discounted rates it should be clearly spelled out on the website.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank OKCupcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Overland Park
5.7 mi away
Days Inn Overland Park
Days Inn Overland Park
#28 of 37 in Overland Park
388 reviews
1.7 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Kansas City Mission
5.7 mi away
Super 8 Overland Park KC Area Near Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Super 8 Merriam Shawnee
5.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Overland Park
6.6 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Overland Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Inn & Suites I-35 at Shawnee Mission? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Inn & Suites I-35 at Shawnee Mission

Address: 7508 Shawnee Mission Pkwy, I-35 East / Shawnee Mission, Overland Park, KS 66202-3058
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kansas > Overland Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 37 Hotels in Overland Park
Price Range: £45 - £53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Inn & Suites I-35 at Shawnee Mission 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Econo Lodge Inn & Suites I-35 at Shawnee Mission reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Overland Park
Overland Park Howard Johnson
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites I-35 At Shawnee Mission Overland Park, Kansas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing