We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing Fancy but Met Our Needs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites I-35 at Shawnee Mission
Ranked #31 of 37 Hotels in Overland Park
Garden City, Kansas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nothing Fancy but Met Our Needs”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

This Econolodge was close by to my son's house & that's the reason I chose it. Fast food place right next door, car wash across the street & convenience store next to that. I used my AARP card & got a very reasonable rate. Check in was fast & easy, I did book online. My other son & I shared a standard double room with mini fridge & microwave. Nice long granite countertop in the bathroom vanity area. Newer tv & despite being on a busy street, it was quiet. The room was very clean, maybe a little outdated in décor but we didn't spend much time in the room, it was basically for sleeping and taking showers.
For a good value & simple clean room, I would recommend this hotel. It also had a continental breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KJS1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    19
    19
    11
    21
See reviews for
27
19
11
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

Visit was horrible, no respect from the staff. Was put in a room way in the back, when no one was in the whole hotel. Had to walk through 1 ft of snow no lie. On top of that the key didn't work. Snow storm -2 degrees and this guy is playing games. I can go on & on but I'm tired of talking. Take my advice & run from this place

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Cynt E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amarillo, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

A decent hotel, but I did expect better. With the exception of the walls between rooms being TOO THIN, I had an enjoyable stay at this hotel. The Tv in the next room seemed like it was in MY room, because the wall is so damn thin. Fortunately, the guest in the neighboring room went to sleep early as I did, so I managed to some sleep. The restuarant next door is AWESOME! Too far off the highway though. It's located in a residental neighborhood.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank F B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Topeka, Kansas, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

Horrible experience! Thinnest walls of any motel we have ever stayed at. I could hear my neighbors breathing. I kid you not. The doors slam every time someone enters or leaves and they stick as someone said. The toilets flush like a cruise ship. So incredibly loud. I could hear anyone on my side of the motel flushing. You can hear everything from anyone within 200 ft of your door.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

We spent two nights, just over $200 and a door that gives you a bruised shoulder to open (new paint) in a hotel room the size of a bedroom and that includes the bathroom. I reserved this room after reading several reviews months ago, but I must have read reviews on a website that operates only in opposites (in other words, I can't remember). Yelp.com gives the truth. I would have never paid for something like this. Our light above the sick is a fluorescent and is flickering on and off and they never came and made the bed or replaced our towels. There were there pillows on the bed and when we went to ask for three more, they have us two. No flat screen tv either. I'm sorry, 21st century and we paid $200 to stay here...not worth it. Surrounding area has many amenities and a 24 hour Steak 'n Shake is 100 feet away. You can only get to your room by outside too.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ktek515619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

The reviews and the pictures I saw seem to have lied. It's not horrible, but it's tinier than it looked online and only outside access to your rooms. The door wouldn't even unlock because new paint was applied. The traffic around the area is busy and makes it hard to get in and out of the place. Not very happy.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ktek515619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littlestown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

Spent the night in Kansas City - the motel was clean, the room quite spacious, and the bed excellent. Lots of restaurants in the area, so finding supper was no problem. The front desk was efficient, and check-out was smooth. Breakfast was a bit skimpy, but adequate.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wittj155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Overland Park
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn Merriam
Quality Inn Merriam
#3 of 5 in Merriam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
1.0 mi away
Super 8 Merriam Shawnee
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Merriam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Drury Inn Kansas City Shawnee Mission
1.7 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Kansas City Mission
5.7 mi away
Days Inn Overland Park
Days Inn Overland Park
#27 of 37 in Overland Park
3.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Inn & Suites I-35 at Shawnee Mission? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Inn & Suites I-35 at Shawnee Mission

Property: Econo Lodge Inn & Suites I-35 at Shawnee Mission
Address: 7508 Shawnee Mission Pkwy, I-35 East / Shawnee Mission, Overland Park, KS 66202-3058
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kansas > Overland Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 37 Hotels in Overland Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Inn & Suites I-35 at Shawnee Mission 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge Inn & Suites I-35 at Shawnee Mission reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Overland Park
Overland Park Howard Johnson
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites I-35 At Shawnee Mission Overland Park, Kansas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing