We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive but the best steak in town”
Review of J. Alexander's

J. Alexander's
Reserve with OpenTable
J. Alexander's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 484 Restaurants in Overland Park
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Overland Park, Kansas
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Expensive but the best steak in town”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

This restaurant had been the place to go to whenever we want a good steak. It is expensive but the prime rib had always come out perfect for me, juicy and tender. Their salad was also good. They have this corn bread crouton which is better than the regular one.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank emilehong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    239
    113
    20
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Platte City, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Always Excellent!!!”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

You can't go wrong with J. Alexander's lunch or dinner. Excellent service and food. Quality worth waiting and paying for.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mpulsive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
321 reviews
276 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
“Always a great experience”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We come here once a month, it is always a really nice experience and the staff is always great. Steak is grilled perfect and good drinks. Best place in that area. Cali is awesome

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ML-papa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee's Summit, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very nice restaurant”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

The food and service are always very good to excellent. The menu is broad with steaks, salads, sandwiches and other different items. They always have something on the menu which is very different, such as the macaroni and cheese. The wine menu is ok. The atmosphere is always excellent.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank 83agswin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great by any standard”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I visit Overland Park once a year for several days at a time but just discovered this restaurant a couple of years ago. I sure wish I had tried it long before that. It's a great place to get together with family and friends and enjoy great food, service and wine. I have only tried the steak although there are some other dishes I would like to sample, but the meat is just too good. On every visit we have thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and have never been rushed. I wish they took reservations but we tend to go early anyway so that has not been a problem. We look forward to returning there next year.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ted S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed J. Alexander's also viewed

 

Been to J. Alexander's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing