We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fairly nice hotel in nice location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
TownePlace Suites Kansas City Overland Park
Ranked #22 of 37 Hotels in Overland Park
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fairly nice hotel in nice location”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed for five nights in the two bedroom suite. The room was spacious and clean. There was a microwave, full size fridge, and stove top which was nice. Although we did not have an oven like some of the other rooms in our group. The pool area was small but clean. The breakfast was just ok, it never changed for our entire stay. There were two waffle makers, assorted bagels and bread, packaged muffins, cereal, and hard boiled eggs. I would have liked some scrambled eggs, and some kind of bacon or sausage. I think the best part of the hotel is the location. Several restaurants, grocery store, ice cream, all within walking distance just across the street. Shopping close also.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frost79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaime H, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Kansas City Overland Park, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for making TownePlace Suites your place of stay. We appreciate the fed back on the breakfast. I am happy to look into adding more hot items to our selection for our valued guest. We do have 1 Two Bedroom that does not have the oven due to handi- cap restrictions. I am glad you enjoyed the pool area and hope you did some nice relaxtion.

We look forward to seeing you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    40
    13
    8
    2
See reviews for
40
16
7
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

A Nice hotel with friendly staff next to Deer Creek GC. Fairly quite area of an ever-expanding Overland Park. Stayed here for two nights with wife in a king room. Comfortable bed and clean rooms. Surprisingly well appointed mini-kitchen with an oven, stove, dishwasher, microwave, refrigerator, and plenty of pots and pans. Did not use most of it, but nice to have available.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaime H, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Kansas City Overland Park, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Jason,

Thank you for making TownePlace Suites your choice away from home. I love that we sit on a golf course. It adds an entertainment factor and nice view. We do have a lot to offer in our kitchens in each suite. Hopefully on your next visit with us you can stay longer and take advantage. Have wonderful weekend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnsville, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This property is long overdue for an overhaul, at least judging by the room I was given.

The hotel is strangely located, with the back of the hotel facing the road and the front nestled in a poorly lit parking lot. There's no check in area, so you may have to drag your bags across the lot if you arrive late.

They have a small market of junk food with very limited options. I did not try the breakfast.

The room was pretty ugly. The designer had elected to paint each of three walls different colors. A beige, a mustard color which was repeated in the tiny bathroom, and a taupe color. I'm not sure why anyone thought that three ugly wall colors would enhance the room.

The hotel doesn't use king sized beds, so you're going to have to deal with a queen. The furniture in the room was old and ill fitting. Rather than a desk, they had a dining table. So there was no office chair to sit in. Two of the dining chairs would be unusable by adults without dragging the table out from the wall. Even then, a squeeze.

In the corner there were two armchairs that were literally so close together that if both were occupied by adults, they would have to rest their legs on one another.

Someone had made the decision to mount a full length mirror opposite the toilet just three feet away. So should you wish to sit on the toilet, you can watch yourself from head to toe as you do so. Puzzled by the need for that. Plain weird in fact. Never in my life have I thought, "I wish I had a mirror so I could watch myself use the toilet."

The kitchen had a decent sized refrigerator, and tiny cooking facilities. Really the very minimum you could provide and still call it a functional kitchen. Nowhere near say a Residence Inn in terms of amenities.

The Internet was reasonable, the bed was okay but not great. Provided toiletries were the bare minimum required in a Marriott property; no effort to go the extra mile.

All in all there's just nothing stand out about this property. I've seen hundreds that are far more appealing. There are plenty of choices within 10 miles of this property, so I really don't get why anyone would specifically pick this over any of the other hotels.

Room Tip: I'm not sure any of the rooms are any better than the one I had. One side of the hotel is facin...
See more room tips
Green Features: I didn't see any specific green practices. The usual place towels on the floor if you want them washed. Nothing specific or noteworthy.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZCT808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaime H, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Kansas City Overland Park, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Valued TownePlace Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the TownePlace Suites Kansas City Overland Park. We are currently going through our Soft Good Renovation this summer. The color choices are based on Marriott requirements and they take some getting used too. The hotel set up is due to the view of the golf course and entrance. Sometimes it's not the easiest to locate. Being a smaller hotel we do not offer valet service but our front desk staff is happy to assist with guest needs. We are based off of extended stay business. I would love king size beds as well but we just dont have the space in the guest rooms to accomodate.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced. We take great pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your—or our own—expectations. Our goal is to address your concerns so that we can ensure you have an exceptional experience on your next visit.

You’re a valued customer; everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience. We would like to regain your trust and hope to serve you again in the future after our renovation is complete. If I may be of assistance, please don’t hesitate to contact us.

Come back and see us this fall once the renovation is 100% complete and see the before and after and experience the brand new TownePlace Suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

On the positive side: great prices, great location (for us), pet friendly, and very helpful Saturday night clerk. On the negative side: side entry door to building propped open entire time as the entry door system did not work at all during our 5 day stay (does not give the residents any sense of security), camper trailer took up many parking spots forcing other residents to park in the back (I thought the purpose of having a camper was to avoid staying at places like this) TV and entire electrical outlets on desk in room did not work upon check-in and not fixed until following day, had to remind maid service to do our room on two occasions, did not enjoy continuous flashing light from smoke detector strategically placed right over bed (not great for light sleepers) (I thought hotels could use non-flashing smoke detectors and perhaps locate by door and not over bed), hallways noisy after 11 PM (appearantly motel of choice for cadets and dates after use of next door golf club), most nighttime clerks have no idea what is going on in hallways and outdoors (why not install cameras that clerks could view, but clerks never at front desk anyways because they were usually in the back room and always had to ring for any service).

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harvey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaime H, Manager at TownePlace Suites Kansas City Overland Park, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Harvey,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the TownePlace Suites Kansas City Overland Park.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced. We take great pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your—or our own—expectations. Our goal is to address your concerns so that we can ensure you have an exceptional experience on your next visit.

You’re a valued customer; everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience. We would like to regain your trust and hope to serve you again in the future after our renovation is complete. If I may be of assistance, please don’t hesitate to contact us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

When traveling with family to a beautiful, friendly community like Overland Park, Kansas, one has certain expectations that, naturally, surpasses the ordinary requirements for accmodation. And you know what? The TownPlace Suites in OP meets our great expectations. I recount the following singular features that we can recommend to fellow sojouners:

• Clean and new surroundings
• Those great Marriott beds
• Perfect location
• Excellent customer service

There is no greater review of a hotel than to say: we shall return.

We shall return to the TownePlace Suites in Overland Park.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Dr. Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffersonville, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Great everything! My wife and I loved the whole experience for 5 nights. Hotel was in a fantastic up and coming neighborhood-Overland Park-next to a beautiful golf course. Very close to everything! All the employees were super-very friendly-one of few hotels with outside heated pool/jacuzzi. We have stayed at a lot of Marriott owned places and this was far and away the best all around.

Room Tip: Get room away from elevator-little noisy at times with people!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Stayed here for several nights May 12-15, 2014. Previous guest, & was another pleasant experience. The hotel is currently having renovations, but that did NOT affect my stay. Quiet rooms. Nice to have the fridge & kitchen. Will definitely stay here again.

It would be nice if the hotel had a few "feather free" rooms. Those with feather allergies would appreciate it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoonerFan#1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Overland Park hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Overland Park
4.0 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Overland Park
2.9 mi away
Sheraton Overland Park Hotel at the Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Kansas City/Overland Park
1.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Kansas City Overland Park
3.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Kansas City-Overland Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownePlace Suites Kansas City Overland Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Kansas City Overland Park

Property: TownePlace Suites Kansas City Overland Park
Address: 7020 W 133rd St, Overland Park, KS 66209-3932
Region: United States > Kansas > Overland Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Overland Park
#8 Romantic Hotel in Overland Park
#13 Business Hotel in Overland Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites Kansas City Overland Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TownePlace Suites guests deserve more than a place to stay when they're away from home. They derserve a place to live. Nestled next to the Deer Creek Golf Course, we offer an intimate setting for weddings or corporate stays. We are just minutes away from the New Overland Park Soccer Complex, SouthCreek Business Park, Sprint Campus, Prairie Fire Development, and St. Luke's South Hospital. Located at 133rd and Metcalf in Overland Park, TownePlace Suites has great highway access allowing you to get to any part of the city within 30 minutes. Come and enjoy area attractions such as Arrowhead Stadium, Kaufman Stadium, Livestrong Park, NASCAR at the Kansas Speedway, Oceans of Fun or Worlds of Fun. Take time to enjoy all the culture that downtown Kansas City has to offer! From shows at the Sprint Center to Art and Sculpture at the Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art, Kansas City will leave you wanting more! Come stay with us and let us help you keep your routine while you settle into the neighborhood. Welcome to Real Living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your TownePlace Suites Kansas City Overland Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites Overland Park Hotel Overland Park
TownePlace Suites Kansas City Overland Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing