We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is no castle”
Review of Economy Inn

Economy Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Economy Inn
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Pratt
Reviewed 1 November 2013

This picture is deceiving. It's a 1960's style motel located right off of Highway 54 with several restaurants located close by. Skip Playa Azul next door unless you like microwaved Mexican food. Lots of traffic going by so ask for a room away from the street.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
1  Thank KansasMover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (14)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 14 of 14 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2013

No amenities, not even phone or cups, but the bed was the most comfortable I've had on this trip so far. And they have internet. Excellent for the price, no complaints at all. Oh yeah, I don't know why that castle-looking photo is on here. It's actually just an old-fashioned 1-floor motel around a parking lot.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank G T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

The room was clean and a decent size. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom although small was clean. . We had requested non smoking but I think people had been smoking at some stage in the room because they had used some really strong air freshener to mask the smell. They had advertised continental breakfast but it was so bad it was laughable. The coffee was so weak you could see the bottom of the cup and it was cold. The orange juice was make up cordial and there were a couple of tiny donut things, and one cereal which looked iinedible. Next to the motel is a very good Mexican restaurant and down the road about 100 yards is a good supermarket. We have been travelling for 2 weeks through the USA and we have stayed at places as good but more economical.

Room Tip: Pick a room at the back as the highway noise could be a factor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MST52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

I stayed here as a walk-in without a reservation, in July 2013. The motel's exterior suggests (falsely) that the motel is a disaster: outdoor swimming pool sealed off with concrete, deteriorating asphalt in the parking lot, stucco fallen off the walls. But once inside (mine was room #16), the room was surprisingly clean and well maintained. Everything in the room worked fine: air conditioning, hot and cold water, all lights, mirrors were intact, bed/sheets clean, no signs of insects or rodents. The room had more electrical outlets than I have ever seen: eight duplex outlets, counting the outlets in the bathroom. Flat screen TV had many channels and a sharp clear image. There was no noticeable traffic noise heard in the room. The continental breakfast was minimal.
PRATT KANSAS: TRAVELERS BEWARE! Its a town of approximately 20,000 population, with about a dozen motels, most of them being local mom-and-pop local establishments. Its a picturesque town, with a well developed downtown area with movie theater, and tree-lined streets; Pratt hosts the annual Miss Kansas pageant. I traveled alone this time, so I searched for a low cost place to stay. In addition to the Economy Inn where I stayed, I checked at five other motels. All five quoted an identical price: $55.00 for a single! When I whined about the uniformity of this price, one desk clerk smiled confidently and said, "You won't find a lower price in this town!" But I did; $40. plus tax at the Economy Inn. Apparently, Pratt is a town in which the motels have established a price-fixing cartel with the $55.00 rate being quoted everywhere (Comfort Inn and Suites, which I checked at the Choice Hotels website, was even higher.) In any future trips, I will skip Pratt entirely and will search for accommodations at Liberal (150 miles to the west), or at Wichita, 80 miles to the east. Liberal and Wichita are large enough, with many motels, for genuine competition to thrive; This is not the case at Pratt.

Room Tip: I stayed in room #16. An advantage of this type of mom-and-pop motel is that it is possible to park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2012

Have been there a several times with my gf and although it is dated the rooms are clean and tidy. The A/C units are quiet and work well. The folks who own it are foriegn but they are nice. It isnt the Comfort Suites but at 50 bucks for a quiet room it was worth it.

Room Tip: Dont expect high dollar amenites..just the basics.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kscavalrynut1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Frédéric M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pratt hotels
2.3 mi away
Super 8 Pratt
Super 8 Pratt
#5 of 9 in Pratt
226 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Pratt
Hampton Inn Pratt
#2 of 9 in Pratt
116 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Pratt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#3 of 9 in Pratt
126 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Pratt
2.3 mi away
Days Inn Pratt
Days Inn Pratt
#7 of 9 in Pratt
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Economy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Economy Inn

Address: 1401 W US Highway 54, Pratt, KS 67124-9133
Region: United States > Kansas > Pratt
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Pratt
Price Range: £41 - £42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Economy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing