We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of American Inn Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
American Inn Motel
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Pratt
Scotia, New York
Level Contributor
104 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2008

Can't remember much about this motel, so have to rely upon my notes. I know that my room had a queen size bed, a refrigerator, microwave, and a full coffee pot (not just a one-cupper). I think this is the only EconoLodge I've stayed in, and it was a good experience. It had no drawbacks and was a lot for the money.

  • Liked — value
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank bltzflk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    3
    4
    5
    7
See reviews for
6
2
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
fort worth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2008

i saw some rooms are under renovation. your car is 4 feet from your door unless the place is booked. room was clean.
good wirless internet.
the lower section next to sonic has a 'large' room area good for 20-30 people to gather for the day with pull down beds. not fancy but did the trick.

  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank cqpate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2008

Stayed here on business. It is your typical old style motel. The room was clean however the shower could stand to have the caulking replaced as there was mold growing on some of it. The electrical outlet I was using to power my laptop was so old and worn that the plug would just fall out. The furniture is old and most in fairly goood condition with the exception of the table and chairs. The table and chairs were rickety and uncomfortable. It still has old in the wall heat and air unit that I could see daylight outside through. The room has been freshly painted as it still has the strong smell of paint. The painter was not very careful as there was paint on the carpet and the power cord to the heat and air unit. Staff was friendly. You need a user name and password to access the wireless internet and they failed to give it to me at check in but I just called and they gave it to me.

  • Stayed February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank murdawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overgaard, Arizona
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2007

Room was stark white with contrasting maroon carpeting, draperies and a variegated maroon bedspread. Noise was a big factor with semi-trucks zooming past 24/7 along Highway 54. Room configuration could be improved. In a long, narrow hallway-size alcove at the back of the main room were the tub, shower, commode, lavatory, microwave, refrigerator, coffeemaker and clothes rod. The room required more housekeeping/maintenance attention. There was some mold growing along the grouting at the top of the tub, and there were 8 "unpatched" holes in the ceiling. A good continental breakfast was served.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank SilverPearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2006

Stayed one night (Oct 30, 2006) on my way to Phoenix AZ. The check in went great, the room was clean and ready when I arrived. The rooms are some what dated and the furniture could use some updating. the room was clean and comforable for my purposes it filled the bill. I would recommend it for a stop over when traveling.

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — old tables & chairs in room
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WAIDMANNSLUST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2005

This is the epitome of low budget traveling. The room appeared to have been renovated in the 80s but never since; i.e. old carpet, decorations, see-through linens, 50 year-old alarm clock. The heater made a clanking sound every time it came on and turned off; making it impossible for a light sleeper to snooze longer than 20 minutes. The employees at the front desk were nice but didn't go out of the way to help during my stay.

  • Stayed November 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hartwoman3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pratt hotels

Tallapoosa, Ga
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2005

While traveling on business in Kansas, we booked 3 weeks at the Econo Lodge. Looking on-line, there are no major chains in this area, except the Super 8, and they were booked.

The rooms are small, but nice. Exterior entrances...the kind you can back your car up to. There is a fridge and microwave in the room (bathroom!) lol. They also have wireless internet in the room. The air works great, and the TV has great reception. The alarm clock is circa 1960, a big square box with an alarm (no snooze) and a radio with big knobs. Just like the old days!

The owners are a great Korean family,, very nice. Rooms are cleaned each day. All in all, a great deal for the 40 bucks a night. This, coming from a Diamond level member of Hilton. (shh...don't tell them!).

Seriously, after seeing the other low cost hotels in the surrounding towns, this is a great place to stay.One thing to keep in mind, though; cell coverage here is very spotty. Be sure and get a phone card as a backup.

There is a super Wal-Mart right down the street, and a subway and Sonic next door. They have an onsite laundry here, as well as an ice machine.

Helpful?
4 Thank GaHotelHobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pratt hotels
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Pratt
0.5 mi away
Super 8 Pratt
Super 8 Pratt
#5 of 9 in Pratt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Pratt
Hampton Inn Pratt
#2 of 9 in Pratt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Days Inn Pratt
Days Inn Pratt
#7 of 9 in Pratt
3.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#3 of 9 in Pratt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Pratt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to American Inn Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about American Inn Motel

Property: American Inn Motel
Address: 1336 East First Street, Pratt, KS 67124-2064 (Formerly Hillcrest Motel)
Region: United States > Kansas > Pratt
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Pratt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — American Inn Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 40 unit motel with outside entrances; you park in front of door. Have microwaves, refrigerators and coffee pots, flat screen LCD Televisions, Cox Digital cable, and free wifi. We are close to shopping, dining and pubs, parks and a fishing lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your American Inn Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Pratt
Pratt Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing