We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great golf course and great setting but expected more from the executive suite...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riverside Oaks Golf Resort
Reviewed 19 January 2014

My husband and I stayed in the executive suite for a birthday weekend away. The suite is very spacious, the bed was very comfortable and the rooms were tastefully decorated. Lovely to sit on the balcony after a game of golf and watch the sun set. On a sadder note the fridge was full of water as the icebox didn't work so therefore no ice cubes and obviously not checked before we arrived. The balcony was also dirty with stains with lots of dead leaves and twigs and didn't look as though it had been cleaned in weeks and finally while there were comfy robes to wear, the towels weren't of the best quality and were quite disappointing. Only a couple of negatives as you expect the best when you pay for the best they have to offer, but it definitely didn't spoil a wonderful weekend away.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Gai B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (43)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 43 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2014

The new lodge rooms are absolutely beautiful. We originally booked a deluxe room, but decided to change to a suite as they have a balcony and are much larger.

The suite is more like a small apartment. The bedroom is huge with a king sized bed, which is a little hard but still comfortable. A large ensuite is off the bedroom which has a large shower and bath. There is also a 2nd toilet and basin in the suite. Plenty of wardrobe and sleeping space in the bedroom. The lounge area is again large and has quality furnishings. The balcony is large with plenty of seating and excellent views. There is often kangaroos just outside.

The brasserie is pleasant. Basic menu, which is more on the side of a lunch menu but the food is good. The staff in the bar are wonderful. They are pleasant, friendly and nothing is too much trouble.

The only downside, was the housekeeping. On one day our room wasn't done at all. They only do the absolute minimum, which is make the bed and replace towels. Occasionally they replaced the coffee mugs etc with clean ones. Never once in 9 days were basins wiped, tables etc. The sheets weren't changed at all. The carpet was never vacuumed. Management need to deal with this as we noticed the tiled floors etc downstairs in the common area were getting very grubby. On one occasion it looked like housekeeping had abandoned the place, the store cupboard was left open, rooms downstairs were opened and lights on which we turned off.

All in all the place is perfect. If you are a golfer it would be heaven to stay there. Housekeeping is the only thing that let it down.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank jessiemax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Newly opened and comfortable accommodation in the beautiful surroundings of Riverside Oaks Golf Resort. This accommodation overlooks the driving range and the lovely golf course (which is 27 holes and shortly to be 36). Kangaroos abound which thrilled children!! The rooms have comfortable but slightly hard beds, air-con, tv and sofas/chairs/desks depending on which room/suite. Shower only in some but suite had bath and shower. Electric jug for tea-making and fridge. Bistro served enormous country-style cooked breakfast or delicious croissants. Their thin pizzas are just like the Italian proper version.
We had a special dinner in the restored old court house building which is beautiful and the food stunning. They also serve high tea during the day which we had instead of lunch. This makes a good venue to explore historic Hawkesbury areas such as Windsor and the oldest church in Australia at Ebenezer.

Room Tip: If you want a bath there are suites available otherwise the rooms are good and well-equipped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maturity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Stayed at the lodge accommodation. Was there for a wedding so accommodation was dorm style. Had no problem with this except the lodge was a mess. The common area carpet was putrid black (stains everywhere). The walls had not been repainted in 15 years. Such a shame for a place that is beautiful in setting. By the way, the cooked breakfast was very ordinary . Would not recommend the lodge accommodation. We paid $170 a night for a room with an ensuite bathroom (the bathroom was not even in the room but outside... Not much point to that)...

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Andymill71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017
Thank sakyutakuchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2015, travelled with friends
Thank ぴょんきちちゃん
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cattai
14.3 mi away
Grand Mercure The Hills Lodge
8.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hawkesbury Valley
11.1 mi away
Retreat at Wisemans
Retreat at Wisemans
#1 of 2 in Wisemans Ferry
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Ingenia Holidays Avina
Ingenia Holidays Avina
#1 of 1 in Vineyard
160 reviews
7.0 mi away
Windsor Terrace Motel
Windsor Terrace Motel
#2 of 3 in Windsor
93 reviews
8.7 mi away
Hawkesbury Race Club Motel
Hawkesbury Race Club Motel
#1 of 1 in Clarendon
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Oaks Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Oaks Golf Resort

Address: 74 O'Briens Road, Cattai, The Hills Shire, New South Wales 2756, Australia (Formerly Riverside Oaks Australia)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > The Hills Shire > Cattai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Cattai
Price Range: £88 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riverside Oaks Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riverside Oaks Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing