We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Glamping Hen Weekend!”
Review of Vale House Belvoir

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Belvoir
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Vale House Belvoir
Ranked #1 of 1 Belvoir B&B and Inns
Peterborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Glamping Hen Weekend!”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed here on the 16th-18th May and I am wasting no time leaving a review because we had such an amazing experience!

The tents are a great size with quirky furniture and the beds were so comfy with plenty of blankets to keep us warm. The outdoor seating area was perfect as the weather was beautiful, but there is a summer house if the weather isn’t so good.

The location in general is gorgeous. You can see Belvoir Castle up in the distance as you get closer to Vale House. We chose the Treasure Chase for a Saturday activity. It was such good fun and it gave us the opportunity to explore the surrounding villages.

Great value for money for what you receive. The 2 course meal we had at the Chequers Inn was lovely and they had an extensive drinks menu, including cocktails. The breakfast hampers we received in the mornings were great too. The best thing was there was no stress. We arrived and everything was set up and organised so all we had to do was relax and enjoy ourselves. Towels are provided as is the use of a fridge.

Overall, there is really nothing negative to say about the place and I couldn't recommend it highly enough. Everything ran so smoothly. The comment below confuses me as I don’t think Nigel and Lara could have been more welcoming! We really couldn’t have asked for a better weekend. Thank you!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jessstar123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    6
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
4
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We stayed here on a late booking a couple of weekends ago with our two children (8 & 6) - we have family in Grantham, but the house was full so we thought we'd stay nearby and this looked like a fun option.

The yurt/bell tent was lovely and comfortable - proper double bed for us and good quality camp/ Z beds for the children with decent mattresses. Location was lovely, right by the main entrance of Belvoir Castle - the field with the tents has fantastic views. The breakfast delivery to the tent flap was a great touch, and both the toilet and shower room were warm and spotlessly clean (they are part of the main house - not in a stand-alone block).

In short - faultless! And the kids loved it.

We'll very happily return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oriel100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stansted Mountfitchet, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We chose Vale House to celebrate my sister's hen do and it was in a beautiful location. 18 of us stayed in the large house which was well equipped with all we needed. The beds were lovely and comfy and all rooms were clean and luxurious. The lounge was very spacious and perfect for our large group, the highlight being the open fire which was very cosy. The two breakfasts that we had provided to us were delicious!
Contrary to recent reviews however the hospitality that we received was very poor. In trying to organise this weekend, the host was very unorganised and changed what she had agreed to several times. While we were there she was not welcoming to us and made us feel quite uncomfortable at times. We didn't feel it was appropriate for her to have her two very young children in tow when running a hen weekend.
Our party still enjoyed themselves as we are a close group of friends who stay away together quite frequently. Most importantly my sister had a fun and memorable hen do.
I hope for the sake of the hosts that this was a one off bad experience as it is the perfect venue and set up for a great hen weekend. Having paid in excess of £3,500, I wouldn't however recommend Vale House to a hen party unless the hospitality improved.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HelenEG1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vale_House_Belvoir, Owner at Vale House Belvoir, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Helen

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review for Vale House Belvoir. Your input, and the feedback from all of our guests is vitally important to us and, as is reflected in the other reviews we have received, we always strive for guest expectations to be met (or exceeded). I apologise that you do not feel that this happened during your stay with us for the occasion of your sister's hen do. We are pleased to hear that even though things didn't go as you had hoped, a good time was still had by all and that you enjoyed the rooms, the location and the breakfast.

Based on your comments, and those outlined in your email correspondence with us, we have implemented the following procedures to ensure that future travellers know that wonderful comfortable rooms, delicious breakfasts, remarkable hospitality, friendly service and flexibility are among our top priorities.

1. Confirmation that unless an earlier time is agreed in advance, we welcome our guests from 3pm and not before as this is when we can be assured that childcare arrangements are in place for my young family. Similarly, childcare arrangements are now in place for breakfast service so that my toddler doesn't unwittingly disturb our guests by venturing out into the hallway.
2. We arrange a vast array of activities both on site at Vale House and at external venues. Given the frequently changing nature of the required activities / timings / and individual preferences for each group, we will provide each guest with an itinerary to supplement both the itinerary we send the host and the one that we have posted up for our team to ensure the smooth running of weekends such as yours. This will also mean clarity of where each activity is held for everyone - from guests, to our team to the taxi drivers who provide the transport.

Thank you once again for providing your review. This, along with the feedback you provided in your email correspondence will enable us to continue to improve the guest experience we offer here at Vale House Belvoir.

I am happy to discuss this further and can be reached on 01476879365.

Kind regards
Lara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Vale House was the venue for my daughters Hen celebration. My daughter and 7 friends stayed in the Yurts and the rest of us had the run of the house. All the rooms are beautiful, the lounge and dining rooms very welcoming the Yurts very comfortable and the outside areas perfect. We had a barbecue one night, wine tasting and fab pizza but most appreciated meal was breakfast..........superb!
Hosts Lara and Nigel are most welcoming and great sports.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bizzy61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vale_House_Belvoir, Owner at Vale House Belvoir, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words. The team at Vale House are delighted to have been a party of your happy and special occasion and it was a pleasure to have you staying with us. All our very best wishes for the upcoming wedding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

First time Glampers and we loved it!
It is the perfect setting if you wish to get away from it all. It is secluded and beautiful, with views to die for. The summer house is a wonderful addition, giving us a space to relax and listen to music. We were able to take fairy lights and dress it up with banners and balloons, which made it even more festive.
The sun deck is a great addition and, as we were lucky enough to have sunny weather, we used it almost all the time. We never felt overlooked and could fully relax from start to finish. Enjoy the vista across the valley and the company of the peacock.
Nigel and Lara are great hosts, giving us just the right amount of attention, but leaving us to our own devices most of the time. Delivering wonderful warmed breakfasts and even giving us a lift back from the pub!
The tents are cosy and, once we mastered the log burners, were warm and snug. The bedding and towels are great quality and the shower room and toilet are clean and warm.
The restaurants serving the inclusive dinners - Chequers and The Windmill - we're fantastic. Genuinely impressive places to eat. Neither are within walking distance (no matter what you are told) but they are only a couple of miles away.
We all loved our break at Vale House Glamping and would recommend it to others without hesitation.
Great value and great times.
Many thanks.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vale_House_Belvoir, Owner at Vale House Belvoir, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
We're so glad that you enjoyed your first Glamping experience - you certainly seemed to have a fun and relaxing time during your stay and you're right, the views are lovely - we enjoy sitting on the back deck to admire them when time allows :-) We're also very lucky to have fabulous restaurants nearby and are pleased that you enjoyed the meals that were included and provided for you. We look forward to seeing you all again here at Vale House Belvoir - perhaps with your children next time? (they seemed to like the idea when they visited briefly during your set up on the Friday)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Enjoyed a long weekend here with friends . It's lovely house with spacious rooms, comfortable beds, a log fire in the large lounge, excellent breakfasts and very friendly and helpful hosts. Would recommend it to anyone planning a group stay in a lovely peaceful location.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kate l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vale_House_Belvoir, Owner at Vale House Belvoir, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Thank you for your kind words! The open fire in the lounge does provide a lovely welcome and adds to the homey feel here at Vale House Belvoir - especially when you are returning from long walks in the countryside.

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay (and the breakfasts!) and hope to see you again soon.

Best wishes
The Vale House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Stayed here with friends last weekend for a wedding down the road. The house and rooms are beautifully presented, the beds are extremely comfortable and the staff are friendly and chatty. Strongly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vale_House_Belvoir, Owner at Vale House Belvoir, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us for the special occasion of your friends' wedding. We are delighted you enjoyed a really good night's sleep, especially as one of our aims when establishing Vale House was to provide really comfortable beds for our guests. Another was to provide delicious breakfasts, so it seems that we've ticked two boxes for you :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Vale House Belvoir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vale House Belvoir

Property: Vale House Belvoir
Address: Belvoir, Belvoir NG32 1PA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Belvoir
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Belvoir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 Star AA Rated Vale House is located opposite Belvoir Castle in the picturesque Vale of Belvoir countryside. Comfortable beds, an award-winning breakfast and a large guest lounge compliment our selection of super-king, king and twin-bedded rooms - 3 with en-suite and 2 with private bathrooms. Ideally located for the A1 and A52, Glamping in 5m Bell Tents is also available on-site. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing