We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The most perfect weekend wedding reception venue” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vale House Belvoir

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Belvoir
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Vale House Belvoir
Ranked #1 of 1 Belvoir B&B and Inns
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The most perfect weekend wedding reception venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Me and My now wife approached Lara and Nigel with the idea of hosting our Wedding reception at Vale house. After a look around the house and grounds we noted the accomodation was of a very high standard and the views and surrounding area were utterly stunning. So after a couple of meetings with Lara we had worked out a perfect plan for our special day and as this was a venture Vale house had not partaken in before Lara was keen on the idea .

We agreed the full use of the house, attached land and facilities. We had the property from the Friday the 6th to the Sunday the 8th of June 2014. We also agreed to have Nigel and Lara on sight for the most part of the weekend to help support us though-out . Me and my wonderful wife had organised for a 9x20 meter professional Marque to be erected in the front garden. We put up another Marque along side to act as a bar area , we also had an outside caterer come and provide a hog roast for our guests. Who came recommended from Lara. (High quality , professional service and amazing produce).

We had our families and close friends stay in the house and glamping tents and under our instruction everyone helped out on the Friday to get the venue ready. Our wedding theme was for a relaxed country style garden party and Vale house was the perfect location for this. For those interested we married in Grantham about 8 miles away and we had the reception start form 4pm at until midnight ish. We hosted for around 130 guests ( we also had a band / DJ in for entertainment ) . Vale house provided us with everything we needed to make our day perfect, such as lots of space for children to safely run around a play , a nice decked area with beautiful views of the surrounding Vale , ample onsite car parking, lots of places to hang bunting and wedding ornaments for grand photos . The evening was perfect with a beautiful weather and a magnificent sunset . Many of the guests made comment upon how stunning and fitting the venue was to the point that there was bookings made that evening!

Right on with a little more info on our view of Vale house: Vale house is set in a beautiful location with truly luscious views, the glamping tents are fantastic with power and heating if needed. The tents are very comfortable with good quality beds to the point that you do forget your outside. Only when a peacock puts its head in the tent do you become reminded of this !. The rooms inside the house are decorated to a high level and the furniture is also of a matching standard. All but one room have one suite facilities. The house keeping was very good and friendly. The catering for us which consisted of 1 evening meal , snacks , and 3 breakfasts were of a very good quality and there was more than enough for all. The only one small draw back was that we did not have full use of the kitchen facilities and at points it was locked off. But this was our only minor gripe.
After the dust has settled and we are now back to our normal routines of life there has been many people mention to us and let us know how nice the event was hosted at vale house. So thank you to Lara and Nigel for your hard work. Lara is very creative and has a good head for problem solving and Nigel could not help out enough bending over backwards!. Thank you for helping give us the most special day of our lives
Dan and Jen

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    6
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
4
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Myself and my husband together with my brother and sister in law are just back from our stay at Vale House.
We had a wonderful time the accommodation was excellent and the welcoming and friendly nature of both Lara and Nigel was much appreciated.
Our breakfast was excellent and the tea coffee etc in our room was very generous.
We felt so at home having the use of the very comfortable lounge.
We would recommend a stay there to all our friends and family and hope to return soon.
I find some of the negative reviews very hard to believe as could find no fault at all.
Well done Lara and Nigel.
Jane

Room Tip: All rooms looked lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halesworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

We recently stayed at Vale House, and we have nothing but praise for not only the accommodation, but for the owners themselves who were fabulous. The breakfast was as good as any we have experienced, so we are not surprised to see an AA certificate for 2014 for breakfast quality. We highly recommend you try it out yourselves.

Room Tip: All the rooms are superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Perks P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

I have read with interest the many reviews of this venue and agree that it is in the most lovely spot and the rooms are very nicely furnished, perhaps with the exception of the room at the very top of the house which is very small and dark, However, as Helen has stated below the hospitality was seriously lacking in warmth on the weekend we were there. It seems most people stay in the yurts for their hen weekends and take their activities offsite whereas we took over the whole house for the weekend which clearly does not work well when there are 2 very young children wandering around and waking us up at 6 o'clock in the morning. Nigel was nowhere to be seen. Communication before we arrived was very poor and our itinerary was constantly being changed. It would have taken a lot to spoil the weekend as this group of friends will make the best of any situation and I do think to some extent we were unlucky but it's a lot of money to pay for far less than perfect. The best thing about the venue was the breakfast and the staff who served it.

Room Tip: Avoid the room at the top of the house. Very small single beds under eaves and very dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vale_House_Belvoir, Owner at Vale House Belvoir, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback. It is disappointing to receive a poor review although following the email we received from Helen indicating that several of your group would post negative reviews, we are not surprised. One of the risks a small business like ours runs when being on a site like TripAdvisor is that when large groups such as yours stays, the sheer weight of numbers of people agreeing to post negative reviews can have a detrimental effect on the otherwise positive reviews and ratings that we have received both before and after your party stayed with us. In response to your specific comments, yes the Melton Room is an attic room (as indicated on our website) and can be dark depending upon the weather. As my children and I don't live at Vale House and were not actually in the corridor until 8.15am that morning, having arrived at 8am to prepare and serve the 8.30am breakfast, I'm not sure whose children it was that you heard at 6am. Our housekeeper did mention someone's request to "keep 'it' quiet" referring to my 2 year old and this was at 8.20am. Nigel was present for the initial part of the weekend and not the remainder for personal reasons. In terms of the poor communication you refer to, I believe I have addressed that in my response to Helen below. I am glad that you enjoyed the breakfast and also that the bride to be had a lovely weekend. I am happy to discuss this further via telephone or email and trust that any further concerns or comments that your party have can be addressed directly with me or the Vale House Team. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for just one night and it was fantastic. Lara made us feel very welcome in her beautiful house. We enjoyed a cup of tea in the sunshine, whilst relaxing in the lovely lounge, admiring the beautiful views. Sylvia made us a gorgeous breakfast in the morning. I especially loved the fresh fruit salad. I wish we could of stayed longer and we hope to return one day. Thanks very much. Love Graham and Tracey.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank traceytag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed here on the 16th-18th May and I am wasting no time leaving a review because we had such an amazing experience!

The tents are a great size with quirky furniture and the beds were so comfy with plenty of blankets to keep us warm. The outdoor seating area was perfect as the weather was beautiful, but there is a summer house if the weather isn’t so good.

The location in general is gorgeous. You can see Belvoir Castle up in the distance as you get closer to Vale House. We chose the Treasure Chase for a Saturday activity. It was such good fun and it gave us the opportunity to explore the surrounding villages.

Great value for money for what you receive. The 2 course meal we had at the Chequers Inn was lovely and they had an extensive drinks menu, including cocktails. The breakfast hampers we received in the mornings were great too. The best thing was there was no stress. We arrived and everything was set up and organised so all we had to do was relax and enjoy ourselves. Towels are provided as is the use of a fridge.

Overall, there is really nothing negative to say about the place and I couldn't recommend it highly enough. Everything ran so smoothly. The comment below confuses me as I don’t think Nigel and Lara could have been more welcoming! We really couldn’t have asked for a better weekend. Thank you!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jessstar123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

We stayed here on a late booking a couple of weekends ago with our two children (8 & 6) - we have family in Grantham, but the house was full so we thought we'd stay nearby and this looked like a fun option.

The yurt/bell tent was lovely and comfortable - proper double bed for us and good quality camp/ Z beds for the children with decent mattresses. Location was lovely, right by the main entrance of Belvoir Castle - the field with the tents has fantastic views. The breakfast delivery to the tent flap was a great touch, and both the toilet and shower room were warm and spotlessly clean (they are part of the main house - not in a stand-alone block).

In short - faultless! And the kids loved it.

We'll very happily return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oriel100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belvoir
5.1 mi away
Premier Inn Grantham Hotel
6.0 mi away
Langar Hall
Langar Hall
#1 of 1 in Langar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
7.6 mi away
Belton Woods Hotel
Belton Woods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Belton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Urban Hotel Grantham
Urban Hotel Grantham
#3 of 9 in Grantham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
1.2 mi away
No photo provided
The Chequers Inn
#13 of 28 in Grantham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Manners Arms
The Manners Arms
#1 of 1 in Knipton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vale House Belvoir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vale House Belvoir

Property: Vale House Belvoir
Address: Belvoir, Belvoir NG32 1PA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Belvoir
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Belvoir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 Star AA Rated Vale House is located opposite Belvoir Castle in the picturesque Vale of Belvoir countryside. Comfortable beds, an award-winning breakfast and a large guest lounge compliment our selection of super-king, king and twin-bedded rooms - 3 with en-suite and 2 with private bathrooms. Ideally located for the A1 and A52, Glamping in 5m Bell Tents is also available on-site. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing