We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect place to stay for a luxury escape near Durham.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hideaway at Herrington Hill
Ranked #1 of 1 Newbottle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The perfect place to stay for a luxury escape near Durham.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

The Hideaway is a wonderful place to stay. It is a tucked away gem about 10 mins from Durham and 15 mins from Seaham.
We stayed in the Durham suite which is a self catered apartment. It was well thought out in terms of what people might need when they stay. There were some lovely sweet touches. We didn't have the breakfast but if we were to come again we would as it looked lovely.
The grounds of the property are stunning with an incredible garden for relaxing - perfect for a Summer retreat.
Philip and Helen who own the Hideaway were very friendly and helpful.
All in all we felt we stumbled on a gem - and we would definitely go back.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    5
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
29
Solo
0
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

This was my first visit to the HIdeaway and won't be my last. I have not seen a place like it in the north east. The house decor is very grand and elegant, the grounds of the house are picture perfect...breath taking! The location of the house is perfect, quiet and remote but close enough to get to all main attractions. The food is outstanding...breakfast is a must to try!

Great place to stay and eat

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harrogate
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

This our 3rd stay at Herrington Hill, what a fabulous find!! Superb hosts with Helen and Phil who cannot do enough for you, check out the new amazing breakfast menu not to be missed!!. The property has been beautifully restored to its former glory and is superbly cared for. The surrounding area has great eating places which we have checked out twice now.....This place is a real treat and cannot be missed, try it you will love it as we do......

Room Tip: All the rooms are superb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david9659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunderland tyne and wear
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

MY friend was looking for somewhere to stay nearby to us and we saw this B and B on the internet. We informed our friends and they booked to stay one night (sunday) . We went along to view the Hideaway as we had recommended this B and B to our friends. We need not have worried about it. The Hideaway is a lovely place and the couple who run it are very friendly and nothing is a trouble to them. They showed us around the dining room, and lounge and the conservatory but could not view the bedrooms as someone was already staying in the rooms.
The place is a delight and if you like to stay somewhere different this is the place. Its located just outside of newbottle village. To get to the hideaway you have to to carefully watch out for the sign. Helen and her husband are ideal at making you feel at home in their home, and I feel they will make this Bed and Breakfast a must for travellers who want something different,. We could have recommended the roker or seaburn hotel but for a first class overnight stay or longer with a really good friendly place give the Hideaway a try you wont be disappointed. The next day our friends said the breakfast was really good and first class. Our friends were very highly delighted with the whole experience of staying at the Hideaway. I want to stay there now after seeing the hideaway but we only live a few miles away but will be recommending this bed and breakfast to other friends who live away and need somewhere to stay. I only hope that there will a room for them as I know this place will be very popular once people know where it is.. I will attach some photos of the breakfast which are friends enjoyed... well done the Hideway . .

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank June T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 343 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

If you are looking for somewhere quiet to stay, somewhere that is a bit off the beaten path, somewhere with a unique character and somewhere you get a friendly welcome and superb service, then this is the place for you.

The house is located in the middle of a large farm, and apart from some farm buildings next door there is absolutely nothing nearby. And to get to it you have to drive up a single track road for a few hundred yards before you arrive at the entrance gate. But despite definitely being off the beaten path the place is relatively easy to find provided you have done some research before you set off, and even easier if you have a GPS programmed with the right UK post code! But if you haven’t then you may struggle as it seems that not very many people in the area are aware of it as it really is a hidden gem. In fact even the taxi driver that took us back to the house told us that he didn’t know that there was anything up there.

We stayed here for one night in connection with an event that we had been invited to in South Shields. Ideally we would have liked to have stayed a bit closer, but unfortunately it wasn’t possible to find anywhere in South Shields that had a room suitable for a couple with a small child. So we were left with a choice between a hotel in Newcastle city centre or this place. And when we found out that the hotel in Newcastle was located right next to St. James’ Park and that Newcastle was kicking off against Chelsea at about the same time that we would have arrived it wasn’t a difficult choice to make.

And it turned out to be a good choice. Even before we arrived Helen was doing what she could to make our stay there as convenient and relaxing as possible. She arranged for a taxi to be ready to take us to South Shields, and she had also no trouble in accommodating us even though we would arrive fairly early in the day. Everything was ready for us when we arrived and all the formalities were quickly completed.

We stayed in in what is really a self-contained flat or apartment on the top floor. It consisted of two good sized bedrooms, each with a double bed. The two bedrooms were located at either end of the house and in the area between them there was a living room, a kitchen area and a bathroom. The stairs from the floor below also brought you up into this area. Note that the stairs up to the top floor are quite steep and narrow. The top floor is therefore not suitable for anyone that have difficulty walking up stairs.

We had asked for breakfast in the morning and this was served in the lounge on the ground floor. The food was good and Helen was there to make sure that we had all that we wanted. All in all we had a short but very enjoyable stay. And the service provided didn’t even stop with us leaving. Unfortunately I had left my phone charger on the counter in the kitchen and Helen arranged for that to be sent back to me without delay. Perfect!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheEagleGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

We turned up here for the night having booked the wrong night by accident and were welcomed in straight away! Helen is extremely welcoming and friendly and clearly enjoys running the Hideaway. It has a fantastic rural countryside location which is nice, quiet and relaxing. The room was incredibly comfortable and the whole house and garden just stunning! Helen also recommended a great local pub for some dinner, reserved us a table and arranged a taxi for us! The breakfast was equally fantastic and overall it felt more like a country house hotel than a b&b, a very special place! We will definitely be back and can't wait to stay here again, hopefully for a bit longer next time! Thanks for making the stay so good Helen!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom G G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

What a lovely find, we stayed in the two bedroom apartment on the top floor which was elegantly decorated. From the moment you drive into this amazing property through the electric gate you know that this is a very special place. Helen is the owner of this beautiful hunting lodge, amazing hostess who could not do enough for you. It was a special stay and added to the wonderful memories of our trip to the UK. Thank you Helen. Teresa (Australia)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresapap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newbottle
5.2 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
9.3 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#15 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,167 reviews
10.6 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#7 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Seaham Hall
Seaham Hall
#1 of 1 in Seaham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,286 reviews
11.0 mi away
Jesmond Dene House
Jesmond Dene House
#3 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,087 reviews
9.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hideaway at Herrington Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hideaway at Herrington Hill

Property: Hideaway at Herrington Hill
Address: Glencroft High Lane, Newbottle DH4 4NH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newbottle
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Newbottle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hideaway at Herrington Hill 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), LateRooms, Book Direct Rooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hideaway at Herrington Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing