We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for the money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Lodge At Russell
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Russell
Abilene, Kansas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good value for the money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

Stayed at the Russell Inn recently for four days while touring Kansas.
The motel, although older, is a good value but might not be for everyone.
The motel is showing its age. It could need a paint job and a spruce up. But, when you look at the size of the property, that would be very expensive!
I found the room to be fine for a four day stay. It suited my needs.
As a solo traveler, I liked that the rooms have a large desk and comfy chair in them. But that does not leave much room for another person to sit unfortunately.
Mattresses and pillows were nice. Slept well
It is worth the money.
Bring a 6 foot extension chord for your laptop as the power outlets are minimal.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Murphyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    21
    11
    10
    10
See reviews for
24
15
25
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Golden, Colorado
Level Contributor
99 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

Have you ever done a whole day's cleaning, packing and hitting the highway later in the day than you planned and finding out how tired you are? Then you will understand that at a point all you want is a clean bed, a door that locks and a clean private bathroom. That is all I was looking for and I got that when I made an unplanned stop in Russell Kansas. The front desk was friendly and appreciated my need to crash making only one suggestion on where to eat nearby. In the morning they woke me up at 6 AM, per my request. It s a good budget place, perfect if all you want is a good night's sleep and not to have to pay a lot for that.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlfaGeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

The place waS old and needed MAJOR upgrades but the friendliness of the owner and his family certainly made up for it! The location was good and provided easy access to the freeway to continue my trip the following day.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Kansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013

The staff was nice, but the rooms are not nice. We stayed only one night and then quickly moved to another hotel. The price was low - so if on a budget - it might be worth it, but it would have to be the last resort before I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

The manager of this place makes it what it is. Fantastic service! We called for service and had the manager in our room only five minutes later.

The place is super-clean and affordable, too. We'll be staying here next time we're in Russell...this weekend!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hbud75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2013

This place was laughably gross. Tattered curtains that didn't cover the windows, 20 year old paint, a toilet in which the seat had obviously been substituted from a different toilet. One towel was provided for the room. And the breakfast served was ho-hos and assorted items bought from walmart. I have some serious doubts about the veracity of other reviews here.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tkm29381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013 via mobile

I've had the pleasure of a lengthy stay . DJ & all his staff were friendly & efficient . Price was very reasonable . Good contenental breakfast every morning . Clean rooms & nice beds . 70 channels of T.v. laundry services on the premises . I recomend this motel to anyone that is going to be in Russell ks.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joemarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Russell
0.4 mi away
Fossil Creek Hotel
Fossil Creek Hotel
#1 of 4 in Russell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Russell
Days Inn Russell
#2 of 4 in Russell
3.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
20.8 mi away
Midland Railroad Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Hays-North of I-70
24.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Butterfield Inn
24.9 mi away
Fort Hays Inn
Fort Hays Inn
#12 of 13 in Hays
3.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge At Russell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge At Russell

Property: The Lodge At Russell
Address: 901 South Fossil St, Russell, KS 67665
Region: United States > Kansas > Russell
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Russell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Lodge At Russell 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are proud to offers you many amenities without the inflated price - welcome to the Russell's Inn in Russell, KS. We have remodeled our rooms to make your stay comfortable and affordable as possible in current economy. Enjoy our complimentary high-speed internet service in all rooms and complimentary breakfast daily from 6:00am-10:00 am. Many restaurants are within walking distance. There is a microwave and refrigerator in every room. We are open 24/7 and our staff is dedicated to make you feel at home while you are away from home. Please call for reservations today. Our staff will be delighted to help you with room selection and information. We look forward to your stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Lodge At Russell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Russell Hotel Russell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing