We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little dated, but a nice stay!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Rock Creek Hotel

Rock Creek Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rock Creek Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sabetha
Lawrence, KS
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A little dated, but a nice stay!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

We kept looking everywhere for a hotel/motel somewhere close to the border. We called places, we went to places. Finally we came to the Sabetha Country Inn. They only had one room left, with one bed, for four people.
We split it up so that my mom, and friend would sleep in the bed, and I slept on the cot. My dad slept on the recliner. It was a nice sleep for a cot.
Like I said in the title, it was a bit dated. But just fine for a one night stay.
They had a pool, but by the time we got there, it was too late to swim.
Getting up early the next morning to find a buffet breakfast style was great. They didn't have a lot to choose from, but it was fine since we were in a rush anyway.
I don't recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a top-notch stay, but for one night, it did just fine!

Room Tip: Book in advance!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reagan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    6
    5
    3
    3
See reviews for
6
2
6
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York
Level Contributor
99 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

In 2010, we stayed here several times. We had been to Kansas for a little gaming. The rooms aren't bad...about the quality of a Days Inn. Desk people were always nice, despite we were always late, late check ins. The night before Easter, 2010..we checked in about 3AM, and asked if we could get an hour later checkout. We were told that was not possible. They certainly weren't full, so I didn't see it to be such a huge problem for the night gal. I wrote a letter that week to the manager, who apologized, due to the fact we stayed there often. He gave us a complimentary night..and we stayed two nights. We stopped there several times after that. This last weekend, it was a re-occurance of Easter eve 2010.(including the same night clerk) Problem being, there were two couples. We were told by the same lady, no way could we have an hour's late checkout. There were 6 cars at the motel at 1:30 in the morning. To me, $140.00 for two couples, vs a 1 hr. late checkout, is kind of a given, if I owned the place. We won't be back.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Barbara E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sabetha hotels

Wichita, KS
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2008

I have stayed at the Country Inn a couple of times while in Sabetha on business. The Country Inn is a typical low-cost, no-frills hotel. It is very clean and the staff is friendly. The room was a bit musty. I think the fact that they leave the heat and air turned off when the room is not used contributes to the humidity and musty smell. One tip, take your own hair dryer!
This is a typical small town hotel. I find it to be a very acceptable place to stay for a short time. On my last stay, I couldn't locate a phone book or get the long distance in the room to work. Since there was no cell phone coverage for me, in Sabetha, the very nice man at the front desk offered me his cell phone. That's small town friendly!

  • Liked — Clean, convenient and reasonably priced
  • Disliked — No hair dryer, no phone service or phone book.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank goict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Platte
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2008

I had the experience of staying at the Country Inn when my Grandson graduated from High School. The rooms were very clean. Bath room was very clean. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. I would recommend this Motel to anyone. I have stayed in some motels that were not as nice and the rate was higher.

  • Liked — The closness to family
  • Stayed May 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fifinorthplatte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2008

I do alot of traveling around small towns of the midwest. This was a very nice place to stay. The help was friendly and accomodating. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Sabetha is a small welcoming town that I would definately be happy to return to.

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BusiTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
highlander
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2008

We too were concerned about this motel based upon the earlier reviews here but in the end we felt like those folks must have had an unusual experience or an axe to grind.

We were met by a friendly and cheerful staff that welcomed us with small town charm (this is not a chicago marriott). Our room was clean and fresh as were the linens.

I don't think this place is very old at all and seemed pretty fresh throughout.

The breakfast was good...the coffee was great!

  • Stayed January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank fredt549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sedalia, MO
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2007

We stayed at the Country inn last weekend. We had no problems at all with the staff or accomodations.

I think the price is a bit high for what you are getting

Compared to the other motel in town, Country Inn is MUCH better.

I wish they had coffee pots in the rooms.

However I will stay here again when in that area.

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank AliasAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Rock Creek Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rock Creek Hotel

Property: Rock Creek Hotel
Address: 1423 Acorn Road, Sabetha, KS 66534 (Formerly Magnuson Hotel Sabetha)
Region: United States > Kansas > Sabetha
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sabetha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rock Creek Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Ebookers and HRS so you can book your Rock Creek Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sabetha Country Hotel Sabetha
Country Inn Sabetha
Sabetha Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing