We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“driving trip cross country from and to california.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Carpet Inn & Suites
Ranked #26 of 31 Hotels in Salina
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“driving trip cross country from and to california.”
Reviewed 3 April 2012

This place was very nice, the staff friendly and helpful. the price was great (as opposed to the Super8 next door). thank you again. no problem with the room, and the breakfast was really nice.

Room Tip: This place was very nice, staff very friendly and helpful (as opposed to the Super8 next door) the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Inge P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howard Johnsons I, Manager at Red Carpet Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 13 May 2012
Thank you for your review. We encourage people to write review to let us know how we are doing and what need to be improved. We are please that you enjoyed you stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    32
    46
    39
    38
See reviews for
73
38
15
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

I have made two trips to Howard Johnson Suites in Salina, KS but suggest to stay away from room #108 and maybe others>?! Many issues with the room. Electrical tape around the remote control to hold it together?Try crazy glue or maybe a new one! Rusted old and smelly refrigerator?Try cleaning and spray painting racks or buy a new one! Large rips/holes in the curtains? Heard of a seamstress or buy a new set! An alarm clock that only has "HIGH VOLUME" and no low! <Try waking up to that or try buying a new one! Carpets and tile dirty and faucets falling off the wall? Plumber and some elbow grease/steam cleaner. not impressed and still had to pay a full seniors rate+ it seemed.> I went to supper later on at a near by eatery and found a Hotel guide booklet at the entrance and found better deals all around the area!!?? Should have gone in their first or asked around.. .I can say that the continental breakfast was very good and clean sitting area.. One bonus I guess for the less then ideal conditions!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bdouglash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howard Johnsons I, Manager at Red Carpet Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 13 May 2012
Thank you for your review. We appreciate all reviews. If these problems and been brought to us at the time of your stay we would have corrected them immediately. If you decide to stay with us in the future please do not hesitate to call on us about a problem as we will correct it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Salina hotels

HAZELWOOD
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 September 2011

The room we stayed in was very clean. The staff were friendly and helpful. We were very happy with our stay. Will stay here again when in town.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CINDY M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howard Johnsons I, Manager at Red Carpet Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 13 May 2012
Thank you for your review. We appreciate all reviews. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lebanon, KS
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

We purchased a room as a wedding present for a newlywed couple for their honeymoon. Our experience started on the phone - they were so helpful as we planned everything. Even though we could have saved some money by purchasing the room online, since the couple was having trouble finding a minister for the ceremony, she offered to make our reservations flexible as to the date - and this was to be over the weekend!
Wedding day we arrived early. The couple who manage the hotel let us check in for the couple (we gave the couple the key after the reception). The room we reserved wasn't ready for us to decorate for them, so they upgraded us for free! They moved a fridge into the room, which we stocked for the couple. They also told us to let them know when the couple left the reception and they would fill the jacuzzi and add the bubble bath we bought for the newlyweds' arrival - makes us want to stay there ourselves!

Room Tip: Call the hotel direct and talk to the managers. They are such nice people, they make you feel like a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gourmetcook4Jesus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed 25 July 2011

We stayed here one night on our way to Colorado. Unfortunately, there aren't many hotel options along the way and when we pulled off in Salina, the other choices were booked. The room was clean and the beds were good. Major downside is that they don't keep the air on in the rooms, and we checked in during a heat wave. It took several hours for the room to cool down. The continental breakfast in the morning was sad - completely out of everything by 8:00 am and the food area was unkept. Did not stop in Salina on the way back.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lillee007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daveanstephb, Public Relations Manager at Red Carpet Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 12 August 2011
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to complete a Survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you in the future.

Again, thank you for completing our survey and if I can be of assistance to you, don't hesitate to contact me directly at 785-404-1870.or 314 685 6970


Sincerely,
David Boan
Front desk Manager
Howard Johnson Salina Kansas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2011

Overall this motel isn't bad for an interstate motel but after staying in a great Super 8 in Indiana the night before and spending $20 less, the Howard Johnson in Salina, KS left something to be desired.

We mainly choose this motel over others at the same exit because I saw the outdoor pool from the interstate. My kids had a great time in the pool, which was good after a long day in the car. The rooms were clean and nicely remodeled but small and only had two full size beds not two queens. The area is a bit sketchy. Two buildings on either side of the motel are abandoned and boarded up. The exterior of motel and lobby could use some work. The free breakfast also wasn't that great, waffle mix was out, OJ was out, and 3 of 4 cereal choices were empty, all with no staff to ask to refill (not that should be necessary).

We did eat dinner a great local cafe down the road and despite choosing a pool (and interstate) side room noise was minimal.

We paid $85 for the night, maybe for $60 or $65 I would've been more satisfied.

Room Tip: Choose room on lobby side to avoid interstate traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brennbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daveanstephb, Public Relations Manager at Red Carpet Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 12 August 2011
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to complete a Survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you in the future.

Again, thank you for completing our survey and if I can be of assistance to you, don't hesitate to contact me directly at 785-404-1870.or 314 685 6970


Sincerely,
David Boan
Front desk Manager
Howard Johnson Salina Kansas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2011

We were treated with extreme kindness immediately, which was nice considering we'd been on the road with 3 kids all day. Our room was clean, huge, and very comfortable, and we were provided with a much-needed portable crib. We liked the location so much, we stayed here on our way to Colorado and on our way back through on our trip home. Two very special people made our stay here exceptional... the Doans. They took care of us, treated us with the utmost kindness, and went well beyond what most managers of a hotel would do, in my experience. It was wonderful to meet them, and our only regret is that we could not spend more time here. I recommend this hotel absolutely!

Room Tip: A first floor room is great for small children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather2844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salina hotels
0.3 mi away
Rodeway inn
Rodeway inn
#19 of 31 in Salina
45 reviews
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Salina I-70
Days Inn Salina I-70
#16 of 31 in Salina
262 reviews
3.7 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#22 of 31 in Salina
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Salina
3.8 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Salina
3.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Salina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Carpet Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Carpet Inn & Suites

Property: Red Carpet Inn & Suites
Address: 222 E Diamond Dr, Salina, KS 67401-8624 (Formerly Knights Inn Salina/Howard Johnson Inn Salina Kansas)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kansas > Salina
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 31 Hotels in Salina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Carpet Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated. Free local calls. Quick access to I-70. Pets allowed with a 10 USD charge per pet. Complimentary continental breakfast along with Hot waffles. Free parking. 24 hour Front Desk. RV or truck parking. Television with HBO, CNN and ESPN. Refrigerators available upon request. Whether for business or pleasure, Howard Johnson Inn Salina, Kansas can meet all your needs with our 52 spacious guest rooms that offer: Amenities• Free high speed internet access• All guest rooms equipped with hair dryer, clock radios, in room safes, iron and ironing board and in room coffee.• 27" TV and expanded premium movie channel• Sol Terre shower experience includes a curved shower rod for more elbow room, six function shower head and Sol Terre premium bath amenities• Free USA Today newspaper• Free continental Breakfast along with Hot waffles• Kids under 12 stay free• Outdoor pool• Truck parking• Jacuzzi suite available• Play ground area for children of all ages. Extended stays welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Red Carpet Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing