We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Discounts on Holiday Weekends”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Salina
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Salina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 May 2014

I was EXTREMELY disappointed in this particular Holiday Inn. I've stayed here before with my family so I was excited to return on our way home from vacation. However, I was disappointed that the manager told the lady checking people in that there were NO discounts given to anyone during the Memorial Day weekend unless you were on-duty military personal. I found it sad that they knew people would be traveling and they decided to charge all of us full-price and take advantage people who are should receive their hotel discounts, whether they be military/government, AAA, etc. I was also disappointed that I had to pay full price only to receive a room with strictly a shower. The water was VERY soft and made getting soap off hard. One other complaint I would have is that if you're room is anywhere near the vending and ice machines you will hear them being used late into the night. Our neighbors made lots of noise and I almost called to complain, but they eventually stopped on their own.

There was a "happy hour" offered while we were there. It had olives, cheese, crackers, cookies, etc. You could get beer in a can, or box wine in a plastic cup. I can't blame them, because patrons may take things upstairs, and we all know anything of worth tends to disappear. The cookies, coconut cookies, and wine were good. The room was clean, and the bed was good and firm. I did notice some red light that was motion activated. Not sure what that was about. Other than the price and the nosy neighbors the rooms are very nice. The staff I interacted with were nice and friendly too. I would be asking more questions about them honoring discounts before booking in the future.

Room Tip: Call and ask before booking about any discounts, because you may not get them if they are on the wee...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amelia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Salina, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Amelia M,

Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to write a review of our hotel. We are delighted you found our staff friendly and commendable, also we are pleased you found your room clean and comfortable.

Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience the challenges with the expected discounted rate and the noise may have caused you. I assure you that your feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments in order to avoid these unnecessary issues in the future.

Again, thank you for staying with us and we hope you give us a chance to host you the next time you are in Salina.

Best Regards,

John O
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (385)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express & Suites Salina
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

280 - 286 of 385 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2014

Traveling across country and needed a place to sleep for the night. Saw the highway sign for Holiday Inn Express and decided to stop. Missed the hotel on the first pass, but spotted it after turning around. Since the hotel is new everything was in good shape. Bed was nice and firm, no rolling into a hole. The room was large with a spacious bathroom. Especially liked the walk in shower. Enjoyed the breakfast selection. Will definately stop again should we need a room in Salina.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dahdls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DebbieIsaacsonGM, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Salina, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear dahdls,
Thank you for your stay, we are happy to see that you enjoyed our hotel, we hope to see you in the near future. Once again thank you for your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We don't often have a need to stay in this part of town as we rely on family, but there was a surprise retirement party to attend and we needed a place to lie low. We utilized a suite option as we needed a fridge because of food restrictions. The breakfast far more than a traditional American version of a continental breakfast. Will be staying again should the need arise.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the North side (away from the interstate that's nearby).
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DebbieIsaacsonGM, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Salina, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear Ann A,
Thank you for your comment, we are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We hope to have you stay with us in the near future. Once again thank you for your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I can't really add more than other reviewers' comments. I had to laugh when I read lesuerg's comments about the fire stairs - I noted the same thing! I loved the up-to-date décor and the attention to the details, such as clean baseboards! YAY! I like clean! The customer service was phenomenal, Liz was great at the front desk, a pleasant mix of professional efficiency and friendly courtesy. When she found out we were leaving at O'Dark Thirty, she offered us an early breakfast! Our room was clean and spacious and we slept so well on a comfortable bed with soft pillows. Thank you.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharlieCN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DebbieIsaacsonGM, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Salina, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear CharlieCN,
Thank you for taking the time to post a comment about your stay, we are really glad to hear you loved everything about our hotel. We hope to see you in the near future, once again thank you for your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

The hotel was newer, very clean and well kept. The breakfast was good along with the manager's happy hour during the week. My room and bed were very comfortable. It is right off the interstate which makes it easy to get to other parts of town. It is behind a truck stop but, I didn't hear a lot of noise. It is far enough away from the truck stop that I didn't feel uncomfortable traveling by myself. There is a Starbucks and a few other restaurants nearby. Nothing fancy but, if you want someplace nicer to eat you just have to go a few miles down the interstate.

Room Tip: 2nd floor was a good choice so that I could take the stairs and skip the elevator. The stairs were...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 520lynr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DebbieIsaacsonGM, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Salina, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Lyn R,
Thank you for your stay, we are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I stay in a lot of limited service hotels like this Holiday Inn Express. You know--the kind with one elevator, and not a very fast one at that. This hotel has lovely stairwells that are spacious and carpeted and well lit, and the doors are on hold-opens so they only close if the fire alarm is pulled. If you're on a low floor, you can skip the elevator except when you're hauling luggage. It's a pleasant thing.

Otherwise this hotel hit all the marks expected for this brand. I don't love the north-of-town location, but most of the other hotels are way at the south end of town, which isn't much better. Would definitely stay here again--just for the stairs!

Room Tip: Faces east and west. Go for east facing if there's any chance of a hot day.Views are nothing spe...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lesuerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DebbieIsaacsonGM, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Salina, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Lesuerg,
Thank you for your comment, we are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

Very nice spacious room that was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was good and staff was very friendly. We have two boys that enjoyed the pool and I did utilize their fitness room; the fitness room was small with limited equipment, but adequate. Would definitely stay here again!

Stayed: March 2014
Thank Smileyshanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DebbieIsaacsonGM, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Salina, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Smileyshanks,
Thank you for taking the time to post a comment about our hotel, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our facility.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salina hotels
6.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Midwest Inn & Suites
6.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Salina
Holiday Inn Salina
#13 of 31 in Salina
114 reviews
6.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Salina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 31 in Salina
294 reviews
3.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Salina
6.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Salina
Hampton Inn Salina
#5 of 31 in Salina
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Salina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Salina

Address: 755 W Diamond Dr, Salina, KS 67401-9544
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kansas > Salina
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Salina
Price Range: £82 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Salina 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Salina is the newest & most modern hotel in Saline County. Conveniently located off I-70, the hotel is minutes from the heart of Salina, Kansas and a short drive to Salina Municipal Airport (SLN).As our guest at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Salina, start each day with a complimentary hot breakfast then enjoy our spacious rooms with microwave, refrigerator, flat panel TV & free wired & wireless high-speed Internet. We also host a Complimentary Evening Reception from 5pm to 7pm Monday through Thursday, where our guest can relax and enjoy complimentary beer, wine, and appetizer's. The hotel is equipped with a heated indoor pool, hot tub, fitness center, business center, and guest laundry. Our meeting room can accommodate up to 60 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Salina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing